We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dine with monkeys!”
Review of Tree Monkey

Tree Monkey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dine with monkeys!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Thai menu was not expected but was a good one - the food had authentic flavour and I really liked the selection of fresh juices. Dining out on the deck was breezy, comes with a view of the beach and sea and was under a dense leafy canopy. The portion of food was too big, and for people with small appetites, one portion could be shared by two. And we were really lucky as we actually did have silverleaf monkeys come playing on the trees nearby!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chryshijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    213
    80
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The location of this restaurant would be the only reason that I return to it.
The menu was limited (especially for vegetarians I might add, as two of my family are veg - meaning no fish). I would expect for a "Thai" restaurant the menu to be more extensive. The cocktails are nothing to rave about but I guess the fact they use only fresh juices is a nice touch.

The hill and stairs are defo not for the elderly or anyone in 6inch heels (found this out myself) but worth a visit for the amazing views and nothing else.

Helpful?
Thank Meera92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location and views. Missed the real monkeys ( 5.30 pm they tend to come out if not windy). Excited to watch flying tree squirrel which looks like huge bat). Food great ( less choice for kids). Nice service. Will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After a visit to the spice gardens we stayed for dinner at the tree monkey restaurant. The location is great and we had a table on the deck looking over the sea, complete with a monkey in the tree.
It was a bit difficult ordering as the staff had very basic English and we have zero Malay. We got all out food as ordered and it was all really tasty. The green curry chicken was as good as any we have had. The bottle of red wine arrived in an ice bucket!, I suppose they don't sell much.
Definitely recommend a visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tasty”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One of our best memories of the week we spent in Penang. The setting is great, definitely worth the short climb. Excellent thai cuisine. Good service as well. As it is isolated from the rest of other hotels and restaurants, can be challenging to pick a cab back home, better book it ahead

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Monkey also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Tree Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing