We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulfood”

Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Montagu
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We always eat here when we are staying at the hotel as the food is delicious and prices are reasonable. Afterwards one can have a drink in the Lounge

Thank Riel_in_Stellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear RIel

Thank you for the continued support, we appreciate it.

We look forward to many more meals together.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful dining room, was served at a table lit by candles, cozy fire and a gentleman playing the most beautiful ballads on the piano but best of all, was the amazing service from the staff. Thank you, Montague Country Hotel, you made our 14th Wedding Anniversary extra special. We will certainly be back.

Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Alicia S

Thank you for the review. I was our honour to have you as our guest for your anniversary, and only wish you the best for the future.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

the breakfast was very good it was a buffet hot and cold and was very reasonable definetly recommend to any one for a good breakfast

Thank llewellyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear LLewellen H

Thank you for the review, hope to see you again, maybe this for a sleepover in the hotel - then you will experience dinner here as well.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and never got around to writing a review until now. I recently spent a little under 3 weeks in Montagu and dined at this Art Deco style hotel on three occasions.
The dining room is very spacious and comfortable and, in addition to resident guests welcomes everyone who chooses to dine there. A very good menu is offered with a range of dishes, including some African specialities. Everything is generally well prepared, (See closing notes) beautifully presented and served in good time and, if you like to take a few minutes break between courses they are happy to oblige. There is a good wine list and, if you choose to have just a glass, the selection of local wines offered are excellent.
A couple of small issues though...
First - I enjoyed the Malva Pudding, very very good, unfortunately the kitchen seem to have problems with custard. I had this traditional pudding twice and each time the freshly made custard was lumpy and approaching Scrambled Egg. A great pity. If the kitchen are busy, preparing small servings of freshly made custard can be 'fun'. A very simple and easy solution at busy times is, why not use ready made custard blended with a little fresh cream ? Done properly it can be very difficult to tell the difference and, its a lot better than 'Lumpy' custard.
Second - The hotel regularly accommodates Tour Groups, obviously very good business and a long standing favourite and popular hotel with these groups. It is a very nice hotel. Unfortunately when there is a tour bus parked outside the hotel I have learned that it is a sign the kitchen can be very busy and, sadly, the standard drops. Also, the table service can be less attentive. Quite simply, if there is a large group in residence the restaurant standard would better be maintained with at least one, or, probably two extra table waitresses.
I will happily dine here again, but not if there is a tour group in residence.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear PhilipUnsworth

Thank you for the very comprehensive review, we will definately use your opinions to better our offering. Also, thank you for the compliments, we will pass on to the staff.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Second visit here, the hotel is the same but getting better! Same owner and great staff made our 2 night stay unforgettable. Thank you... we wont take so long coming back next time

Thank solotwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Solotwa

Wow, thank you for the review and compliments, much appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again in future.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing