We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai I've ever eaten outside of Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tree Monkey

Tree Monkey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've ever eaten outside of Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stopped in here after walking from the Butterfly Farm. We were hot and needed food and drinks! I ordered a pineapple juice and my husband had a coke. The were given to us in a timely fashion. The pineapple juice was very good and nicely presented. The mains we ordered were Chicken Massaman Curry and Weeping Tiger. The rice was brought out first and then abut 3-4 minutes later the curry was presented. At least 5 minutes passed before the Weeping Tiger dish arrived. It was a magnificent meal. The waiters are lovely and smiley, but the food should have been brought out all at once (as is standard practice). There were 3 other people who finished their meals and then a few seated to order while we were eating. The were not busy at all. Food was well priced and the location is lovely. Up in the trees with a great view of the ocean. they also provided a citronella type insect repellant spray that was handy I would recommend everyone try this place even with the unbalanced food service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank streetfighter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    210
    78
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The view from this restaurant is outstanding.

We went at sunset and enjoyed watching the sun go down, whilst we sipped on lemongrass, chili and lime margaritas! Yum!

We nibbled on tapas (the Hor mok was outstanding) and our kids ate fried rice.

As the sun set, we were entertained by the cute little tree monkeys.

In regards to Mosquitos - if you are prone to being eaten use repellant..and a little common sense!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elektricblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ignore the silly negative comments about this restaurant... We arrived at 6.30 although didn't book and were asked where we wanted to sit. We took up the kind offer of the restaurants Top Table a table situated under a private pagoda... Very nice. We were told to ring the bell when we required service and the service throughout the night was flawless. Cocktails were imaginative and expertly made as was the food. Having travelled extensively throughout Thailand, we both agreed it was one of the best Thai meals we had enjoyed. Plus the monkeys in the trees kept us entertained too ! Not overly priced. Come to Penang and not dine here and it would be a a great loss to your holiday experience...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tripster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Million dollar view and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This little restaurant blew us away, from the Laksa to the taste plates for 2-my favourite was the chicken pandan and the tom yum seafood. this little gem can be found by catching the 101 or 102 public bus from the golden sands, it takes about 5 minutes and cost about 1.4 RM per person. Next door is the spice garden-absolutely the most interesting garden I have seen.

Mark B

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and well presented!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ordered cocktails and starters which were superb.
Some unusual cocktails available with chili but worth the try. The setting is absolutely spectacular up in amongst the trees and looking over a small bay especially when the sun was starting to set. We would definitely return and recommend. Pricey but worth it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Monkey also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tree Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing