We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I must've got this place on a bad night - as it seems to review well. Both my husband and I had very ordinary meals and the service was super slow, didn't go back......

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    397
    103
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoy the atmosphere”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have been in here on several occasions on a Friday night, the food is very good with a varied menu. The entertainment by several ex-pats who just call in and settle for the night is most enjoyable. Playing rock n roll classics which both young and old seem to enjoy, and it's not so loud that you can't carry on a conversation or hear yourself think. A very good not out without breaking the bank.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal in Batu Ferringhi”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My party were all vegetarians and this was by far the best meal we had in Penang. Don't go on a Wednesday as it is closed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gem.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This little restaurant is a real find. Amy, the owner, is a warm and friendly person who has a talent for recognising people who have been there before. The menu, whilst not huge, is varied with a number of choices - but we like the Nonya food the best.. We were in Penang for a week, and ate at the Living Room three times; we were never disappointed.

The decor is rustic and the service excellent. The beef, prawn and chicken kapitan can be recommended, also the beef rendang. We have never had a bad meal and would heartily recommend this little restaurant for good food and good value. There are some new much smarter restaurants that have opened nearby, but we weren't tempted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here just the other night based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed!
The food was lovely. We had their specialty Beef Rendang and Sizzling Mixed Vegetables accompanied by a traditional Malaysian rice dish.
The staff were very attentive and good for a chat.
Prices were reasonable compared to other places we had eaten in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing