We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guan Guan Cafe

Guan Guan Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serve B'fast, Lunch & Dinner. Operation time: 7am - 11pm. This outlet is operated by two team. Morning shift is from 7am-3pm and the Afternoon shift is from 3pm-11pm. For good food please call Ricky's team to check which shift he is on to avoid disappointment in food.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Clean, but I'm afraid lacking in taste, that is in food not in decor. Seems to me if the next 3 restaurants are full this might be your only choice at that end of the strip

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron118_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    88
    49
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food but we waiting to long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

we ate there with group of my friend ( 12 people ) Monday Feb 10,2014.
we wait almost 40 minutes waiting for the first order to come, some of my friend already order 2nd or 3rd drink.
funny thing, owner still inviting people to come to his restaurant while we and other people still struggling with our stomach :)

beside that, food taste very good with enough portion for everyone, after the first food deliver, our next order come pretty quick so our table is full of food, its good though

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awful awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst restaurant we ate at in Batu Ferrenghi. When we ordered it the owner said there would be a little wait for the food. It took one hour and fifteen minutes for the food to arrive. Only half arrived then and the curry came but no rice for another ten minutes. Mine did not arrive at all and they had clearly forgotten mine and it had to be hastily cooked. Other diners had given up and not bothered to wait for their meals. If was a shambles. When the chef came out to talk to some local people he had no gloves or apron and it did not make me feel any better about the place and I left my meal when it arrived as it was awful . Avoid this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank seym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“LOCAL FOOD IN A SMALL RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had lunch here and it was great!
Local food.
That is what we came for!
Very reasonable prices.
Give it a try!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
312 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“friendly owner,exorbiant prices and measly helping..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We decided to have our dinner here on the 1st day of Chinese New Year,the place was rather crowded.The owner kept apologising for keeping us waiting for our meal that took almost an hour to arrive.We ordered garlic prawns and stir fried vege,which came in measly portions.The 5 large prawns cost us RM40 and the vege which was just a few pieces was charge RM12,Really outrageous to pay that much and be kept waiting for that long.The drinks arrived earlier and became cold before the meal arrived.Overall a very unpleasant experience and very exorbiant pricing for what we paid for.Never coming back to this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveforgoodfood, Guest at Guan Guan Cafe, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Due to the CNY holiday season. Prices of the foods stuffs has gone up in the market. Seafood is pretty expensive during these season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guan Guan Cafe also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Guan Guan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing