We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocking good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Rocking good time”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A place with a very laid back and relaxing vibe, different from typical hotels that can be formal in nature. All the staff I met at the front desk, restaurant, spa, towel pick-up, room service, merchandise, shuttle bus, etc were genuinely friendly. Special attention was given to my six year old daughter, making her feel right at home. I took the Retune package which is good value for money. I would definitely be back the next time I plan a holiday in Ferringhi.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the kids play area of the pool if you intend to sleep in as it can be noisy, es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATaufik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,932
    1,580
    520
    132
    71
See reviews for
2,399
1,010
98
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

not quite what I was expecting as the website painted a very different picture of this place. the rooms werebt the best. Unfortunately we ended up on a smoking floor and the room smelt terrible because of it. a very distinct smell overwhelms you as you step out of the elevator on level 5.... smells alot lile marijuana.lovely view of the hills in the distance from our room and a small bathroom with a rainshower. the pool facilities are good with plebty of deck chairs to chill out on. we jetskiied just outside of the resort for 200myr for half an hour with the hkr guys. do not come to this place if you are wanting a romantic getaway. . there are far too many screaming children here for that. maybe go to shangri la.. looked alot nice and is in the same place. the staff here are friendly and helpful though and I can gice credit to them for their help. only about a 10 minute walk to the night markets qhich are on from 6pm to mindnight every day of the week.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

From the 1st correspondence I had with the hotel reservations lady Magdalene I was so very impressed. Every single request i made has been granted!
I requested certain rooms and we got them. The check in was excellent, the staff so polite and friendly it is unbelievable. I have not been to a hotel where I have been so impressed with absolutely everything.
It's my daughters 18th while we are here and they supplied a lovely cake. My son plays the guitar and missed it so much that they arranged for him to borrow a fender for the duration. Russell and Sam from concierge also were great.
I really really can't say anything apart from everything is great! From cleaners to bar staff, food, reception and obviously they have a superb management team in place. great holiday! Thank you so much guys.
J cross

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubeeslanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My 3 year old daughter and 1 year old son loves this hotel. Staff are super friendly and the swimming pool is great! A great vibe to the place all day long even till the late hours. Best to avoid the peak arab season as the hotel is super packed.

Rooms are well equiped but i've noticed in the past few stays that some of the toilet taps/shower could do with a replacement.

Rooms are very spacious compared to Golden Sands (similar price) and the prices are very good value for money.

You could try booking a Hill view and asking an upgrade when you're at the check in.

Breakfast isn't that great, room service is mediocre. You might opt to just get the room only deal and get breakfast from the many many restaurants just across the hotel!

Room Tip: Sea View. Higher floors = quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azriaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Despite the location being further away from the city, itz a great retreat location for couples, n for family for sure. As much as I enjoyed, my kids didnt want to leave the place. Even we returned home, they still want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahm3itravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Compare to other Hard Rock hotel chain that i had stayed for, this hotel just an average hotel with the famous brand. The room just as expected not outstanding. The food taste just average. We love the hotel's pool. The hotel's beach just so so. The water and waves including the sand not tempting enough. Location of this hotel is quite far from the airport, and it's not located in city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahmazani Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived Saturday around 5pm after a very long journey, reception were very slick and could see how tired we were they gave us a sea view room end of the hotel, 401 would recommend. Staff were amazing so helpful, but one person stands out in mind, china who works breakfast and then is out by the pool, my god he could not do enough for us, always smiling and looking to check you didn't need anything, a credit to the hotel, as we advised John the manager. We were a couple on a sun drenched escape and we got t, ignore weather reports they are always wrong, it was roasting. There is a kids club outside reception and slides and a water play area for them, but to be honest we had our iPods in and were oblivious, tree is plenty of room for a quiet swim and no chase on sun beds which is unusual, we were long stay so had extra benefits discounts and had a cabana one day which was included, by the pool, very comfy bed they bring you melon and iced water, lovely. The breakfast is exceptional anything you can think of I was tucking in to dim sum and curry and then the next morning Fried egg and sausage, coffee was delicious, service impeccable, big window for breakfast 6.30am till 11am so catered for everyone. The hotel was spotless, air con fab in the rooms, we went to the gym one day as a little overcast, very clean, proper high spec equipment over looking the pool..... Once was enough.
The beach is very photographic, it is public so not secure and not part of the hotel, so no sun beds or facilities, we were advised by our transfer from the airport not to swim in the sea as there are jellyfish and the ware is not clean, which was evident when we saw what was running into it!!!!
Batu ferringhi area is about 1km from the hotel,10 minute walk but in the humidity felt like eternity, taxi isn't more than 10 ringgits - £2
If you like your food head to long beach which is a hawkers market, beautiful prawn mee soup for 80p and pancakes rolls homemade for 50p, the actual area only as 2 bars, which we would have liked more, bora bora which is on the beach but be prepared for back packers...... Lacked a bit of atmosphere, bar 69 lovely very quiet before 10pm very funky and modern, lovely massages plentiful very cheap you just want to sleep after, if your looking for lively location consider georgetown or langkawi, we did langkawi on a day trip so tiring and long cable car was fab saw monkeys on the roadside and a huge monitor lizard, fab, back to the hotel last night ate in te Hard Rock Cafe lovely food couldn't fault at all and happy hour on drinks which was great, bogof, drinks in hotel are expensive as you'd expect, make sure you take a credit card as the hotel insists on charging the card for your expenses during your stay, they wouldnt except a debit card for this purpose, although we paid our final bill with a debit card,we spent as much in the hotel, as we did on everything else for the fortnight and we ate every night, but thankyou hard rock hotel for a truly memorable stay, have a rocking day xxxxxx thanks keep up the good work John it shows

Room Tip: Pick rooms with 01, so 401, 501 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,441 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing