We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manage your expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Boomerang Lodge

Boomerang Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Batu Ferringhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boomerang Lodge
Ranked #19 of 26 Batu Ferringhi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Manage your expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

This place is right on the beach, the waves break under the front verandah. It is the best feature of this place. It also has free wireless.

It is genuine budget accomodation but it fulfilled its job as a shelter. There is no hot water (which doesn't matter when it is 30+ degrees celsius inside) and the air conditioner was on the way out and smelled quite mouldy. In fact, mould was living in a few places in the room. But sitting on the deck with a beer as the sun went down was a great memory of Penang.

There was never a problem organising activities around the place, it seems everyone in the guesthouse area is a de facto tour guide or is able to organise a tour or activity for you.

Do not expect much from the accomodation, especially for the 80 ringgit we paid. Enjoy the location and use the room to sleep and shower in only and you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derpde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I passed here and talked with the owners mother, the place is a dump..please book yourself a proper hotel this is on the beach and a shack !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calpespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batu Ferringhi hotels

England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Didn't stay here, but we stopped for a drink on the way into town.
When we tried to pay - they asked for 30 RM for 2 cans of Tiger and a can of coke. Complained about the price and it mysteriously dropped to 25 RM.
Next they had no change and suddenly couldn't speak English very well.
Spent 10 days in Malaysia, used lots of fantastic local businesses, this was the only place that tried to rip us off.
Best avoided.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCBENGLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We tried staying there, a whole family of six persons, including two under-aged child, three adults and an elderly.
First thing, we took nearly an hour to actually find the place in what looked like a ghetto. The roads near by were narrow, only letting a single way track, though both ways had to be token, which explains why it took so long to get there and park. And that, only to see unpleasant people roughly ordering us to pay for the parking.

Once arrived in the room we were supposed to stay, out of the six beds we payed for, there were four mattress crudely installed. The ground was full of dust, the wallpaper had past his time and the air conditioner was shooting hot air... There were no toilets nor shower in the room (which would have been surprising based on how concerned they seemed by hygiene)
A maiden came in to sweep a bit, and replaced the dust by dusty sand.
And just to make it worse, we had done a reservation for 2 pm, but we got there at 4 pm of the same day.... To find the rooms in such a state !
Outdoors, nobody is swimming due to the water which is even filthier than underground channels.
The service there was really bad. The director wasn't there, and his lower responsible, who didn't speak English, didn't even bother help us out.
Oh yeah sorry, they did bring up two beach chairs to complete our demand that were actually more comfortable (well, just a little less repulsing) than the beds on which no one dared to sit.

We stayed there 20 minutes.
The vice-manager told us we could just go if we didn't want the room, which we did.

A few days later, a report was sent, informing us that we paid 300 RM for one night at the hotel.
We sent a letter to the company, making a state of the actual stay, and we had quite a surprising answer...
The manager's reply assured us that the room was ready and clean even though he wasn't there in the first place. (but if he really thinks that, then i'm actually glad he was not there..)
He said that when we arrived, we were not six as planned, but ten, and that we still wanted to squeeze in there.
And he also said that we were not good for his business, because he had to refuse people who were willing to pay this room for even more than what we gave.

If they are competing to be the worst hotel even managed by such a twisted direction, well they can attend for national registering really confidently.


To all mortals, flee this place as hell !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank TANMrTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Princess Hotel
Sea Princess Hotel
#9 of 22 in Batu Ferringhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Lodge

Property: Boomerang Lodge
Address: Sebelah Balai Nelayan, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Batu Ferringhi
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Boomerang Lodge Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing