We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Enca

Enca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food every time we ate here. The staff could not do enough for us. The indian food was a great price and tasty. We especially loved the butter chicken, naan and basically everything we tried. Located right across the road from our hotel, it was convenient and delicious. Penang truly has wonderful food....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    92
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long walk was well worth it.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews on this restaurant before we got to Batu Ferringhi and knew we had to try it. We went out looking for it and what a walk it was as we were staying in the Rasa Sayang which is quite a distance away but so worth it. The food and service was first class, we had the lamb curry which was superb. Definitely would go back .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 231185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food And Highly Recommended”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We found this place by accident, because we earlier had stuffed ourselves with street food and wanted something 'light' so we just drove around and came across Enca Cafe. We noticed they have tons of different type of varities on the menu which can be over-whelming (chefs must be really talented, they even have mexican burritos on the menu, imagine that!) so we ended up ordering mostly Indian dishes, mainly the chicken tikka masala, butter chicken and variety of naans. Really wasn't expecting much out of it to be honest. When the food came, we were SO impressed because it was high on taste and just absolutely lovely!! This is one of those restaurants where you're not impressed with the settings but somehow change your mind after tasting their food. It was that good! The banana milkshake I had was also yummy. And they let you order beers from the store nearby. There were 6 of us and we ended up paying RM125 which is decent. Overall, highly recommended and would return again. Cannot fault the service either coz the guy who took our orders did it with a smile and kept asking if the food was up to par.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shantini_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Enca Cafe”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This cafe is a little gem - it is opposite the Bayview Beach Hotel and I used to have a light lunch there every day - the freshly squeezed juices were yummy!!. I found that there was 'service with a smile' at all times and received very good advice regarding their menu and also had dinner there a few times - keep up the good work lads!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pinacoladobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still great food.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the 4th year we have visited Enca during our holiday at the Hard Rock Hotel where we stay for 8 weeks. We go to Enca about twice a week for the great food. We have tried lots of different meals from Minestrone soup to curries to chicken chop with pepper sauce and fish and chips and all are well cooked, very tasty and thoroughly enjoyable. Staff are super, they help my husband who is in a wheelchair to get I and out when we arrive. Service is great from all the guys who work there. We shall miss the food when we go home. The prices are also very good. Thanks guys for making our holiday meals so good. See you all next year

Helpful?
Thank crinkly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enca also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Enca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing