We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malherbe Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malherbe Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spend two nights here, we had a great room, clean, and the bathroom is big with a in walk shower and a sperate bath. Thes host are very friendly.
Also the breakast was super, we had a lovely cheese and home made bread, made by Joop.
We hope to come again some day. Thanks Micky and Joop. And you are always welcome if you are driving past Kyalami on your way to Kruger or so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemieke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
108
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This guest house is a really nice place to stay in Montagu, the room was clean and comfortable and stocked with tea and coffee, free magazines to browse and a good mini bar. It has a good location for the surrounding activities and restaurants and a very nice breakfast. The service was friendly and helpful - very much recommend this guest house to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
267 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night based on the Tripadvisor reviews and loved it. Great location, friendly owners, fresh breakfast, secure parking, quiet rooms, comfy bed, good showers and toiletries. All at a very good price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and wish we could've stayed longer. Breakfasts are amazing, service is unobtrusive, incredibly friendly and helpful.

Montagu itself is a treat and Malherbe made it even better. First class room/balcony/pool area-every part exuding class and attention to detail. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MVR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very nice rooms, spacious, decorated with taste and perfectly clean. The garden is very pleasant and relaxing, and the fresh, home made breakfast is a pleasure. Location is very good as it is walking distance from the centre and the restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zarpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in France
Level Contributor
227 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed one night here, because of the famous Montagu hot springs. The guest house lives up to its trip advisor reputation. Very comfortable, tastefully decorated, pleasant garden and swimming pool space.

Breakfast "Dutch" Style, the owners are Dutch, with fresh and/or home made products. The town, what there is of it, can be visited on foot from their guest house. Restaurants are very good in the area, too

We had the smaller comfort room, and the only criticism, and it's minor at that, was the room was just a touch too sombre.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms look brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed one night here in one of the superb garden rooms. The room was spacious, spotless and had everything you could want, the mini bar was very well stocked with reasonably priced, good quality wine. The garden setting is so peaceful and relaxing and our hosts Joop and Micky were very welcoming and served a superb breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.3 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.2 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malherbe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malherbe Guesthouse

Property: Malherbe Guesthouse
Address: 17 Lang Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malherbe Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malherbe guesthouse is a National Monument and was built in 1859. The house has been lovingly restored and offers 4 en-suite garden rooms, private entrance and patio or verandah. Rooms have air conditioning (cooling & heating,a bar-fridge, electronic safe, hospitality tray, hairdryer, free WI-FI andsatellite TV/DSTV. The guesthouse also has a spacious guest lounge where you can enjoy a complementary glass Montagu Muscadel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malherbe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing