We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consist quality”

Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Montagu
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Always a lovely atmosphere and good food. Variety of South African dishes well cooked and presented in a beautiful setting.

1  Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, Chef at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Annie W,

Thank you for your great review! We specialise in traditional South African dishes, and are happy to know you enjoyed your dinner with us. The atmosphere created by the combination of good food, friendly service and, of course, the piano played by Kosie is very special to us indeed. We have recently redecorated the restaurant and look forward to your next visit to check it out.


James Mulligan, Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Recently we used the Montagu Country Hotel as a meeting point for friends travelling from Cape Town & onward to a game lodge 35min drive outside the town. We had been to the Hotel before & felt it was a good central place to meet & have lunch before driving on in convoy. However, when we asked for the menu our waitress told us that the Hotel doesn't do lunches any more. We expressed surprise as we had eaten lunch there on previous visits, but she said there was a menu from the deli next door from which we could choose & she would bring it to us. While we were looking through that menu the waitress then came back with the Hotel's A la Carte menu and said she had spoken to the kitchen & they were happy to provide a meal. Not content with that she then brought the Hotel's light lunch menu too - such service from someone who was determined that we should get our lunch!
Kosie Hanekom came round to welcome us & then proceeded to entertain us with his beautiful piano playing - all in all a delightful interlude which set the tone for the rest of our stay in the area.

Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Jill S

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Montagu is indeed a very central stop, halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on the historical Route 62. We have a 5 day itinerary worked out, using Montagu as base, offering daytrips to the surrounding area.
We have new tenants in our building next door, doing a beautiful deli called the “Wheat and Berry”, and subsequently focus on dinner, doing only Sunday lunches. We do still cater for groups and conferences for lunchtime, and if the staff is here, we will still try to accommodate our visitors. Thank you for the compliment of the service; we pride ourselves in stressing the importance of good service to staff members. With regards to Kosie – he is an institution at this hotel, and much more than just our resident pianist. I’m glad you got to hear him play and spend some time with him.
We look forward to host on your next visit,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As the new logo and board state - the home of Route 62... this is a place filled with nostalgia and a must see for every Art Deco lover. Just book in, stay the night, enjoy a GRAND dinner with piano music in the background, chill in the sunny court yard or swim in the Mineral pool... meet some locals, because that is where we hang out.

Thank Mareletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, chef at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks Mareletta, for you review!

We are indeed the home of Route 62 and proud of it. We also pride ourselves on being the only Art Deco hotel in the country. Kosie Hanekom on the baby grand piano certainly adds to the ambience of our restaurant while enjoying a great dinner by candle-light.

James Mulligan, Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Best restaurant during our trip! 2 dinners and really great food and wine list!
Was also nice to have a chat with people from the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Indojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, Head Chef at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Indojan,

Many thanks for taking time to review our restaurant and for voting us the best on your trip. We take pride in what we present on each plate. It is always such a pleasure for me to go out and greet our guests each night and to build a relationship with them. We have many return visits by guests from far and wide and look forward to hosting you and your lady in the not too distant future.

James Mulligan, Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

See original review, and no parking required. Pity we didn't stay there for the evening as we did not see the inside of the hotel, rooms or any other facilities. maybe a next time...

Thank HermienTitlestadvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Hermien

Thank you for the review and compliments, much appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again in future, and would be glad to have you as a guest in the hotel.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Dining Room @ Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing