We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, nice and clean. See to believe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baba Guesthouse

Baba Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baba Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 26 Batu Ferringhi B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple, nice and clean. See to believe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

"Simple, nice and clean. See to believe" That is what the announcement in the street says, and it is completely true. Decent rooms with air conditioning and very good location, just in front of the beach, and very close to bus station to go to national park (worth to go) or georgetown

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect for backpackers. Traditional Asian guesthouse. It's very basic, but the staff are outstandingly helpful and welcome which made the entire stay. Arranged one night but prolonged our visit. Right on the beach, easy walk to great bus service and restaurants. Opt for a room with aircon for a little more. Doesn't look much but have had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed two nights here. Homely place, simple rooms with ac or fan. We had a fan, which is bit hot in daytime, but ok in the night. Shared bathrooms (2) are very clean. A lady cleans it all the time. The communal balcony is lovely, with sea view. Walking distance from the night bazar and bus stop. For a small amount you can go everywhere, for instance to the National Park! The family owners are very friendly, and helpful. They sell tickets for the ferry, which saves you a lot of time. The only thing, like other travelers mentioned, is the small but noisy mosque right behind it! Other than that.. Lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourleaderasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sad to see people writing bad reviews about Baba Guesthouse. You have to keep your expectations low or high depending on how the rates are. Me and a friend visit in 2012 and we have our best memories from Penang and Baba Guesthouse. Great service, (I had problems after a jellyfish decided to burn my leg down at the beach and the owner of Baba helped me and took care of my burning leg) personal place within 50 yards from the sea. Cosy beach bar serving pizza right down at the beach. GREAT GETAWAY!
Visited as a backpacker and will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This really was the worst place we have stayed in on our travels. Shabby to say the least; toilet/urinal; black marker pen everywhere; crappy caret; no power in the rooms; loud mosque. However, the staff were very nice but you truly do get what you pay for. Not for me, but if you needed somewhere cheap near the beach it could be an option.

Sorry guys.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingcrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batu Ferringhi hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in March, in room 11 (3 beds, fan). We found that Baba Guesthouse was great-lovely location right by the beach (and you can sit on the balcony and look out at the sea), very family-like atmosphere- the family who runs it are friendly and as they live downstairs it feels like home after a while. At the end of the day you get what you pay for here. We shared the communal bathrooms-which although most of the time were wet from the shower, they were always clean. If you don't like sharing then get an en-suite room. The walls are paper-thin but we never found this to be a problem-people were very friendly, and after midnight most people were quiet. Beds were always clean, as were the rooms. The prayer call is loud very early in the morning-but like another reviewer said, that is the culture-what do you expect?! Overall I really enjoyed my stay here, and would recommend it to others :) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The guesthouse is on the cheap side, so don't raise your expectation to high and you will be ok. The guesthouse is a few steps to the beach, so we can enjoy the sea breeze and sun, but that's also why my room has a lot of sands (i woke up one night to go toilet, and saw the brush outside next to my door room, so I used it to weep the sands out of my room. Suddenly there is this girl, must be the cleaner, she started yelling and scolding something i didn't understand, so i ignored her). Bed and wardrobe are ancient. Toilets are small but clean enough. I didn't expect much so well, i didn't get disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baba Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baba Guesthouse

Property: Baba Guesthouse
Address: 52 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baba Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baba Guesthouse Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Baba Guesthouse Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing