We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, not so good food and they charge for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Chun'an County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Sheraton before the Chinese Holidays (1st of October).
The good: very big hotel, new and clean. If you take the lake view rooms, you wont be disappointed. One of the best sunsets I saw in China. The rooms are comfortable and with a very nice balcony.

The bad: the food (western dishes) are quite a rip off. We ordered chicken and a milanese style veal cutlet. The chicken was extremely small. I complained about it but they say that the portions are like that. The other dish was OK in size (3 times bigger than the chicken) but tasted like old oil. Overpriced and not good. I would recommend to stick to Asian dishes.
The breakfast was good, many options both for Asian or Western choices.

The ugly: they charge for everything. You want to ride one of the only 2 bikes available (one is a single bike and the other is a double bike) you need to pay, a little less than 10 usd per hour. Still should be complimentary for the guests (or at least have more than 1 single bike and 1 double one).
We wanted to play ping pong in the gym area, again you have to pay. In this case about 12 usd per hour. It didnt make me feel like a guest of the hotel and I dont think is appropiate that many of the facilities (simple ones as the mentioned) should be charged extra. We walked around for a while and there is some kind of showroom for the nearby properties were they give us 2 bikes for free to use as long as we wanted. From Sheraton, I dont expect this.

The city is small, not too much to do, but is a calm and relaxing getaway from the always busy cities in China, with great views and clean air.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diegzynko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

located in a busy residential area surrounded by mud and high rises. Only has a slight connection to the lake, is in the middle of nowhere. Birdlife in the restaurant flying around the open buffet. Italian restaurant a complete joke. Pool table locked up and far too much trouble to find the key. Best part is checkout.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed Monday through Friday during Mid July with my wife. Expecting the hotel to be frightfully busy we were pleasantly surprised that it was not, that the pools were operational and that all facilities were available.

Our room faced the lake on the non-smoking floor and had an inspiring view over the pools, lake and mountains beyond. The hotel arranged perfect weather for our stay as well! We made full use of the facilities and are happy to report the the gym, pool, table tennis room, bicycles and steam room were up to a standard expected. We ate at Feast restaurant and were generally happy with the food. Drinks by the pool, ice delivered to the room the level of service was at a level we would expect of a hotel of Sheraton standards.

Minuses - unfortunately these tend to be remembered more than positives. These included: some staff at Feast being unfamiliar with menu items. Time taken to deliver drinks. Items on the menu being served minus items listed. Warmth of food served. However it is worthy to note that if you go to the effort of bringing problems to the attention of management, that they are only too happy to rectify the situation.

Finally a mention of the lake and surrounds. We went to the effort to cycle along the lake. There weren't many if any places that we found to swim as entry to the lake was via sheer banks. The water in the lake was clear although I doubt that you would drink the water from it as claimed.

Overall it is well worth a trip to Qiandaohu and we would definitely return to stay at the Sheraton.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The rooms:
I booked two rooms in this hotel, one ocean view and one garden view. Both rooms were extremely clean. The garden view is a joke. There are massive constructions going on when I stayed but even if there aren't any constructions , all the skyscrapers will completely block your sight. On the other hand, the ocean view room does have an excellent view of the lake. There was also fireworks over on the lake side at night when I stayed there. It was probably a celebration of labor day in China. However, the garden view room was way more spacious than the ocean view room. So if you prefer more comfort than the view, garden view rooms would be a better choice.

The Service:
I think the services are topnotch. All the servers that I talked to tried their best to help me and I was really impressed.

The Grounds:
This is where I felt the hotel fell short on. Even though the grounds are beautiful, nothing outdoor was open at all. It was 30 degrees the day I stayed there and I was expecting to hang out by the pool or play some water. Of course I was let down big time on this.

Over all, i feel this Sheraton property is excellent. If their outdoor facilities were to open I would have gave them a 5 stars.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are bigger and more comfortable whereas ocean views have excellent views. Choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Monica_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton Qiandao hu resort because it was the only pet-friendly resort we could find in China. When we arrived with our German shepherd they wanted to send us straight out the revolving door. However, after checking with management that everything was in order they let us proceed and we had no more problems. Our room was very nice, but the best part was the view - absolutly priceless. The Sheraton is located in the best spot, if you're after the view, better than the Hilton. The food was really good and the staff competent and friendly. Also, the indoor pool, sauna and gym are great. We'll return in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkonijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Large hotel, good beds (sweet sleeper standard). good breakfast. service - well, you are
large 25 m indoor pool and a couple outdoor pools. not busy, so not all outdoor pools were open.
way out of shanghai, so english can be a bit tricky. but they try hard.
the area requires good planning so you really can see the nice things.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Went from Shanghai to spend the weekend in a relaxing atmosphere. While the hotel surrounding is meeting this expectation (outdoor pool next to the lake, rooms with lake-view, facilities for kids, etc.), the service is not keeping up to the standards of a five star hotel. Examples for this are: Breakfast with only limited choice and many times, you need to ask the staff to replenish items, running out of cold beer, ... Considering the high price, value for money is not balanced. While the staff is friendly, you walk away with the feeling, that you are training the staff "on the job".

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanW_Sgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chun'an County hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Hangzhou Qiandao Lake China
Hilton Hangzhou Qiandao Lake Chi...
#3 of 162 in Chun'an County
178 reviews
6.5 mi away
InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort
InterContinental One Thousand Is...
#2 of 162 in Chun'an County
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qiandao Lake Greentown Resort Hotel
Qiandao Lake Greentown Resort Ho...
#5 of 162 in Chun'an County
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Narada Qiandao Lake Resort
Narada Qiandao Lake Resort
#15 of 162 in Chun'an County
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Thousand Island Lake
Holiday Inn Thousand Island Lake
#13 of 162 in Chun'an County
87 reviews
0 mi away
New Century Resort Qiandao Lake Hangzhou
New Century Resort Qiandao Lake ...
#4 of 162 in Chun'an County
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort

Address: Xin'an North Road, Qiandao Lake Town, Chun'an County 311700, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Chun'an County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chun'an County
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chun'an County
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chun'an County
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chun'an County
Price Range: $57 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort. Our ideal location will connect you to a land of lush mountains, crystal clear waters, and exotic caves. From the moment you arrive, you will be treated to gracious Chinese hospitality, thoughtful amenities, and an abundance of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort China/Zhejiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing