We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rocking Hotel in Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rocking Hotel in Penang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Arrived at Hard Rock in the evening and staff at the front desk was very accommodating and within a few short minutes I was already in my room.

Room was really clean and had modern funky design with lots of space to move around, a desk to do some work and generally to relax and sleep. Had no problem sleeping here where for me with new places its quite difficulty to get the zzzzz's.

Morning time and they had quite a nice spread at the breakfast buffet table and you could see from the hustle and bustle of the place that people were actually enjoying.

The conference room where we were situated was quite huge (low ceiling though) but was apt for the event along with personnel who supported the activity.

Lunch and dinner meals were a treat. Specifically enjoyed the Malaysian cuisine though the desserts probably needed a bit more work. Pool was a delight but did not get to to swim at the beach.

Overall, Penang rocks with superb customer service from staff and wonderful amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macky_Macaspac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,407
    466
    122
    66
See reviews for
2,090
923
94
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

From the 1st correspondence I had with the hotel reservations lady Magdalene I was so very impressed. Every single request i made has been granted!
I requested certain rooms and we got them. The check in was excellent, the staff so polite and friendly it is unbelievable. I have not been to a hotel where I have been so impressed with absolutely everything.
It's my daughters 18th while we are here and they supplied a lovely cake. My son plays the guitar and missed it so much that they arranged for him to borrow a fender for the duration. Russell and Sam from concierge also were great.
I really really can't say anything apart from everything is great! From cleaners to bar staff, food, reception and obviously they have a superb management team in place. great holiday! Thank you so much guys.
J cross

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubeeslanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very enjoyable! The rooms were great and the service friendly. We enjoyed the rock music that was piped throughtout the hotel... ahhh... that brought back memories. There is good attention to detail, from the kid-sized bathrobe to a lovely assortment of teas in the room.
We were only there for a night so didn't have a chance to really sample the food there. We had a lamb pizza, which really hit the spot for an afternoon snack. The buffet breakfast was nice; some rather nice pastries, nasi lemak, egg station, roti canai, steamed pau, etc.
The gym at the hotel is well equipped albeit a bit small. It overlooks the swimming pool - one of the best views in a gym ever!
The Hard Rock Cafe was entertaining as well. Nice cocktails. Great band - v talented, energetic and attractive. Kudos to Hard Rock Cafe for getting the volume of the music just right! I have spent way too many nights in pubs trying to have conversations but failing to be heard over the loud music.
On the minus side, the sand on the beach was the grainy type (then again there's nothing that can be done about that, I'm just being picky). There were no beach chairs to sit on. Also there was only a tiny section of the beach available to swim in. I personally feel that the hotel should have divided it in a different manner, rather than cordoning of a small square. Perhaps swimming to the right and water sports to the left?
At night, you can walk around the hotel area. There is an interesting night market selling souvenirs, accessories, t-shirts, lacquer ware, fake gucci bags, etc. We walked to a food court about half an hour down the road (meandering pace) to try the penang char kuey tiaw, prawn noodles etc. Unfortunately, it was quite disappointing,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tydus_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A great place to be for relaxation... Beautiful view by the sea... Very friendly staff and the anmenities of the hotel is adequate...But i was slightly disappointed when my room did not have a bath tub. Overall, a place for the entire family or couples. However, a point to note is that there are no eateries around the hotel (unless you dine at Hard Rock Cafe).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrumsNtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A great hotel for a short break.. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful . The facility well maintained and the food great. If you have young kids try the Li’l Rock Suite . It comes with a king size bed and a little room with two singles, 2 x flat panel TV’s, DVD players, Stereo system and a PS3 to keep the kids occupied. Check for the promotional rate which includes Buffet breakfast and lunch for 2 adults and 2 children – great value. If you are booking a cabana take number 1 or 2 if you want to be near the kiddie’s pool or 5 and 6 if you want a little quite. The property is right on the beach , but be careful of the jelly fish. You can get a shuttle bus to the street market and loads of restaurants of all types about 4 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeldeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well this was my first visit to HRH ( Hard Rock Hotel ), I had previously visited when it was still Casuarina..... and this premises has undergone a tremendous transformation..... Check in was very efficient, The front desk Girl ( Bell ) was sweet and friendly with a nice smile.... I booked a Lagoon deluxe room.... When i arrived, the whole place was heaving with lots of people but service was superb..... The room was good, bed was comfortable, the bathroom was a bit slightly small... They had a stereo system and a dvd player which is always beneficial for me as i love to laze around the room and just watch some of my dvd collections.... The pool view from the room was the highlight as i can just step outside to the patio of my room and into the pool... They had 2 deck chairs as well which my friend and me just lazed around.... One thing which was a bit of an incovenient was the air con would switch off automatically when the door to the pool is opened.... So there were many times when the room was a bit warm as sometimes i forgot to close the door back fully.... The mini bar was ok but it was chargeable whcih i find it odd because for the many hotels ive stayed, it is complimentary depending on the rate that we paid...... I invited a few friends over to have the buffer dinner and the dinner was good and food was ok.... The environment of the Starz Diner was great.... With me being a Hard rock music fan , i was happy to see the guitars and costumes of world famous musicians like Tom Hamilton, Richie Sambora and Jon Bon Jovi.... The pool was great too.... The breakfast was ok too..... I truly had a wonderful time at this place and Im Sure i will be back again.... A very important thing to Note..... All the staff at this hotel was superb and Friendly.... Felt a very warmth reception from them..... Keep it up Guys and as u say, U did rock my stay :)

Room Tip: Lagoon Deluxe room is good for all those swimming Enthuasist....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Penang staying at the Hard Rock Hotel. This was our first Hard Rock experience and we were delighted! The Lagoon Room with direct pool access from our patio was what prompted us to choose this hotel - what a great decision it was! We will be back for sure! I was a bit worried as people said it was noisy to stay in those rooms but it wasn't bad at all. The atmosphere around the hotel and pool area was always fantastic with familiar tunes constantly playing - (I especially loved the 70's and 80's songs haha).
We found the staff to be friendly, courteous and helpful at all times. The food was plentiful with a great variety and also delicious. We found the location great as it was quiet enough to feel like a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle but also not too far away from the night markets and restaurants even in manageable walking distance though there is a free shuttle at night that leaves the hotel to the markets every half hour. We really appreciated this shuttle and used it often. The hotel is on the beach which is great for walking and water sports however was not that tempting to swim in due to stingers this time of year - thankfully the hotel pool is enormous and a lovely temperature. Thank you for a wonderful stay - we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazcar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing