We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights from May 25,2014. Hotel swamped with domestic tourists and hordes of children who were understandably noisy and busily enjoying themselves in the swimming pools and playground. Service at the restaurant and concierge station were practically non-existent. Buffet breakfast was of inferior quality, tasteless, and with very limited spread. Room furniture, furnishings and carpet were noticeably unclean. Reception and housekeeping staff service was however good and efficient. They attend to your service requests promptly. Location of the hotel is satisfactory although situated at the far end of Batu Ferringhi. My recommendation is to avoid this hotel if you want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporePKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Singapore PKT
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
You arrived just at the start of the Malaysian school holidays which is a busy time for us. We are predominantly a family based hotel, and the kids do get excited at being at The Hard Rock and with this we do get some noise around our huge pool. There are also plenty of quiet areas within the property as well.
My apologies for not meeting your expectations with regards to the service at concierge and the restaurant and my thanks on the compliments for reception and housekeeping. I note your comment regarding breakfast, and am pleased to advise we have just completed a renovation/enhancement of our breakfast restaurant Starz Diner, including an additional buffet and this are is now fully air conditioned.
My appreciation for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon

Best Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,992
    1,619
    529
    136
    74
See reviews for
2,482
1,032
99
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel by the beach. Easy access to eateries. Laguna Room is nothing to regret. Pool from the room. Everybody is nice in this hotel. Good breakfast spread to choose. Kids would enjoy it very much. Parking is a little bit limited but hotel guest can booked in advanced to get a good spot at the main entrance.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank send2muss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Highlands, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We had 1night stay and it was not a good one, just average. Location is too far from night market, have to drive instead of walking.
Our room was located on the ground floor and the only thing that satisfied us (reason why we gave an Average) was that our balcony is linked to the private pool (for those who had same room category will be sharing the same pool) where we could just have a dip whenever we wanted to. And we had a great time in the private pool. But, the disappointment was that it was too noisy for us to get a good rest/sleep. We could hear loud musics from inside our room, not soundproofed at all. Service were bad and very slow during our buffet breakfast and many of the food on their buffet line were finished and not replenished at all. Staffs were not very helpful. Unless you are a fan of Hard Rock chain hotels, we would recommend to stay at other nicer properties in Batu Ferengghi!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The service at Hard Rock Hotel are warm and they do their best to ensure you enjoy your stay. We had requested the staff to have a small birthday cake at the last hour and the front desk help out even at odd hours such as 10pm ++. The pool is inviting and nice gym for work out. Pool View at the hotel was great and relaxing! I had to swim every day! The room was plain comparing to the whole property but still my family and I had enjoy the stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vivi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel it's simply fine. Small space for breakfast. Horrible beach.the place for breakfast it's not enough and when I requested the breakfast to take away, they answered that it's only available if requested 24 hours in advance..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

What I love about this hotel is its swimming pool! It stretch all the way across most of the rooms on ground floor!
Pick a room on the ground floor facing the swiming pool -- and you will be able to jump into the pool right after you wake up in the morning!
The food in the restaurants are also good! Above average!
and of course, if you are visiting here, try to go down to Hard Rock Cafe for a night of entertainment as well!
Overall, a fun-filled beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are always nice! The gound floor units facing the swimming pool will allowed you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Me and family cx in to the lagoon deluxe on 9 may 14.Just because of its attached pool.The kids were most excited because of its convienient n marvelous design.The staff was very polite and provide the best service we ever experienced. The in room entertainment was excellent.The breakfast was superb..and the chef n staffs were very nice as they personally greet and available during the breakfast period.Two thumbs up for that! We enjoyed staying there.However I think the hotel should round off the pool's edges as it is quite sharp and might be hazardous.For the pricing..well as for me..I would say it is quite overly priced for a Rm680++ per night.But its standard..quality and facilities is excelent.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alam3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,451 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing