We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of the best in Ferringhi.”

Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best in Ferringhi.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Called the restaurant for lunch reservation but was told they were full and advised to come back for dinner instead. However while we were walking pass the restaurant we saw there were empty table so we asked whether was it ok that we take the table. The owner was hesitant and explained the waiting time may be long, since my family was not really that hungry we decided to order some drinks and wait.

Service was prompt and friendly, as we have a large group they actually move their tables to join them to accommodate us.

Finally when it was our turn to order, the owner apologies for the wait and explain why she was not particularly keen to take too many customer. Reason the restaurant was closed yesterday and they do not have a lot of fresh ingredient to cook and don't want to compromise the quality. Anyway she make some recommendation on the dishes and even change some dishes to non-spicy for my kids. When I wanted to order more dishes she actually stop me from over ordering.

Food was fantastic ! Taste like home cook meal, everything is just right.

The owner sincerity and honesty to control crowd instead of dropping standard to increase earning wins my vote as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Spidy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    396
    101
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dreadful place, avoid and go next door to Helena's.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had the misfortune to eat at this place after deciding that Helena's next door was a bit too quiet. Big mistake.
Waited an hour for starters. Luke warm soup. Main courses were dreadful. Mass produced dross slopped up direct from the freezer. Gave up eventually as two hours in and we were all starving. Dishes not removed from tables, dirty seats, dirty tables and people forever venturing to the bathroom via the kitchen. My wife followed the "cook" from the toilets to the kitchen prep area with no evidence of any hand washing in between. That was enough for us and having been given a bill that was unreadable, and expensive after translation, we left vowing never to return.
Go to Helenas next door - fantastic and shows how it can be done so well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nickejmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Funky, eclectic restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I Loved the plants and various arty things around the place. The owner (Amy) was eager to please and very helpful with helping us choose the menu. We ate here twice and I had the Beef Rendang which was delicious. My husband had the sizzling prawns which again was delicious. The next time we went I had the chicken with mushrooms which was very tasty and my husband had the pork chop which he said was nice and it had a type of hoisin sauce over it. The atmosphere is lovely and the plants around the place give it a nice fresh atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For good food, good service and a good atmosphere, this is the place to be!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We decided to eat at this restaurant on our first night and we were very impressed with the food, the ambience, the friendly atmosphere and the value for money.
We subsequently returned on 4 more nights of our week long stay in Batu Ferringhi.
We enjoyed all the meals which we had which included the beef rendang, chicken kapitan, Thai style fish, sizzling hot red curry (very hot!), satay and the salt and pepper calamari. We also enjoyed the deep fried ice cream.
This is a very cosy and friendly restaurant, which Amy and Ben makes even more personal by sitting and talking with their customers.
The art work on display also adds a unique touch.
It seems that smoking is allowed in all the restaurants here which we are not used to at home. However, this only really affected us on the last night, and our request to move tables was dealt with promptly, although the restaurant was very busy. So we were able to enjoy a smoke free meal.
This restaurant is highly recommended and is worth a visit or two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I found this restaurant by chance and had a super meal - Amy and Ben are really charming hosts the food served was very tasty and the prices are very reasonable

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pinacoladobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing