We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Penang. It was our first time staying at Hard Rock and the moment you step in, you know its Hard Rock with all it's singers theme. The pool area looked fun though we didnt swim and we found there's lot of shades, that's a big plus for our hot weather. Reception was good and friendly, and we got upgraded to a suite --- absolutely perfect for families as it has partitioned room with double decker bed just for kids. The kiddies's domain has it's own TV and game station which is a huge plus for family with kids. Overall, very good experience and I highly recommend it. We love their souvenier shop selling everything Hard Rock. Super fun place for couples and family!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    1,583
    520
    133
    71
See reviews for
2,413
1,011
98
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We heard good things about this hotel so decided to stay in the lil' rock suite which was meant for families with kids. Firstly we got a room without a bathtub. When we spoke to reception we were informed that there were no bathtubs in lil rock suites. But we walked into one which was being cleaned and saw a bathtub. Since we were travelling with a young child and a baby, a bathtub would be very handy. After telling reception what we saw, they were still reluctant to let us change rooms until I insisted that they let us because of our kids! They finally agreed! First impression - Terrible! The room, it was nothing to shout about. In fact as one of the newest hotels on the block, it looked pretty run down. The bathroom was dirty. Shower curtain stank. Walls were stained. The room was not child friendly. Even though there was a play station in the kids corner, there were no games. The walls were super thin. The curtains were not block out blinds and they had holes in them. For RM600 a night, you'd expect a little more. The air con did not reach the kids bed and the front doors were damaged. It definitely did not look or feel like a 5 star resort! The saving grace was the pool. The kids loved the pool but that's where the positives end. We would never go back and definitely not recommend this to people who want to see their money's worth!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family of five stayed at this wonderful hotel last week. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms were neat, tidy and cleaned everyday. We had beautiful views of the pool area and beach from our balcony. There were lots of activities for our kids to do, yummy food and great live music.
We would like to say a special thank you to Nathan (Restaurant and pool bar Manager) for all of his help.
We would recommend the Hard Rock Hotel Penang to anyone who would like a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
Thank you all so much for an awesome time!
Craig and Kim Pevy

Room Tip: Best to choose a room on a higher floor if you want more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 148KimCraig148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time to Penang and first Hard Rock experience. I traveled with a 2 & 4 old children and the experience for the whole family was wonderful. We found service very good in all aspects. Staff friendly and couldn't do enough for all my family. They loved my children and made a fuss of them everywhere we went restaurants, pool, room services and kids zone. Our inter-connecting superior oceans view rooms on the fourth floor were perfect, no problems with showers as previously reviewed. Plenty of free bottled water daily, room service prompt and friendly. Great selections of places to eat in-house and fabulous restaurant 8min walk called Ferrenghi Gardens and the free shuttle to Long Beach hawkers food markets keep us well feed & watered on our holiday. The rock music piped throughout the hotel created a fun vibe. We loved all it had to offer, rocking vibe, staff, food, rooms, activities, bars/entertainment and overall experience. We would definitely return and try other Hard Rocks Hotels in the future. A must stay for families with young children.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marnee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Made a point to stay at Hard Rock and after checking out, I would come again to spend my holiday. I just love this place the moment I arrived, the ambient simply bring the sense of Rock & Roll, which I supposed was the main idea. The room we stayed had a picturesque view of the beach and the sea. The stage and the swimming pool was a great view, too. Service and staffs are just rock & rolling too. A great stay a had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the beach and sea view. For ground floor, ask for the room adjoining the swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came here for my 50th birthday and could not find fault 38th anything !! The staff could not do enough to help you or facilitate anything you needed or wanted. The turn down service was a blast with a nice gift each night ! The pizza restaurant was excellent quality and value. The breakfast was superb with chef Joe overseeing the buffets with Thuven & Roy showing you to your table. The pool was superb for all ages with a quiet area " around the corner" with no music and few children. My only criticisms would be the beach activities, ie parascending Tec which, as an ex overwater parascending instructor, I found downright dangerous. I appreciate that the hotel has no control over this but be aware what you are letting yourself into. My big hint is, if you need a taxi fir a journey or tour, speak to the concierge and not the tour desk as they are a fraction of the price!! Overall, a great hotel, great staff, great location, a short walk to the hawkers market at night, absolutely fabulous and I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biertonscout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's the second time I'm staying in this hotel.... The last trip was about 3 years ago... I must say that it is well maintained. If you are looking for a holiday resort that will keep the whole family occupied, this is the place. There are activities for kids, for adults and the pool is really nice. Easy excess to the beach... In the evening, you can either take the shuttle to the night market nearby, or spend time in Hard Rock Cafe.

We had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,442 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing