We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem.”

Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gem.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This little restaurant is a real find. Amy, the owner, is a warm and friendly person who has a talent for recognising people who have been there before. The menu, whilst not huge, is varied with a number of choices - but we like the Nonya food the best.. We were in Penang for a week, and ate at the Living Room three times; we were never disappointed.

The decor is rustic and the service excellent. The beef, prawn and chicken kapitan can be recommended, also the beef rendang. We have never had a bad meal and would heartily recommend this little restaurant for good food and good value. There are some new much smarter restaurants that have opened nearby, but we weren't tempted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    397
    103
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here just the other night based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed!
The food was lovely. We had their specialty Beef Rendang and Sizzling Mixed Vegetables accompanied by a traditional Malaysian rice dish.
The staff were very attentive and good for a chat.
Prices were reasonable compared to other places we had eaten in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a lovely little friendly family business this is. Once a dress shop and now converted into one of the best food outlets in Penang. Their signature dish is Beef Redang - just beautiful !
Not a big restaurant but well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our pick of the three cafe restaurants just west up the road from the Holiday Inn. Good breakfast, lunch and dinner options with western, indian and malay options. My wife asked for the beef rendang recipe, so it must be good. Meal for 2 about £20 with drinks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Little gold mine”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great place this is. fantastic staff great food and drinks.The best part is they don't charge the tax. So if you like a nice meal remember get in early as it fills quickly.Helena's next door is also another great spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank johnreardon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing