We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced!”

Golden Thai Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had lunch here after checking out from the hotel and before heading back to KL. We occupied a table of about 13 pax including 6 kids. We were surprised that we were the only few tables occupied in this big open air restaurant, but soon understood after we made payment.

We ordered simple food such as fried rice/ noodles, fried eggs, claypot beancurd with fish, sesame chicken, stirred fried beef with kai lan, mixed vegetables and tom yum. The person taking orders was bad in estimating food where the portion of food was really big that we could not finish and she looked disinterested when we did not order live seafood. Apart from overlooking the beach, all are misses.

We were charged about RM 500+ for these common dishes (tom yum costing us almost RM 100). Probably 1st and the last visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulyn y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    116
    132
    75
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Felt rushed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Walked in and they seem to rush you to order without being seated and seen the menu. They didn't let you choose the exact fish or crab you wanted as you would elsewhere when selecting fresh seafood. Fried rice was expensive rm 30 and that included a human hair as a bonus. Did not offer discount as a gesture. They also charge you for what is normally complimentary condiments. Food was okay but experience was lost.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

You may wonder why you would eat at a Thai restaurant in Penang, when Penang is well known to be a culinary center in Malaysia? Well, we chose to eat there because initially it was closest to the hotel we stayed (Holiday Inn Resort), and later loved the food!
The restaurant has an amazing selection of fresh seafood from around the region and imported. Live geoducks, alaskan king crabs, boston lobsters, several species of groupers are displayed on the aquarium at the entrance. The menu selection is mind-boggling. Many, perhaps too many, to choose from. The ones we chose turned out to be very delicious!
We had our dinner there and were entertained by dance performance showing the Penang's cultural mix: Malay, Chinese and Indian.
It is located right by the beach, hence you can also enjoy the sea view.
The staff were great. They were quick, friendly, humorous and enjoy interacting with the guests.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overpriced seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went last night 27 November, went because we wanted Thai, well you'd think by the name of the restaurant it would be wouldn't you. It is an over large over priced over rated Chinese seafood restaurant with average service and average food. Get better food and service at the golden river.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner47Beaconsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay food, poor service and attitude!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Food was average and service was haphazard. There seemed to be plenty of staff but no one knew what they were doing. A soup got brought to us in error, which we tasted because we did not know what it was (thought it may be sauce for whole fish we had ordered). A very forceful woman tried to make us pay 35rm for staff members mistake, which we refused. Also charged for what we assumed were 'complimentary' nuts upon arrival, as these were not requested not ordered. Redeeming feature was gentleman who offered us umbrellas upon exiting (heavy rain had seen roof leaking inside also).

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Thai Restaurant also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Golden Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing