We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Baba Guesthouse

Baba Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baba Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 26 Batu Ferringhi B&B and Inns
Cooroy, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Small room - but really cheap. Clean. Friendly owners. Basic. Great location - upper rooms have communal verandah overlooking sea. Room had set of louvres opening onto another building. Backpacker accommodation. Good value for the $$

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SavageM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

As in most guesthouses the staff, a Chinese family, is most friendly and helpful. Rooms and surroundings are constantly kept clean and the beach is <50 m from the front door. A bit aside from the busy city center but everything within 15 minutes walk or by bus (usually 1,70RM, no change given).
Beach restaurants and bars a bit higher priced but affordable nonetheless and good for breakfast or lunch within 2 minutes walk. The only disadvantage is the mosque, situated nearly in the backyard of Baba's: their speaker system wakes everyone for prayers around 06.30 and although it saves you an alarmclock, the infidels will not always appreciate this. Altogether good value for a decent price.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have easy access to the balcony, with nice sea view, ground floor rooms are a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

"Simple, nice and clean. See to believe" That is what the announcement in the street says, and it is completely true. Decent rooms with air conditioning and very good location, just in front of the beach, and very close to bus station to go to national park (worth to go) or georgetown

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect for backpackers. Traditional Asian guesthouse. It's very basic, but the staff are outstandingly helpful and welcome which made the entire stay. Arranged one night but prolonged our visit. Right on the beach, easy walk to great bus service and restaurants. Opt for a room with aircon for a little more. Doesn't look much but have had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed two nights here. Homely place, simple rooms with ac or fan. We had a fan, which is bit hot in daytime, but ok in the night. Shared bathrooms (2) are very clean. A lady cleans it all the time. The communal balcony is lovely, with sea view. Walking distance from the night bazar and bus stop. For a small amount you can go everywhere, for instance to the National Park! The family owners are very friendly, and helpful. They sell tickets for the ferry, which saves you a lot of time. The only thing, like other travelers mentioned, is the small but noisy mosque right behind it! Other than that.. Lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourleaderasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sad to see people writing bad reviews about Baba Guesthouse. You have to keep your expectations low or high depending on how the rates are. Me and a friend visit in 2012 and we have our best memories from Penang and Baba Guesthouse. Great service, (I had problems after a jellyfish decided to burn my leg down at the beach and the owner of Baba helped me and took care of my burning leg) personal place within 50 yards from the sea. Cosy beach bar serving pizza right down at the beach. GREAT GETAWAY!
Visited as a backpacker and will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This really was the worst place we have stayed in on our travels. Shabby to say the least; toilet/urinal; black marker pen everywhere; crappy caret; no power in the rooms; loud mosque. However, the staff were very nice but you truly do get what you pay for. Not for me, but if you needed somewhere cheap near the beach it could be an option.

Sorry guys.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingcrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batu Ferringhi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.6 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baba Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baba Guesthouse

Property: Baba Guesthouse
Address: 52 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baba Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baba Guesthouse Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Baba Guesthouse Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing