We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Batu Ferringhi
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,673)
Filter reviews
7,673 results
Traveler rating
3,702
2,657
913
251
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,702
2,657
913
251
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon room free movies starz diner foam party direct access to the pool live band kids suite swimming pool kids club water slides memorable stay great pool in house family hotel night market f b buffet breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 7,673 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love the atmosphere and the surrounding environment. Definitely the place to rest and relax! Facilities are awesome especially the unique swimming pool with a sandy bottom and interesting underwater music feature. Room amenities are complete and service standards are good. The only shortfall is the elevator which seem to be slow. Overall, a perfect getaway in Penang.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the rockin' review, Leonard L!
We are very glad to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed the unique vibrancy and atmosphere that Hard Rock Hotel Penang offers.

The hotel's swimming pool is the largest free-form swimming pool in northern Malaysia, and is certainly one of the biggest drawcards for the hotel. In fact, it is 160 meters long, 3 times as long as an Olympic sized pool! Great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed this feature and especially liked the underwater music system.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Rockin' Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The check in process should be better. We weren't informed about the shuttle bus or any other features of the hotel.

The bar needs to also have cocktail happy hour not just beer happy hour.

Also there needs to be waitstaff come by the pool and take drink and food orders.

No menu's on any of the tables or chairs by the pool.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 306mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, 306mic.
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay.

In regards to the information given by the staff upon check-in and also the pool staff going around with menus, they absolutely should be and I will follow up on this matter with the Manager of these two teams to ensure our staff members are retrained in the matters above. I apologize for this.

In regards to the happy hour promotions however, we do have monthly cocktail promotions and they can be found in our "Noizeletter" (which is provided in your room and reception desk) and also all around the hotel. We're sorry if you did not spot any of them around but assure you that you can always ask our staff regarding promotions and they will inform you of them and/or bring you a "Noizeletter".

Further improvement is obviously required in the areas mentioned. Please be assured we work hard to provide a positive experience and value for money.

Best Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, I was underwhelmed by your hotel and the level of service your staff has offerred. Frontdesk staff was ok. The other departments need a lot of improvement. Your staffs manning "eggs" counter at the breakfast restaurant need to be more attentive and proactive to ask customers what they want. All they do is stand and wait till customers initiate requests. Certain staff's attitude when taking requests from customers also need some courtesy. A smile goes a long way in making customers' feel welcomed, instead of showing customers that they hate their job. Overall food variety and quality is ok, its only certain staffs are not showing friendliness and willingness to provide a good experience at the breakfast cafe. The pool area should also have staffs going around asking customers if they needed anything (for eg. food and drinks order). A water cooler should be available to customers to keep hydrated. Housekeeping has done a good job and it is the best department I have experienced during my say there. Overall my stay was not that pleasant and I wish it were better.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank starcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, starcam.
I am sorry to read that there were aspects of your stay that left you disappointed. The hotel always aims to ensure that every guest has a rocking experience and are always saddened to know that someone has left underwhelmed. What was particularly surprising was that you found the staff to be inattentive and unfriendly, which is actually the opposite of the feedback we generally get from our guests. It is very unfortunate that you did not receive our usual rockin’ service during your and I would like to apologize for the behaviour of our team members. The Director of F&B is now retraining the staff in the issues you raised, and other departments will be monitoring their staff enthusiasm levels to ensure better and more consistent service to our guests in the future.

We're glad, however, that the Housekeeping team impressed you with their efforts. They'll be very happy to know this.

Once again, I apologize that our services left you feeling underwhelmed and upset. We look forward to showing you the true Hard Rock experience should you decide to return.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a pleasent and enjoyable stay for me and family members..Great people n great food.Highly recommended..
Pizzas dished out by Pizzeria was simply awesome..Baked with wood made from the tastes simply irresistible..Yummy.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joehurryjr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the rockin' review, joehurryjr76!
We are very glad to read that you and your family had such a rocking stay with us.

We have 3 onsite F&B outlets and each restaurant tailors to different multitudes of taste to create variety. Hard Rock Cafe serves authentic American cuisine, our Starz Diner is known especially for its Asian selections of Malaysian delicacies and the Pizzeria restaurant (by the beach) offers scrumptious Italian dishes and is a huge pull for pizza and pasta lovers. The team of chefs at Pizzeria will be very happy to hear of your compliments.

Thanks also for your comment on the team's services. The team at Hard Rock are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a rock star experience, and it's fabulous to see that they were able to ensure your stay was special.

Looking forward to more rockin' days with you all!

Rock On!
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were having our group meeting & annual dinner in HR. My team and boss very satisfied with all the arrangements. Good explanation & follow up from the hotel staff. Wonderful environment. This is our second team building here. Definitely will come back again.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the awesome review, Melanie_Goh!
We're ecstatic to read that you and your team had such a great time with us and that you'd come back to us for more corporate events.

The hotel's staff throughout all the departments pride themselves on the service they provide our guests, and it's fantastic to read that they all impressed you with their efforts.

Looking forward to hosting all of you again!

Rock On!
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews