We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and has Wi fii but TV was not working,”
Review of EQ Ferringhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EQ Ferringhi Hotel
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed in EQ Ferringhi for two nights last night. Would say its not a bad place to stay.It's clean and has friendly staff on reception. Will recommend it to others. Who come to Penang to explore and dont mind staying in basic hotel. It's also nearby the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingdiner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for EQ Ferringhi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went there in march 2012 for 2days. Allowed to check in early and even allowed a late checkout. Thumbs up!!! Staff were helpful, wifi connection was ok, and the room was cleaned daily. AC was working, but somehow the TV was out of order. Bathroom was nice. Overall, a great budget experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mukherjee_av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 2d 1n..was impressed with the cleanliness and good service of this hotel.great location s it is surrounded by food stall and walking distance to the beach.also near to the foot spa and night market. Definitely will come here again!
Improvement needed-suggested for the hotel to provide minibar n electric kettle.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in a standard double room for 2 nights and found this hotel clean, comfortable and good value at around RM100. We'd first looked at D'Ferrenghi and the room we were shown was tiny and far too expensive for what it was. EQ was much nicer, no frills but the rooms were spotless, good size and staff were friendly enough.

Pros:
- Spotless, decent sized rooms with AC and totally retro tv (no flatscreens here!)
- Good value
- Short walk to beach
- Located at the start of the the nightly street markets
- Close to a great night food market

Cons:
- Mattress could do with replacing as you could feel the springs
- On one morning a noisy family next door left early and made a big racket so this woke us up. Otherwise the rooms were quiet and you don't get street noise from the main road which is good
- Free wifi but it only works in the hotel lobby

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neatleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A small, pleasant hotel that is great value for money. The rooms were very clean and tidy and included all the basic amenities. The location is excellent; it is a five-minute walk from the beach where we could swim and try other waters ports. Overall, if you want a budget place but do not want to sacrifice on cleanliness and comfort, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had five very drunk and noisy guests in the room next to us that were banging on the wall, our door, yelling and actually trying to get into our room at 3:30 in the morning. Given there are no phones in the room and we seemed to be the only ones in the hotel, it was a very intimidating experience. When we told the hotel about it in the morning, they were dismissive, apparently heard all the commotion, but chose to do nothing about it, then made excuses by saying "oh yes, they were probably just drunk". The situation could have become far more serious if the door had not been locked or was broken. Clearly hotel staff have no concern for the personal safety or experience of their guests. Management are unresponsive, the budget inn across the road is a far better option and has a restaurant. Solo travellers, especially women SHOULD NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Room big and perfectly clean and new-looking. Some cable TV channels too. My room had a nice view of the inland hills too. I stayed there for a couple of weeks and it never got depressing. Great value for the RM80 or so per night. Staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemofishdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Roomies Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Roomies Boutique Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 30 in Batu Ferringhi
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EQ Ferringhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EQ Ferringhi Hotel

Address: No. 17 Lorong Sungai Emas, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $19 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — EQ Ferringhi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EQ Ferringhi is located at Batu Ferringhi, Penang, Malaysia. It offers standard and triple sharin rooms, all of which are fully equipped with television, air conditioning, fan, high pressure water heater, bathroom and shower. Some of its amenities include free Wi-Fi at the lobby, and satellite TV with ASTRO channels also at the lobby. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Eden Parade, Penang Toy Museum, and Tropical Spice Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your EQ Ferringhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EQ Ferringhi Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing