We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidential Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Presidential Suite”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Presidential Suite aka the King Suite which is chock full of Elvis memorabilia (such as his martial arts outfit complete with sweat stains) and comes with a private pool that adjoins to the main pool. A very impressive suite, tad over priced (you can get better value for money at other hotel's pres suites) but definitely a must try if you get the chance. I have stayed here several times over the years and the service is fantastic and anyone you bring along with you will be super impressed at the decor and grandness of the suite. The only complaint is even though it is the Hard Rock Hotel...this is the HRH in Malaysia so don't expect to be partying until late, no excessive noises after 11pm and most your neighbours will be families with children, not really very chic company to be found here so bring your own!

Room Tip: King Suite is the only room you want to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,877
    1,540
    503
    128
    68
See reviews for
2,307
990
98
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I only stayed in for a night at the Hillview deluxe room just to try out the famous Hard Rock Hotel. The overall experiance is good, room is clean, staff are friendly, variety of food for brekfast is maverlous! And i love the design of the bathroom.

The adverse points are:
- Room is small (for the price that you are paying) and there is no bath tub for Hillview room.
- Lots of kids.... definately a hotel for family not for couple who want romantic time

As I said, overall experiance is good, but for the name of Hard Rock and the amount you pay, is not up to the standard yet.

Room Tip: Go for seaview or Lagoon room, if your budget is not enough for those 2, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The hard rock hotel was one of the best beach resorts I ever booked.
Its located in an exelant location
Nice stuff. Amazing lagoon rooms with pool access which are not allowed for les than 12 years old children. Breackfast buffet was nice with a big selection of westren and mandarin food. Nice design and decoration. I liked the teens club and the rental mountain bikes for 10 MR .. hard rock café was nice and u can watch it from your room through TV
swimming pool and pool bar were nice. They have nice aqua games for the children and nice tropical capanas for massage and relaxing.
Puplic beach was nice and safe but the activities were expensive.
In the opposite of hotel entrance u will find money exchange. Mini market. Laundry. Massage shop and seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed 3 nights on a short girls trip. We got a great deal on a pool access room with Club Access so didn't even consider any of the other hotels in the Batu Ferranghi area. And we were very happy with our choice! The pool access room was fantastic - we were to one side of the resort away from the kids pool and a short paddle to the swim-up pool bar which was perfect for us. The way the resort is set up is great - I thought we would really notice all the kids and families, but the children's pool area is quite separate and we didn't really notice them at all. The pool area itself is huge so we always seemed to have an area to ourselves.

Access to the club for us really made the trip. It made breakfast tolerable by avoiding the huge buffet downstairs (you get a choice, but we only ate downstairs once as it was like a zoo down there). The staff in the club were fantastic and always welcomed us with a smile. Cocktails, beer, wine, spirits and nibbles were included each night from 6-7pm, and seeing as alcohol is pretty expensive in Penang it was excellent value. Plus watching the sunset from the top floor of the resort drinking cocktails and laughing at all the para-sailers crash landing was a highlight!!

Yes the rooms are smallish, but they are really comfortable. The shower was awesome, and the DVD player was a good touch (we had a quiet night in watching some of the cheap DVD's we bought at the night markets). The resort is a good 15 minute walk into the main part of Batu Ferranghi, but with all the yummy food to sample it was good to walk it off each day! For those not wanting to walk, there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, and only about $1 per trip.

I would definitely stay here again. The Hard Rock has the best pool in Batu Ferranghi, and a beautiful setting right on the beach. Make sure you walk down to Long Beach cafe and sample the hawker food at night - tasty and cheap!

Room Tip: For couples / friends go for a pool access room at either end of the resort, away from the kids pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTouchstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not what we expected from a Hard Rock hotel (not a complaint at all, more pleasant surprise) this hotel is perfect for small families - the pool area is cosy, with three small water slides and a water play area. There are sun loungers, but not many so during busy season I suspect you'll have to fight for them. The beach is a two-second walk away though with plenty of space.

We were upgraded to the Rock Star Suite which was spectacular!! Huge, with separate living and sleeping area. Big enough that our 4-year old got lost! The service was embarrassingly good, though I would personally avoid the ground floor breakfast which felt more like a 3-star free-for-all.

The room was very clean and tidy, with plenty of towels and robes for everyone (note: robes won't fit the larger family members but let's face it - we probably need a diet anyway!). Room-service is fast and efficient and the restaurants are great. 2-for-1 deals on most beverages helps too (includes beer and some cocktails).

The night-market is a short walk away, and if you really wanted to getting to Georgetown is a cheap taxi ride (or cheaper bus ride) away - though I would recommend skipping that and staying near the hotel as there was very little to see/do in town.

If you are travelling with kids, I highly recommend jumping in a taxi for a 4 minute ride (20 minute walk) to Adventure Land near Shangri-La Golden Sands resort just down the road! And why not walk back along the beach and stop over at Zack's Bar and Restaurant for a cocktail/beach dinner on the way back?

All-in-all, a very pleasant stay with fantastic staff making it a great long weekend!

Room Tip: We booked the Seaview deluxe suite, but were upgraded to Rock Star Suite - if you have a family with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dempers1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

For what is claimed as a luxury resort and a price to match, Hard Rock Penang certainly doesn't meet the expectations. We had the Lagoon Deluxe and stayed for 2 nights.

The Bad: The room was delivered late at 4pm. The toilet/ bath stank of urine (the previous tenants must have used the bath stall to relief themselves). A request to clean the bath stall didn't help to get rid of the odor. The room telephones also stank! The mouthpieces are obviously not cleaned. The free wifi was erratic. Breakfast spread was certainly not what i would expect from a 5 star hotel. Poor quality processed food and run of the mill Malaysian staples like nasi lemak, noodle soup and congee with condiments were part of the spread. The bar was overpriced and service was slow. The Spa was a simply not worth the time and money. My masseur went through the motions and instead of relieving the knots and kinks, i felt shortchanged and dissatisfied.

The Good: Staff were mostly friendly, ready with a smile. Compliments to the Hard Rock Cafe staff. They were knowledgeable and helpful. The air-cond was efficient.
We had some down time as the kids (ages 7 and 9) were cared for as they had fun with the Lil Rock Kids Club programs. The pool was nice and clean. Check out was speedy.

A 20 minute drive will take you to Gurney Drive to sample Penang's glorious hawker fare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QinZir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights during my Asia tour. The staff were friendly and were quick to accommodate me when I asked my sea view room to be on a higher floor (initially, I was put on the 2nd floor but the view on the 6th floor is better). The breakfast buffet was typical of a hotel with good variety. The good thing about this hotel is that is close to the night market and long beach hawker centre so you don't have to settle for the overpriced food at the hotel. It can get a bit noisy because of the activities in the back and the live bands that played almost every night but it's HARD ROCK! Don't expect an isolated, quiet escape if you book here. I don't drink so I cannot comment on the drinks. Free wifi in your room which is a great plus for someone like me who has to stay connected. Very clean rooms and great view. Also close to local spas so you can get a great foot massage, or better yet, a fish foot massage!

Room Tip: If you go to the foot spas for a massage - stick to the 25RM type. The 40RM service is so different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsGlobeTrotter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,430 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing