We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guesthouse with the feeling of staying at someones home”
Review of Baba Guesthouse

Baba Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baba Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 29 Batu Ferringhi B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A guesthouse with the feeling of staying at someones home”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

A delightful guesthouse close to the beach where it feels like you live just above the family owning the guesthouse, a family a bit obsessed with cleaning meaning it's. got very clean common areas. To reach the upstairs rooms and an amazing balcony you enter through the familys living area and kitchen giving a homey atmosphere. Standard rooms, clean shared bathrooms and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

When we arrived at Georgetown very early in the morning, we found a taxi and asked if he could recommend a place to stay in Batu Ferringi. We wanted a budget place. He suggested Baba Guesthouse.

When we arrived we were doubtful, but once we checked out the rooms we like it immediately and stayed for two nights. We chose room 31 as it had aircon and a bathroom. There were two single beds, but they very happily added a mattress on the floor (we were a party of 3 girls).The room was very spacious.

The bathroom is a wetroom, as is most places we have stayed in Malaysia. Very clean rooms, clean bathroom and the staff there were very helpful in information on buses etc.

If you have are a family with young kids, you can get a room on the groundfloor away from the main house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly-kay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I've stayed here twice over the last year.. Ok, the place is basic, but the balcony is a great place to meet other travellers to share information and travel tales. The wifi works great in all of the rooms and is pretty fast. The rooms are simple, but clean with clean towels and bed sheets every other day, or daily as you wish. The location is great.. really a stone's throw from the beach. Plently of food stalls around Baba's who sell food until 3am.

I'll be back next time I'm in Penang... thanks.

Room Tip: AC rooms are an option... oh and book early as sometimes they have the 'Full House' sign out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a very hit and miss guesthouse I guess but you can always haggle with the owners! That's what we did. We looked at other guesthouses nearby and chose Baba because it was slightly cheaper and their balcony sold us! As a working couple, my fiance and I would work on the balcony with our laptops no matter how hot it was. It was more expensive than georgetown but, hey you're near a beach! Batu Ferringhi is way more touristy than Georgetown.

You can have a look at the rooms before going ahead with it. We got room 14, next to the balcony, with air-con and ensuite. The room may not look nice to stay in but personally, as long as the bed is comfy and rooms are clean, I'm happy. Room gets hot very quickly and easily as the windows aren't exactly 100% closed (it's hard to) but the aircon works fine if you give it some time. We blocked the window by cover it with towels. Helps a bit :-) It's usually cooler at night, so sometimes we don't even use the air-con.

They can do your laundry for 6RM per kg and they sell cold drinks if you want.

Overall, we had quite a pleasant stay and extended our stay almost everyday. It's just very relaxed here and quiet (despite the moss calling for pray). I hope that helps.

Room Tip: Ask them if you can have a look at the rooms before you book. You're always welcome to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meileitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in this place for 3 nights. The rooms are very basic. A bed and a table. The showers are located in the toilets. The whole place needs to have a upgrade i think. BUT... the staff where very friendly, you are located right at the beach...just across the street. You can get your bus or ferry tickets at the guesthouse if you travel to Langkawi...so if you are at a tight budget its not so wrong to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardvanArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Just to say it in one sentence: you get what you pay for. It's a very simple guesthouse, beds were good enough and the location is amazing - 1 min walk to the beach. The beach although reminded me a little bit of the beaches in Europe (Italy and Spain) which was very crowded (although I have to say that we spent Chinese New Year there, don't know about the other time). The family there is very helpful, we paid 70RM per night for a double room (with fan). The rooms are probably cheaper during low season.

I wouldn't spend my honeymoon there but to stay a few nights with your friends (like we did - 4 people) I think it's quite ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I don't know how, but my money disappeared in that hostel. Not the whole wallet, just the bank notes. When raising the issue to the landlord, he said that "Santa might have taken it"...
It was only a few ringgits but it was still a very unpleasant experience.
Apart from that, the location is definitely unbeatable, but that's pretty much all there is to it.

Room Tip: Room 15 is probably the best, since you have view on the beach and it's sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.6 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baba Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baba Guesthouse

Property: Baba Guesthouse
Address: 52 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baba Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baba Guesthouse Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Baba Guesthouse Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing