We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and the best ever sour sop slushies!”
Review of Helena's Cafe

Helena's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Helena Cafe We Serve Since 1790 Thank You For all Support During all Years And Our Return Guest Every Year. Keep Supporting Us.God Bless.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and the best ever sour sop slushies!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Helena's Cafe is fantastic.
Every time I have visited Penang I go there and have steamboat and it is always fantastic - and they even remember myself, husband and my friends!!
They also make the best sour sop slushies which are so refreshing and I have never found them anywhere else in Malaysia!
Thankyou again, we will certainly be back soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrylLovesMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    161
    54
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food and service. We went back two times as we enjoyed it so much. It was slightly more expensive but worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I'd highly recommend the Indian chicken curry! The food is good value with a strong Indian Malaysian influence.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have made Helena's a daily lunch stop with my son for all of my visits to Penang since I first found this great place years ago. We stay at the Park Royal so it is only a short walk down the street. My family found the staff attentive and personable and they even invited us for a free Christmas dinner! My favourites are the mutton curry and crab sandwiches along with many others. The owners made us feel so welcome and Anna is a champion in the kitchen. We have sent friends there and they also have become regulars. We will definite return and I will post our pictures with the staff and my son soon. Great value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_o134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We chose Helena's because of good Tripadvisor reviews, but were very disappointed. The service was very slow and inattentive and the food bland and disappointing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena's Cafe also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Helena's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing