We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocking good time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was quite and expensive room to book with but it was worth it. We didn't even want to leave the room! The pool was ok but it could've been great if we had chose the room facing the pool where we could dive straight to the pool from the room.
The sad part here was the breakfast offered. It was utterly awful!!! Only the some of the pastries were good.
The services and the friendly people over here are the best part which my family will always cherish. The smiled and helped us a lot! One of the best places to see the true blue Malaysian hospitality!
Have Rocking Holiday!

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the pool on ground floor or if travel with you family, choose the lil rock su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,897 - 3,903 of 4,901 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

First trip there and found it a great place to stay especially with small children. Location wise is away from the main busy street of Batu Ferringhi, quieter I suppose. Rooms are spacious and generally good but room toilet are very cramped, shower cubicle location behind the toilet door is not great.

Major plus point is the facilities for small children with a great pool, water play area and beach just off the lobby. Kids playroom with supervision is a great plus point for the hotel. Service is generally good except when room service do their job they seem to forget to replace towels taken but response to calls are spot on.

Food is ok, can be a bit stale especially for the buffet breakfast if you are early. Hard Rock Cafe which is on site is great but since its Penang would recommend the street food or food court elsewhere.

Overall, a good experience and any shortcomings are dealt with promptly by the hotel staff. Great job and would certainly would like to come back soon.

Room Tip: Of course the beach facing rooms are great and for those which like to jump out of their rooms and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viperal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went there during school holiday period . The place is quite crowded and loaded with kids running around. It would be a good place for family with kids.

Very nice seaview from the room but one thing is just that is too noisy as it is nearby the pool area. Furniture seems to be bit old.

Breakfast was just average and more into asian/malaysian food.

Will consider if i am bringing my kids.. but not so much for couple stay if you like a quiet environment

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinvon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just spent 3 days at this hotel, with a 2yo and a 7yo. It was great and the kids are already asking if we can go back. The pool which is the highlight of the hotel, was crowded as it was a public holiday, but service was still good and i was most impressed by the presence of very attentive life guards by the slides which is filled with kids. There were also activities organized by the hotel (water polo, face painting) which was great.
The food was not the best - but being in penang meant that access to good food was easy. The hotel also has a shuttle service to the night market which was convenient. The buffet breakfast was a bit dismal - but definitely try to get a place by the pizzeria and not the other side as this faces the beach and has a very nice vibe.
The room was big and comfy - with lots of space even after getting the cot in. Although, they don't turn down the beds or come and tidy it up in the evenings, which was a bit disappointing.
The band at the lobby was great and even my 2 yo enjoyed the music and atmosphere.
All in all, a great family holiday destination.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHMKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The experience was superb , from reception , information , services , massage expertise , the scenery , just too good. the ladies at the Spa was super professional. I enjoyed the smiles on waiters and concierge. just a wonderful reception.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb , the sights and sounds of the Sea waves is an experience never to miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the place where I will definitely consider coming back to stay for holidays. The staff I encountered were very friendly and never hesitated to assist me whenever I needed. There were just so many activities arranged by them that one can do while staying at the hotel. For example, water polo, music lessons, pillow fights and etc. Therefore, you'll never be bored while staying there. Not even for the little ones, if you are bringing any, because they have Lil' Rock schedule for them too!The housekeeping is regular and the buffet breakfast is relatively good. Overall, it was a pleasant stay with a lot of good memories at HRH, Penang.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in a pool access room for eight nights in May 2013.
The rooms were well appointed and the beds were very comfy. The bathrooms are on the small side but the shower is huge and the large volume shower head was great !!
Having access to the pool right outside your room is the way to go. Take your own lilo/tube to float around on.(we took cheapy's and left them behind) If you want a quieter room see if you can request numbers 101 to 108 up the quieter end.
Kids pool area is tops for kids but noisey during the day. The Cabana's for hire(80 ringit/$25 AUS per day) looked nice but we didn't need one with our own deck on the pool.
24 hour room service and the hotel's food is good but expect to pay similar prices to Australia.
The Hotel is a short walk(10-15 minutes) to the middle of the night market. Not much happens during the day untill about 6:30 pm. It was too hot during the day anyway so it was great to just hang around in the pool or on the garden lounges till evening.
The staff at HRH were excellent !! Very friendly and helpfull. Jo the chef at the Pizzeria was a legend. Very chearfull and always said g,day.
Breakfast buffet is huge!! take the oportunity to try some authentic cuisine. They even serve curries and rotti bread, dim sum, noodle broth, rice dishes as well as your usual eggs,sausages,hash browns. No bacon though(Large Muslim culture)
The beach was right at the edge of the Hotel lawn. Nice for an evening walk to watch the sunset but the water is not suitable for swimming(dirty and lots of stingers).
You can hire a jetski or Parra Sale right out the back of the resort.Fairly reasonable prices if I remember too.(80 ringit for a 10 minute 'ish parra Sale)
If you're after snacks and soft drinks or even cold beer the two mini marts(one across the road and one to the left of the entrance) have a wide variety and cheap compared to the Hotel prices.
We would definately stay here again and highly recomend it for families, couples, young and older people.
Thanks heaps Hard Rock Hotel Batu Ferringhi.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms 101 to 108. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveWeber20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,497 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $107 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing