We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with good location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned from a short vacation at Hard Rock penang and already planning to go back. We stayed in Deluxe Sea view room. Arrived hotel at 11:45 and were given room keys before 12.. Very smooth check in. Frendly reception staff asked our floor preference even though the resort was nearly full. Was provided baby cot with out peven reminding. Best check in. Welcome drink was refreshing.
Room was spacious and tastefully furnished. We choosed 5th floor with beautiful sea view.had iron and board as well.
Breakfast was average, not bad but have seen better.
The swimming pool is major attraction. A sand pit pool for kids. Different slides and jets for kids of all ages. My 2 yr old enjoyed the slides a lot. It was difficult to get her out of pool everytime we got in.
Kids club is nothing to talk about. Although clean but had just a slide and old toys. Free movies is nice facility in room so is DVD rental and library.
Hotel has many nearby minimart and eateries. Just a short walk away from the nighte market. Although there is free shuttle to the market every 30 mins from hotel.
Staff everywhere was very friendly and helping. Enjoyed my stay

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank NiharikaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,512 - 3,518 of 4,784 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location: Good if you want to get away from the city and traffic.
Shuttle bus: Periodical shuttles to nearby places available.
Beach: Great place if Batu Feringghi is good for you.
Pool: Great for kids with all sorts of slides, jets, and props.
Room: Clean and comfortable. Kids have the video game to keep themselves busy as well.
Nearby: If you are driving, there are some nice restaurants, cafes nearby. Drive 20 minutes away and you can get to a fishing village and even some durian bonuses as well.

Distance to city: If you want to get some actions in the city, this location is not great.
Local food: Not the best place to enjoy true Penang local delicacies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Checked in 3 days 2 nights. This was my second Hard Rock hotel stay but first in Penang. Booked an ocean view room & I loved it. It is Hard Rock so be prepared for music. If you prefer super quiet atmosphere don't check in here. Beach concept swimming pool & it is large. Hotel very close to the beach. Breakfast buffet is just typical hotel style with nothing great. In-room interior design is sad, I didn't see any Hard Rock element except 2 posters being hang on wall. The hotel needs to improve the housekeeping quality, there are stains every where especially in the bathroom. However the great ocean view remediated the down sides. Will be back again for another relaxing weekend city escape.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DaphneCheok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!

Initially we was disappointed with our room, we had a deluxe hill view suite but all we could see was another hotel. It totally blocked our hill view. However one morning we woke to some industrial paint fumes as there was decorators right outside our room painting the exterior walls. Due to my fathers asthma he couldn't stay in the room. We mentioned it to reception and within minuets we had a room change and full assistance. Very very helpful!

Our new room was pool and beach view simply gorgeous. Everyone was so friendly and helpful for the whole ten days. The only negative was how expensive food and drink in the Hard Rock was. Missing it already :(

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

First things first, this isn't a 5 star hotel, so it slightly oversells itself in this regard. However, as it has pitched itself as a 5 star, that's the level I'll review it at.

During the week, the hotel is fine. It's small common spaces (pool, poolside, beach) weren't overly crowded during the week, once the weekend crowd had dissipated. The water slides were great during the week, with different sizes for all age groups all readily available. On the weekend though, it was bedlam - think crammed swimming pools with little room to move - throw in your asian kids being pants down peeing into the pool from its side, assisted by parents & unhindered by staff, and you get yourself a picture of the weekend scene. It's crowded and pretty gross. Throw in a few locals following you around, asking if you mind letting them use your name at the towel stand, so they can take their kids for a swim, and it's not the most relaxing place to be Saturday/Sunday.Oh -and the private beach is littered with cigarette buts - they're literally everywhere.

Food wise, the breakfast was very substandard, there was very limited choice and the quality was lacking. This is where the 5 star rating really stands out as a dubious. No 5 star hotel would get away with that breakfast.

Lunch and Dinner, the on-site restaurants were fine. Again, these are not dining options typical of 5 star hotels, but they're very reasonably priced and the quality and range was pretty good. The cocktails varied from poor to fair. Beers were fine though, so no complaints.

The kids club was a room with a slide and TV in it. Not much to tell here. Disappointing again.

The room itself was good enough - an adequate four star hotel room, with a very small bathroom and bathtub/shower combination. The free movies was a nice touch, with the selection sufficient to preoccupy the kids while you're doing whatever. The little rock suite where we stayed was good in that the slide in the courtyard kept our 2yr olds busy for 30 minutes or so when we wanted to chill and watch them run around after a long day.

The staff were overall very friendly and attentive, and couldn't do enough for us or our boys. In this regard, the hotel does very well and it's probably the only area where it lives up to its 5 star billing.

All in all, it was ok. Nothing more, nothing less. In the end, we checked out early and went up to the Shangri La Golden Sands up the road. Much more space and things to do for the kids, much better food options and a very good 4 star hotel - as opposed to what was honestly a poor 5 star hotel which the Hard Rock ultimately was for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPO1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for recently choosing Hard Rock Penang and for the detailed review.

One thing though I should make clear since you have stated it 6 times during your review., we are in fact a 4 star hotel.

We do not profess to be 5 star, nor do we advertise that we are 5 star, however more often than not it is the guests perception that we are 5 star due to the presentation of the property, extensive facilties and outlets, and overall service from our team.

It's clear your review was based on these expectations. Having said this though what you experienced poolside is not acceptable no matter what star rating we are. I will ensure my pool and security personnel continue to be vigilent in these areas particularly during peak usage times.

Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Rockin Regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

great for the children, lots of activities, however if your looking for a peaceful get away this is not the resort for you. the food is average, dont expect a lot, i recommend eating outside of the resort and discover the local food just outside the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recently stayed here with my family for a short getaway and we cannot praise the staff highly enough, they were friendly, helpful and efficient throughout our stay and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the stay was made extra special by the great and friendly welcome, as well as all the help we got during our stay by one of the staff members named Krisnan. Krisnan made it such a nice and pleasant stay, as he always had a smile, a great sense of humour and was extremely helpful to our needs. 

The location is perfect, just next to the beach, very close to bus stop and walking distance to a variety of food stall and night market. Pamper yourself with a Lagoon room, the rooms are huge, clean and well serviced, you can jump right into the pool from the room's deck! We spent all day at the hotel enjoy the pool and free movies!! Universal powerpoints in the rooms were an added bonus. Wifi access in rooms and throughout the hotel.Breakfast was excellent with a variety of both traditional and Western foods on offer.

We will be recommending this hotel to our friends and family as a perfect place to stay in Penang!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roroman_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,491 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $101 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing