We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean - come see for yourself”
Review of Baba Guesthouse

Baba Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baba Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 28 Batu Ferringhi B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and clean - come see for yourself”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is by far one of the best guest houses I have stayed in in south east Asia. They are very friendly and attentive. It has the feeling of staying in someone's home. It is basic but has everything you need. I was a little reserved at first but after we had settled in I ended up staying an extra two nights. This isn't a top of the range resort but it is clean and simple. That's moto. The communal bathroom gets cleaned pretty much as soon as you have been in there. Would defiantly stay again and defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H8Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and cost us 50R a night for a fan room. Room had a desk, wardrobe, an 2 windows.

Outside was a shared balcony with sea view.

Family are very helpful and are always cleaning an sweeping up the sand. They even hosed my flip flops as they were left outside with sand on

I would recommend this to anyone staing in the area. Close to the beach and all the water sports

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley1987travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in a double room with fan on the first floor, wich was small, basic and clean. The price was fair. A disadvantage was very thin walls, so you can hear your neighbours as if they were in your room.
There are 2 common bathrooms for about 10 rooms on the floor (one with hot and one with cold water only, but it's hot outside anyway).
Really good location in Batu Ferrighi, just 1 minute walk to the beach. Be aware though, that it takes 50 minutes bus to go to Georgetown Jetty (Penang City Center). The balcony is pretty big, serves as a common area and has a nice view (but not the rooms).
Wifi is included in the price and works fine.
Breakfast is not, but you can find a nice one just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cel_and_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Although the location is OK and room clean, the poor quality of almost everything in the room makes me believe this guesthouse has been managed with minimum re investment for years. Air con are 20 years old model at least, and walls between rooms are made of crappy wood, and no comment on room insulation which makes you feel poorly fresh even when air con is at maximum. Better check the room first and especially rooms of the dozens of guesthouses around (50M walk you can find at least 5) before checking in, to get a better value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex888q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batu Ferringhi hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We loved this little gem! We booked 3 nights and ended up staying for 10!

The rooms are basic and te showers and toilets are not in the best shape but everything is cleaned! It can be a little noisy but all in all it is a great little guesthouse! There is a nice balcony seating area to chill out on day and night!

The staff are friendly and will help you with everything, the Internet is good!

The location could not be better!

I loved my stay here and would return no doubt and I would recommend!

Although batu doesn't have much to it in the sense of entertainment because of this place it holds a special place on my travels!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

A delightful guesthouse close to the beach where it feels like you live just above the family owning the guesthouse, a family a bit obsessed with cleaning meaning it's. got very clean common areas. To reach the upstairs rooms and an amazing balcony you enter through the familys living area and kitchen giving a homey atmosphere. Standard rooms, clean shared bathrooms and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

When we arrived at Georgetown very early in the morning, we found a taxi and asked if he could recommend a place to stay in Batu Ferringi. We wanted a budget place. He suggested Baba Guesthouse.

When we arrived we were doubtful, but once we checked out the rooms we like it immediately and stayed for two nights. We chose room 31 as it had aircon and a bathroom. There were two single beds, but they very happily added a mattress on the floor (we were a party of 3 girls).The room was very spacious.

The bathroom is a wetroom, as is most places we have stayed in Malaysia. Very clean rooms, clean bathroom and the staff there were very helpful in information on buses etc.

If you have are a family with young kids, you can get a room on the groundfloor away from the main house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly-kay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.6 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baba Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baba Guesthouse

Property: Baba Guesthouse
Address: 52 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baba Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baba Guesthouse Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Baba Guesthouse Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing