We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa(Batu Ferringhi)
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Pine Hotel(Batu Ferringhi)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baba Guesthouse(Batu Ferringhi)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La(Batu Ferringhi)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$78
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Beach Resort(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roomies Boutique Bed & Breakfast(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayu Emas Apartments(Batu Ferringhi)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,759)
Filter reviews
5,760 results
Traveler rating
2,695
2,107
671
193
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,695
2,107
671
193
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon roomfree moviesstarz dinerfoam partykings clubteens clubdirect access to the poollive bandseaview deluxe roomswimming poolkids suitewater slidesswim up barnight marketgreat poolgreat for kidsfamily hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5,192 - 5,197 of 5,760 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Second trip to Hard Rock Hotel Penang within 9 months.

Had a family room this time round for New Year's eve so the review is more for this room (as I've reviewed the hotel for the previous stay).

There's enough bedding for four adults and is located in the quietest part of the hotel. Even the New Year's beach party (which was loud and noisy for all sea facing rooms even with the doors closed) considerable noise did not penetrate into this room. Unfortunately, it's also nearest to the main kitchen and some food odour's did come wafting through the terrace area.

Another comment is that the slide provided is not suitable for very small children. Our 2.5 years old kid's bum hit the deck every time he slid down.

Overall, an enjoyable stay again although be warned that traffic going through the 'happening' part of Batu Ferringhi (near Lone Pines and Parkroyal) can be bad during dinner hours and there's quite a drive to Gurney / Georgetown area.

Room Tip: Family room's a budget option for up to 4 adults but remember there's only one bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shockl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were glad that we chose this hotel to be our accommodation in Penang. It was definitely a great decision. The hotel was very modern and happening. We stayed at the Seaview Studio Suite located at level 2. We took a package which includes 2-way airport transfer and breakfast. Because of our room and of course the amount we paid, we were given access to the King’s Club. The hotel is just beside the beach and quite close to the night market(but you need to walk a distance which might be dangerous as you are walking along the road side. )

Because of our package, we were transferred to the hotel in BMW which we were not expecting because we thought it was just a normal airport transfer so we were expecting a taxi liked vehicle so we were pretty excited. The journey to the hotel is around 45 mins depending on traffic.

Room
Our suite was very spacious and very modern. It includes a small pantry at the entrance complete with a mid-size fridge and microwave oven. Opposite the pantry is a 3 door wardrobe which includes the iron and ironing board and bathrobes. The room is different in such that the walls are curved not like a typical hotel room where it is four sided walls. The floor around the bed is carpeted and the one near the entrance are tiled. The entertainment facilities in the room are the best; 42” TV, a HiFi with iPod docking and a DVD player. However the hotel has their own interactive entertainment channel which is quite informative as they inform you of the hotel dining, facilities and others thus you need to switch channels on the remote to go to the TV channels. There is a corner with table and chairs which you can use to relax in the evening or to have in room candle light dinner. The king size bed was very comfortable. It has a small red pillow which I used as a head pillow to watch the TV. The bathroom was great. Probably because ours is a suite so we had a bathtub, a very nice bathtub. A very modern bathroom and the toiletries were from their Rock Spa. We especially liked the Jasmine Mandarin flavour. Overall the room gave us a very cosy feeling to the extent that we do not want to leave our room.

Swimming pool
We have to mention their swimming pool is because it is one of the best we have encountered. Although it was crowded, we still managed to find an empty pool lounges to put our towels and clothes. Hard Rock uses a tag system to identify hotel guest using the swimming facilities which is good as it provides a sense of security among hotel guests. Security guards were also seen patrolling around to ensure outsiders do not enter the swimming area. The hotel beach area is open to public thus public is able to enter the swimming area. The whole length of the hotel is adjacent to the swimming pool meaning the pool length is equal to the length of the whole hotel. That is how big the pool is. The lagoon deluxe room featured direct access to the pool from the balcony. The children area which where we were for the 3 days has 3 slides and a water playground and a wading pool. Some parts of the pool has sand in it but it does not dirty the water. This is actually the first time I see a swimming pool with sand in it. The direct link to the beach also allows us to go the beach area to play with the sand and comes back to the pool when we are done to wash up. My daughter really like to play with the sand whereas my son like the swimming pool more so there at Hard Rock, we are able to enjoy both worlds. Overall, Hard Rock Penang swimming is the best swimming so far.

Service
Overall the services was great, the staff are different from the normal typical hotel staff. They always try to make your day by extending their assistance beyond the scope of their duties. But I wonder if there is a different between those staff in red shirt as compared to those in purple shirt because I found those in red more friendlier. We chose to go for breakfast at the King’s Club lounge instead of the crowded starz diner on the ground floor or the pizzeria by the pool. There is not much selection at King’s Club but the peace and serenity is definitely worth it. Plus you can order your breakfast from a menu and they will specially prepare the breakfast for you.

Overall, I really like this hotel and being a Muslim, this is the only Hard Rock Hotel that has halal food. Definitely worth the price we paid. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Lagoon Deluxe room on the first level.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Depipis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The most amazing hotel experience we've had!

Stayed here with young children and initially stayed in a family room. We found the room itself great but we could hear every sound through the interconnecting door. The staff were so helpful and upgraded us to a much quieter room.

We included the Kings Club in our package, an absolute must and what really made our stay memorable and personalised. The breakfast in the Kings Club was the most amazing breakfast ever! I'm not sure I'll ever experience more devine poached eggs or french toast, truly heavenly!!

The staff in the Kings Club were fantastic!! Our children and us were really made to feel like rock stars. The staff would play games with our kids while we finished eating our breakfast.

We also enjoyed a delicious array of afternoon tea goodies and pre dinner canapes each day.... but the best part was the included cocktails each evening!! Love, love, love!!

Now for the hotel... the pools are amazing!! The water slides are the absolute best!! Couldn't get my kids out of the pool.

The kids club was a bit average, wouldn't really recommend it, or at least my kids didn't enjoy it.

Before we went, I was worried about the location, people had said it was too far away but I didn't find this to be the case at all. In the evening we caught the free shuttle from the hotel to the Long Beach Hawkers Cafe, this was a great service. It rained a lot during out stay and the bus driver looked out for us to bring us back to the hotel. We also got a rik shaw back one night and walked another night, it really wasn't far.

Across the road is a convenience store to get basic supplies and also do your laundry (much cheaper than the hotel prices). There is a place offering massage across the road and slightly down the road, both very handy.

But the Rockspa at the hotel is fabulous! I had the most amazing facial. My husband and I also a terrific foot massage. Very friendly and helpful staff.

We also met the General Manager, the director of the cafe, director of food and beverage etc and they were all very friendly and helpful. Very down to earth and welcoming.

So much more to say but I'm sure you get the idea... LOVED it!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Family_Cat_of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We arrived at the Hard Rock Hotel Penang on Christmas day after flying in from Langkawi, on arrival it looks very cool and is very busy and buzzy. Check in was very quick and soft drinks were given complimentary. Our children are 16 and 20 and we wanted to be on the same floor as them but unfortunately they couldnt give us this option or did they try to see if they could re organise anything. We had a lagoon room meaning when you go out to your balcony you have a sun deck and steps going straight out into the pool. Initially its great but actually its not private at all and you have to keep your curtains close otherwise people can sunbathe opposite your room and see straight in. Another thing I found was that kids used to run onto our sun deck when we werent outside and dive off it, really annoying! Our kids were put on the other side of the hotel on the 2nd floor, couldnt get much further away so that wasnt great! The pool is very spacious and there is a large side of it where there are water slides and splash pools for the younger kids. This is very noisy during the day and you cannot lie on the beach as there are no sun chairs and the sea has jelly fish in, there are warning signs of this before you try out any of the water sports, which we didnt do as we were too afraid! Every day that we were there, which was for five days, we found it near impossible to get sun chairs as people seem to get up at some ridiculous hour and save all the chairs, clearly there is a problem within the amount of chairs they have for the hotel, plus they are incredibly uncomfortable. There are three restaurants, the pizza one by the pool was our favourite although two days running they had run out of chocolate icecream for milkshakes, tomatoes for bruchetta and rocket for salad, not a well run restaurant! You can have breakfast here in the mornings too which I highly recommend. The Hard Rock restaurant itself, the food is very average, the best bit is the entertainment in the evening with live bands playing. We ate there our first night but never went again as it was so poor. There are night markets up the road where you can buy souvenirs and copy bags and jewellery which is all quite fun. There are lots of lovely restaurants outside the hotel which are great value and excellent food. The hotel I would say is really for young families and for not more than two days stay as its too loud. The rooms are nice and clean however the bathrooms are tiny its like going into a wardrobe for a shower. In all an average hotel, I think they could make quite a few changes to improve the guests stay. I do recommend the spa however that was first class.

Room Tip: Make sure you ring ahead to choose your room so that you get the best choice.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a hard time booking through AirAsia. It seems that the CSR couldn't understand what we were inquiring. It took a loooooong time before we sorted the queries.

It was also our first trip outside KL, our first domestic flight, our first beach holiday in MY.. A lot of first happening but the adventure was worth it.

Although we had to wait for our rooms to be ready, our eyes were simply occupied with the interior and setup. Taking note of the designs, memorabilia around, the pool, etc.

The staff was accommodating and friendly.

Although the beach was not what we expected.. The waters were a bit murky.. We don't know if it was just the season.. But the sunset was gorgeous! We really loved watching the sunset. So if you are with you love one, I highly recommend you to watch it.

If you are a foreigner and a little adventurous, you may want to try the food outside the hotel. Across the other hotel passed the bridge, there is this canteen type restaurant that serves really good Thai food in big servings.

Chillin' by the pool with drinks was great. There was even some games like volleyball being setup for the guest.

They also had a band playing funky cool music and have foam party on Friday.

Would love to come back and now at least I know how to book with AirAsia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizi_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews