We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lynnda”
Review of D'Feringghi Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D'Feringghi Haus
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The right location. It was a good experiance on village consept. Excellent rate with only RM80. Being here since september 2011. Overall is 110% cool on budget & nice to sleep. Be there next month on business trip.

Room Tip: Standard Room for couple.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynndaSelangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for D'Feringghi Haus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

The cover is better than the book. The look frm outside is inviting but the hotel room us filthy and fitted with cheap and old fittings. On top of that they will charge u expensively just because it's a weekend. The only positive is that it is within walking distance to the night Market across. Thumbs down!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dottnordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on June of 2011. I do not recommend this hotel at all to anyone.
Small room, dirty carpet, stain all over, no room service, small and dirty shower, expensive price for this flea hotel. Since I prepaid for the room I had no choice to stay.
unbelieveable!!! If you plan to visit Penang do not stay at this hotel, otherwise you will be sorry you did!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pancho48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in mid Dec. We booked 3 rooms. The rooms were very small and the carpets look really dirty. In one of the rooms, the kettle was faulty and when we complained, they replaced it.
The toilet door of one of the rooms was not able to close properly.

The next day, at the restaurant, breakfast was not ready. So we enquired from the waitress who refused to answer us. So, we had to check with the person at the counter.

Other than the bad rooms and bad service, the location of the hotel is very good: opposite The Ship restaurant and within walking distance to the night markets.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Low2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

we just came back from the great island of penang. I booked this hotel via fastbooking & request for seaview room via phonecall. My 1st impression of this hotel r great..The look from outside r soo great if we compare to the price BUT once i check in, the worst things start to happen. First, we cant get the seaview room because its fullybooked. 2ndly, the parking area r the public area sharing with the nearby indian temple & looks like no guaranty for ur vehicle safety. From the parking area, we have to walk through the kitchen using the back door to go to our room. 3rdly, once i enter the room it very embarrassing me. This is my 1st experience to change the room because of the cleanliness. 4th, the staff are NOT friendly..

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AkuMalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I am business Traveller, but never see such dirty hotel with small rooms for expensive prices (RM 175). The small room, where it is nearly impossible to take showers as there is no seperate shower or bath tube, are called deluxe. I can imaginge how the standard rooms are, but prefer not to look. The room made is only available during daytime and only if you are lucky, otherwise you return after 12 hours absence in a still dirty room and also talking to the management will not resolve the problem. In the hote the rooms need to be prepaid with no refund. (Now it is clear, otherwise everybody would leave after one night)
I stay in app 100 hotels per year, all over Asia, but never saw such a dirty housing and look like a pork stall.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

You can't expect much for RM80 per night per room! Reception and checking in at D' Ferringhi is simple, it stops there. Security is non-existend. If you ask to be shown to any room to see if the occupants are in, you are shown the steps to the various parts of the hotel and the D' Ferringhi world is your oyster!
Once in the room you wonder if you are in someone elses very bad nightmare! Room 103 = after the reception left.
Opposite the room an open toilet, before the room another toilet, this time with a door! The room itself must have been a garbage room. Walls filthy with shoe marks and other questionable stains.
The iffy brown blanket smelled sour. The pillows had clean pillow cases however the dribble stains were clearly visible, I mention this because we wondered if indeed it were dribble stains!
The room itself was very small with at the foot end of the double bed ( in a corner) a rickety table with coffee/tea making facilities. An old tv adorned the room and channels could be changed with ease from the mattress.
The electric water heater could only be used if one plugged it into the electricity socket more then halfway up the wall above the TV!!!!
Right behind the tv was, as a very bad afterthought, the "bathroom" with a rickety screen. One could get rid of bodily waste and have a shower at the same time, an almost unique way of saving toilet paper!
The only way the carpet in the room can be described as "floor covering on which a herd of sick buffalo's had a very bad night!"
Our friends, who had the dubious priviledge of staying and paying in this fleapit did not consume the D' Ferringhi breakfast. They went 3 doors further and had an even worst experience. To sum things up: Batu Ferringhi on a thight budget is a definitely no-no! Take our advice, if you can't pay for a proper hotel sleep on the beach, at least you get fresh air, another commodity D'Ferringhi has not got! The Pearl of the Orient is definitely very dead and with the corpse they try to rip you ,at times very successfully, off! Sad, very very sad!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Ferringhi hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,467 reviews
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Feringghi Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Feringghi Haus

Address: 66 Jalan Batu Feringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $32 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Feringghi Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your D'Feringghi Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D'Feringghi Haus Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing