We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and honest management”

East Wind Watersports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Wind Watersports provides beach watersports activities, boating/ jetski tours and has Public Liability Insurance. Our instructors are professionally qualified and are highly trained in safety and rescue. We follow strict international safety guidelines and regulations to make sure everyone can enjoy some fun in the sun with a tremendous peace of mind.We are registered with VDWS International, one of the largest watersports association in Europe.We also cater to group activities and teambuilding events.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and honest management”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Friendly staff, good advise and excellent service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank shanghai_1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surf ski trip - Love the water, the beach and the monkeys!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our second year visiting Penang and the second time we used East Wind Watersports. We booked the Monkey Beach jet ski trip which goes for 2 hours and departs from the Hard Rock Hotel. You can either rent a jet ski each or two people can go on one jet ski. As it was low season, we were the only two on the tour. Our experience is that East Wind offer a professional and safe service. Our guide Nina was excellent, we are not experienced jet skiers but she made us feel very comfortable. The trip will take you to Monkey Beach, it is by no means a secluded beach but was not busy either, there were several other tourists there and fishing boats but it was still very quiet. Our guide took along a cooler full of drinks and snacks for us. On the way to Monkey Beach you will pass the floating fishing village. We spent about an hour at the beach, the monkeys came out of the forest and let us hand feed them (they were very polite little guys, we didn't get too close to them but they were nowhere near as grabby or unpredictable as the ones you see in Bali). The water was lovely and great for swimming. Then we rode back to the hotel and had a bit of time left over to ride the jet skis on the Batu beach. We definitely recommend East Wind Watersports - this was a great experience and one of our holiday highlights.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 259HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“No wind sailing”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We tried sailing the catamaran, but got out there and the wind dropped. As advised, we only had to wave a life jacket and we were towed back in. We then had a banana boat ride which was good fun for Dad 'n daughter. Well run centre,

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerPete1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We tried the parasailing. For RM 150, the ride lasted only about 3 mins. even though they sold us that it is 1 big round!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syerleena_Rashid, Superivisor at East Wind Watersports, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Alexsfish

We at East Wind Watersports have STOPPED offering parasailing to our guests since May 2011. The fact that you've posted such a review here is quite amusing.

The big or small rounds that the ILLEGAL operatores do only exploit the ignorance of tourists. Don't be fooled and it really does pay to go with the hotel operators like us as we would never cheat you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Watch out for the jet skis”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

One of the big selling points for Batu Ferringhi is the beach and it can be fantastic for visitors to walk along the beach and paddle in the water at sunset, play with the kids in the shallows during the day or just sit and watch the world go by . Yep, it's a good way to pass the time ... that is until the jet skis start to buzz around like wounded hornets, shredding the mood and churning up the water. Which is a real pity.

Plenty of companies offer water activities and a lot of them have parasailing, an extremely risky passtime for participants and innocents walking along the beach alike. And, no, East Wind Watersports does not offer parasailing ... thank goodness, but they do offer jet skis and that is the worry.

While they do offer sailing instruction courses and various other boat activities under supervision the concept of allowing an unsupervised young (and I might add not so young) person to take out what is a relatively high speed lethal projectile without any form of control is the worry.

Yes, there are restrictions but try telling that to a red blooded macho guy (or girl for that matter) about them and you wont get a lot of people listening.

Since I have lived in Penang, there has been at least one death and a number serious injuries caused to beach goers by the jet skis (not necessarily from East Wind I might add) and I often go away from the beach disappointed by the non-stop cacophany of jet skiers.

It would be better to see comapnies like East Wind focusing on their environmentally friendly sailing classes than hear the jet skis any day.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Demonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syerleena_Rashid, Supervisor at East Wind Watersports, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Demonone,

This is review section is meant for our guests to comment on our services after using our facilities.
I appreciate your comments but it has nothing to do with us. We offer jetski rentals as part of our services as required by the hotels. As for guests who partake in these activities, they have some documents to fill out (namely our Jetski Rental Agreement and Rules document) before they go and those below the ages of 16 years are NOT allowed to ride unsupervised and will need an adult or instructor to ride with them. Those between the ages of 16 to 18 will need parental consent. Those who have been drinking alcohol will be told to sober up before getting on a jetski.

We make sure everyone rides responsibly and acknowledges the 75m swimming zone that has been set up by local authorities. Anyone who breaks any of these rules, will be called back. Anyone who refuses to listen to us, will be taken off our jetskis. We have no qualms in doing so. We have been known to refuse some guests because of their irresponsible behavior. You see, we take safety issues very seriously. It is because of our strict safety regulations and policy, East Wind Watersports has had no accidents and is the safest operator in Batu Ferringhi. That is why we operate for 3 major hotels in this area.

The reason watersports namely jetskis are such a nuisance, is because illegal beach operators are apathetic. To make things worse, there are about 30 of these illegal beach operators operating on the 1.4km Batu Ferringhi beach front. We've suggested to the local authorieties through the hoteliers to set up a jetski driving range that goes beyond 200m away from the beach simply because we know the level of noise pollution it can create. That's the minimum jetski driving range set up in most European countries but our local authorities decided that 75m is enough.

Suggesting that we focus on non-motorized watersports rather than providing jetski rentals for our guests will not eliminate the beach problem. People will still go to the illegal beach operators and will continue to rent jetskis from them. The solution is simple, local authorities must be serious about enforcing existing laws and co-operate with the MPPP, Police and Marine Police to ensure the safety of all beach goers. Illegal beach operators should NOT exist on the beaches at all and let responsible operators like us operate safely.

The question is, how serious are you about tackling this issue?

I understand that you are frustrated (we are too) with the illegal beach operators but taking out your frustration on our page doesn't do anything. May I suggest you write to the local newspapers or even post your comments in the Batu Ferringhi travel forum. You can also contact the Director of Communications in Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa who compiles complaints and feedback to present to the Chief Minister of Penang and the MPPP about the on going beach issues. That could definately help the cause.

So don't put us in the same category with the illegal beach operators because we're not.

On a lighter note, would you be interested in signing up for one of our sailing courses?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Wind Watersports also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
 

Been to East Wind Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing