We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taizhou Huangyan Yaoda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 201 Hotels in Taizhou
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Check In was a total mess. The check in staff decided at the last minute to charge more than the rate charged in the booking. This was ridiculous. After showing them the booking details, they agreed to charge booking rate.

The air condition was switched off in the night and it felt terrible. When the Asst Manager came and checked, it was so funny to hear her say that the AC temperature is enough. After a lot of arguments, she finally agreed that the temperature for the entire hotel was set very high to save power. It was peak summer and their action is totally unbelievable especially when they claim to be a 5 star. Please avoid staying in this hotel. This has happened second time for me in the same hotel. Last time they told me to open the windows !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alok42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel and was very happy with the experience. The rooms are large, well maintained, and very modern. Stayed in a non-smoking room with a comfortable king-sized bed. We ate at two of the hotel's restaurants: the Fortune Restaurant and the Gourmet.

The Fortune was very nice with private dinning rooms, large tables, and attentive wait staff. The food was local cuisine and very good. Certainly worth a visit.

The Gourmet is more pedestrian. The menu is reviewed by strolling through a small area where pictures of the dishes are displayed on tables. Ordering is a simple matter of pointing. Food is prepared in a glass-walled kitchen and brought out to the tables. The servings were well sized for sharing, inexpensive, and the food was tasty, although not to the level of the Fortune.

We also stopped at the piano bar. The beer selection was a bit limited, but there was live music interspersed with light recorded music. When I was there the live music was a selection of English-language songs, which was a little disappointing.

English speaking staff were certainly present, but less so than in larger cities such as Shanghai. The weather was rainy while I was there, but you could see areas where paddle boats and other outside activities were available.

The hotel is very close to a shopping mall that includes a grocery store. It may sound strange, but if you only have a few hours to kill in an afternoon, it's worth the time to wander around the grocery section. Most stores are cash only.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmike86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This new hotel offers a very high standard considering that Huangyan is a bit off the beaten track. Rooms are modern and large and relatively clean although I had to change my room once because of bad smell from the bathroom. The room was changed quickly and the new room was fine.
Breakfast is also quite good with a rather large western selection which is unusual for places like Huangyan. Free wifi is also a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oooo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, in a good location, easy to spot from anywhere in town, and highly recommended. Nice and rich restaurant is included. good and smily service at all places in the hotel. Suitable for both business and leisure purposes, even though I doubt it that many tourists will be attracted to Huangyan. It is a pleasure to recommend about such a hotel.

Room Tip: Makes no difference. You can either choose to meet the shining sun in the morning or follow the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for one night on Jan 5, had to pay extra to stay on non smoking floor but was worth it, many Chinese hotels have no respect for Non smoking, but this extra charge of 70 RMB was worth it. Room was large and relatively clean, mattress was soft by Chinese standards and very comfortable. The bedding was nice and clean and as was the bathroom , nice towels as well and also better than a typical Chinese hotel. Breakfast buffet was over the top and included in the room rate, and compared to other stays in China this hotel exceeded my picky standards. I never expect much for service in China and was not there long enough to judge, but rating hotel on value, cleanliness, towels, bedding,etcetera ,I would highly recommend this hotel. Guaranteed a good nights sleep and a great breakfast!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank dbenamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Luxurious, but when it comes to money, they want to get paid 2-3 times for the same thing.
1) Upon arrival, while the reservation was prepaid through agoda, they insisted on getting paid AGAIN. Following a 30 minute discussion they finally discovered the reservation, BUT they wanted 500RNB deposit. We paid that.
2) We unfortunately decided dinner at what looked like a good hotel restaurant. When asking for the bill, we told them to charge it to the room (346RNB). Their reply was "No sir.. Cannot... Deposit not enough..Must pay now..."
3) We decided to pay by Credit card. Our bank sent us an sms immediately, confirming that the money had left our bank account. But... the hotel's bank did not get the money. So they decided that we had to pay again, and if they got it twice, they would return it. Our response was "The money is in transit. If you do not get it, then take it off the deposit". Noone at the reception understood that, so they insisted on getting a copy of the card to "confirm" with their bank.... This went on for 1,5 hour... They kept knocking on our door while we were trying to sleep, so that they would get a copy of the card.

Room Tip: If you really have to go to this hotel, and you have no other choice, make sure you pay in cash, aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in early May, and can find little to fault in the hotel. Most of the staff have english skills, with most of the managers having excellent English, so checking in and out was a breeze. Speaking to room service or house keeping was also no problem. I stayed in a standard room with a queen size bed, on the upper floors. I was lucky enough to have a corner room with a nice view over one of the rivers. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, I felt very comfortable in it. The only fault I had in the room was that the noise insulation wasn't the best and I could hear the noisy neighbors when they went in and out of their room. Perhaps it's not the rooms fault but rather the neighbors themselves as they were shouting quite loudly. Breakfast was fairly standard for 4/5 star and had a good mix of western and Chinese dishes. Good but nothing special. In terms of location,, it was walking distance to some shops (including tesco) and restaurants (Celtic house pub). It's approximately 15 minutes by taxi from the main train station as well. Taizhou itself is fairly small city in terms of china so don't compare it to a city like shanghai. If I returned to taizhou I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZhelterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taizhou hotels
0 mi away
TaiZhou YaoDa International Hotel
0 mi away
Zhejiang Taizhou Marriott Hotel
0 mi away
New Century Hotel
New Century Hotel
#5 of 201 in Taizhou
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Orange Town Hotel
Orange Town Hotel
#110 of 201 in Taizhou
28 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#90 of 201 in Taizhou
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taizhou Huangyan Yaoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taizhou Huangyan Yaoda Hotel

Address: No.3 Shiji Avenue, Huangyan District, Taizhou 318020, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Taizhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 201 Hotels in Taizhou
Price Range: $80 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taizhou Huangyan Yaoda Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taizhou Huangyan Yaoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing