We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret spot for Aussie Summer School Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This is our third trip to Penang, but we have not been here since we had kids. My wife and I have now returned with our 15 & 12 years sons. We chose the Hard Rock Hotel, Penang, as it sounded like a fun place to stay and although perhaps a little bit further out, it was reasonably priced.

Well were currently here, loving every minute of it. So much so that I thought I'd write a review right now before I left.

From the moment you step foot into the Hotel you are hit with a rockin' fun music vide. A welcome drink upon reception to cool you off and then off to your very cool hotel room. We arranged for adjoining sea side rooms and unlike other Hotels we have stayed in, we got everything we requested without a hitch. The rooms are modern, fresh and clean. You have free Wi-Fi and the latest electronic TV / DVD / lighting.

The facilities are great with planned activities for young and old all throughout the day. The enormous pool with water slides is, as far as my sons are concerned, the best feature. The breakfasts are everything you'd expect from a top quality hotel and other than in your room you have rock & roll music playing everywhere you go, Now I have seen other reviews complaining about the loud rock music, but I can tell you they are whingers. This is the Hard Rock Hotel for Pete's sake. The music in public areas is great and not loud at all.

As for this Hotel being too far out of things, we'll we haven’t found this an issue. There is a great convenience store and bus stop straight out front. Catch the 101 (modern buses) down to the night markets for RM 1.40, (or 10 - 15 minute walk) or go on the bus for department store shopping in George Town for RM 2.70. This location is just great, if you use your head and research options on getting around.

The most amazing thing is that the Hotel is rather quiet. It seems like mainly people in the know are staying here. The weather has been warm days and pleasant nights with virtually no rain. So don't be put off by the fact Malaysia is in Monsoon season as Penang is in the north.

I only have another day here, but we will definitely be back and I'll probably kick myself for giving away one of the best January Holiday spots going. Thanks very much Hard Rock Penang and have a rockin' day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim_kaz_65-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,725 - 4,731 of 5,072 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

Just got back an hour ago from Penang where I stayed at Hard Rock Hotel for 2 nights. It's a fantastic hotel with great staff, great food and great pool and free wifi which was always useful and good signal!! Breakfast was good with a variety to suit your tastebuds although the place is a tad small, but they do span out to the outdoor options. Staff are always friendly and helpful. My hillview twin room is spacious and cosy and for 2 nights I got a good sleep. The rain shower is refreshing to use but the toilets lack amenities and very basic. Hard Rock Cafe, as always, presents talented bands but the cafe itself is very small and I can't imagine how it's like when it's full house. Around the area looks more like a ghost town as it's near the end of Ferringhi, however take a short walk to night market round a winding road where there're good restaurants, mini markets and shops. Beach is just okay, clean but not clear but beware of jellyfish which sometimes makes an appearance. Public bus service is just outside the hotel premises and it's quite efficient , fast and easy to just pay upon boarding but try and get the driver to alert you on where you should be stopping as I did not and ended taking almost a 2 hour bus ride in busy Georgetown. I don't think there are metered taxis at all but they have like a standard rate like RM30 to town and RM70 to the airport. Would return for the hotel but not so much for Penang.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazzigucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry65, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Thank you for your thorough review fazzigucci. Although Penang as a location didn't quite live upto your expectations, I'm pleased we did!

Have a rockin' 2011 from all the staff at the Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

It is tough to write this review… the hotel itself is perfectly adequate, not outstanding but not terrible either (3.5 star level). It was the hotel guests that ruined the experienced of staying here. We stayed here for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year and the place was full of families and kids. My husband summed up our experience as “package holiday hell”. Walking into the hotel lobby for check- in, all you saw was screaming, wet kids running from the pool to the elevator leaving the entire lobby area with a wet floor for someone to slip and injure themselves on. It was a similar crazy scene anywhere you went in the hotel –lobby, pool, restaurants, etc. Great for families I guess but not for anyone looking for a relaxing time. Reminded me of Circus Circus in Las Vegas.

Being redundant, the word that comes to mind to describe the room is “adequate” – comfortable enough. The bathroom is quite small and the first time we used the shower, the entire bathroom flooded. Housekeeping did respond very quickly and fixed the issue.

Breakfast was very disappointing made worse by the guests again. It was a zoo! A girl in front of me in the buffet picked up food with her fingers, put it on her plate, changed her mind and put it back in the buffet. It was a very limited selection. I got a waffle which was rock solid and while trying to cut into it sent a piece flying across the table.

If you are travelling with family this place might be an option but I wouldn’t stay here again. But then it is tough to blame the hotel for their guests’ behavior.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runningshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry65, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Dear Runningshoes,

Thank you for your comments. Over the christmas period and leading upto the new year is indeed our busiest time for families at our hotel for the entire year. I regret to hear that this impacted on your stay with us. There are still areas of the hotel and around the pool that you can seek solitude away from the kids area at all times.

Hopefully we see you again to experience the hotel rockin to our usual cool beat fused with entertainment and fun!

Rockin' Regards

Shane Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The moment that I stepped into the hotel lobby, the holiday mood was already all over me. First, it's really cool having the bar next to the check-in counter and have a glimpse of the pool. Check-in was smooth and we got all three rooms upgraded to sea view.

As it was Christmas eve, we decided to take the hotel's buffet dinner. It was definitely pricey (MYR148++ without drinks) considering the food served was of average quality. However, this is somewhat compensated by the great live band performing that night. I loved all the songs they performed and my young daughter was dancing all night long.

The hotel's pool was definitely the highlight of this hotel - good size, kids love the slides & pool volley ball while adults can enjoy a drinks or two by the pool bar. We also tried the water sports at the beach, all great fun!

As for the room, I agreed with some reviewers that it is showing some signs of aging + wear & tear despite the hotel being only a year old. Also, the room size is small, especially the bathroom! In-room entertainment system is satisfactory as there is LCD TV with sound system. Didn't really spend much time on TV as we came for the pool and beach. Yeah, got to mention about the free in-room wi-fi, very handy for my iPad.

During my stay, we have no issue with noise (as the live band stopped at 10:30pm) and housekeeping. The staff (esp. the pool staff) were lovely. No regrets choosing HRH Penang as our Christmas getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athena_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry65, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Thanks for rockin' out with us over christmas. We're all big fans of Ray and the Jazzhats! Hopefully we see you chillaxn this way again soon!

Rock on!

Shane Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This is my 1st time staying at one of the Hard Rock branches. Stayed there just to have the 'taste' of it. Rooms & Bathroom are well kept and have a great design with all the 'rocking' elements.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in a lagoon room. The room was just gorgeous with the pool right at your door. The staff could not do enough to make you comfortable. The Starz Diner served the best Nasi Goreng I have tasted. The only negatives were they don't have any non smoking areas at the Hard Rock Cafe. We went there to enjoy the band one night only to have the people behind us blowing cig smoke on us and the corridor to the rooms had a very mouldy smell and I do think I spotted mould on the skirting outside room 110. We did enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaze23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

On arrival reception were very kind and moved us to a seaview room. Room was nice, bathroom small with a very large picture of elvis in place of a mirror, this was a little strange!

It was very noisy, music playing non stop! The staff were friendly but seemed too intent on having a good time, service was slow at times.

If you want a quiet relaxing holiday pay the extra and go to the shangri la down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry65, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments Boo113. The Elvis painting in the bathroom which is exposed when you close the mirrors is part of the unique bathroom feature in all our rooms complementing the beatles pictures above the bed and the other 600 pieces of memorabilia we have in public areas around the hotel and restaurants.

Although dissappointed we did not meet all your expectations, our brand is centered around music and authentic rock memorabilia which are our points of difference that we are very proud of, and encourage our staff to have fun with it involving guests whenever possible.

Rockin' Regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,803 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $108 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing