We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location great pool and entertainment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location great pool and entertainment.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Hard Rock Penang is like most all HRH. Lots of music and activities for guests.Not the place to go if you are looking for peace a quiet especially in Dec/Jan.
Room had great view and was very clean.Staff was very friendly.
Hotel food is more expensive as in any hotel and there are several local eateries nearby that offer good food at more reasonable prices.




  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkuffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,992
    1,619
    529
    136
    74
See reviews for
2,482
1,032
99
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's my 1st trip to Penang, and was already loving this City 'cos I stayed at Hard Rock Hotel that rock my world in all ways - from the cheerful concierge to the extremely helpful front desk to the amazing room + amenities, and the rockilicious breakfast spread. Also, the house band DV-8 playing at Hard Rock Cafe that brought down the house. I never did really enjoy a performance that much for a along while till this trip! And, excellent services (especially, Sid) and the food (Ferringhib Spicy Fish with steamed rice) at Hard Rock Cafe. Well, though the hotel is NOT a stone throw away from the infamous Gurney Drive, it's a fixed taxi rate of RM30, which is always easily available at the hotel. Oh, check out the main Rock Shop that has tons of merchandise to choose from. I'd a theraputic retail moment there. At night, do check out this Seafood Restaurant - Fishing Village (10 mins taxi ride from the hotel). It's yummilicious and affordable. Well, I would definitely visit Penang again and stay at my fav Hard Rock Hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank BB2015LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

One night stay at the Hard Rock Hotel in Penang.

I am not going to touch on the check in, rooms or anything else as most of what I had wanted to say has already been stated by other guests.

Let's talk about what this hotel does abysmally wrong.

The breakfast was just average..you couldn't justify the room rates being charged for this hotel with the quality of the choices available...a lack of ideas and probably a cut in budgets somewhere in Management which is not doing the hotel any good.

You can't sacrifice quality of a good breakfast and choices to save a few bucks. Buck up and improve your breakfast options for the buffet!



This really angered me to no end of a hotel that could be better but is trying to 'get away' with a poor buffet breakfast to offer guests. A lot of hotels do this in Malaysia and I just do not understand this logic of charging through the roof for rooms but offering average food fare for buffet breakfast.

Come on guys! This is hardly hotel training 101!

For the room rates this hotel charges, where are the variety of western and asian meals? Where is the FRESHLY SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE?

You get the impression the hard rock penang hired a team of part timers to run their food and beverage department.

And it's just very very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't take the breakfast and room package. Save your $ and get a shuttle bus into town or the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

i felt like im a rock star when i was there... the room was great and clean... nice view from the room...swimming pool was awesome... food was really delicious.. staffs were really friendly... the best part is that just steps away from hard rock cafe... in room entertainment was really great.. can watch what happened at the hard rock cafe live every night!!!! will surely come back!!!! value for money...!!!

Room Tip: book the seaview deluxe room!!! nice view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as_yaacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Upon arrival, although room was not ready, we are more than willing to wait as we understand that the hotel is full. The reception lady extend her professionalism in handling our check in with smile and passion with her work. There's a welcome drink too (cool).

While waiting for the room, we head to their teen club, snooker (Rm3 per game) and play station also available. Salon also available just next to the teen club. My Fiancee enjoyed spending her time there.

We got our room approximately after 20 minutes waiting. The room was spacious, clean and have a good view facing the sea. Comfortable bed, brand new look room, long luggage rack that can accommodate two big luggage's , 32' tv, dvd, and the sofa (which i love the most).

Free shuttle to Batu Ferringhi night market, to and fro is available from 1830hrs onwards. At night we also visited their Cafe (Hard Rock Cafe) for drink and live band entertainment.

A gentlemen at the concierge counter (malay with a long hair) "Faizal" i think was a gem to this property, he addressed us by our name and i was curious how did he knew my fiancee name?. Being individualized, charming and knowledgeable.Thumbs up.

Room service food in the hotel was delicious. Variety selection of food with reasonable price.Too bad Mini bar items is chargeable.

Please do not forget to visit their Hard Rock merchandise shop. We purchased few as a souvenirs with an affordable price.

Upon check out, again they handle it with full professionalism, kudos to both the malay lady and gentlemen.

Definitely will come back again in the future because Hard Rock people always rock my stay.

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment, don't expect complimentary upgrade, as i can see some traveler did that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr3DaToR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I'd rate this as the best hotel in Penang or even Malaysia when it comes to swimming and water activities for children and adult. The mini ala waterpark feature they have here really make children stays on for hours. And,for adult swimming along the beach-front rooms of the hotel is relaxing, and can be rest assured will be nothing like the mostly crowded and small hotel pools.

The rooms are nice. Even nicer if travelling without small children when checked in the rooms which you can jump directly to the swimming pool.

Lobby so so. Room service quite fast, however I find upon entering for checking in the music is too loud for comfort.

Food is not that impressive especially the breakfast.

The rest are okay.

Room Tip: Must get the beach front rooms. If you got kids, try to stay on the second level to the fourth espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great ocean view, friendly staff. price is a little bit expensive compare to other accommodations. but Penang is a lovely city, has got great and cheap food. Will definitely visit Penang again in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelalovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,451 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing