We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malherbe Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We only stayed on one night in Montagu on the return part of our holiday and had started to get in to relax mode! Montagu itself is a very small town, the centre is within 5 minutes walking distance from the B&B. When we arrived we were greeted by Joop, who showed us round and offered us some advice about the area and restaurants. We stayed in one of the Deluxe Garden rooms, which was very modern and spacious, with a lovely large ensuite bathroom. Very comfortable and we had a peaceful nights sleep. There were 2 or 3 other couples staying at the same time as us, but we really only saw each other at breakfast. We relaxed by the pool in the afternoon, although never ventured in to the water as it was cold as the sun had gone in! Breakfast was lovely - Micky looked after us to make sure we had everything we needed. Sadly we didn't get chance to visit any of the local vineyards as it was a public holiday and we only had an afternoon to explore, but there are plenty to visit if you get the chance!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had driven through Montagu before but never stayed. We selected Malherbe for our 4 night stay and what a good choice. Micky and Joop were very welcoming without being overbearing. We were shown to our deluxe poolside room and it was spacious and delightful although given the amount of space some more storage area for clothes would have been possible and useful.
The breakfasts were always different and prepared with great care-delicious and a treat eating outside under the vine.
We had no problem filling 3 full days exploring this interesting and scenically beautiful area thanks to the excellent advice from M and J.
Good restaurants were within easy walking distance and like a previous reviewer we found Ye Olde Tavern excellent value for money and very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

linger more than 1 night and you will enjoy a total enjoyable experience starting with Mickys fantastic breakfast,then the fruit route or Robertson vineyards (Joop picks the best for you) 3 nights soon zipped by on our 2nd visit.
Super rooms poolside,very comfortable ,however,some great restuarants await you(we enjoyed Ye Olde Tavern)
Give it a go ,Enjoy.
NickandRos u.k

Room Tip: poolside but book well ahead as these are most popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nickandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
408 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Malherbe is an intimate guesthouse with just five rooms and personal service from owners Joop and Micky. Whilst the owners are always available to help with booking a restaurant or some other request, they keep in the background which might help guests feel less under scrutiny. One of the stand-out features of the guesthouse is the mature garden, which has many delightful nooks and crannies. The pool and sunbathing area are also unusually good for a small guesthouse, although it can get a bit busy around the pool.

The two best rooms are undoubtedly the deluxe garden rooms, one with a veranda overlooking the pool area, the other being slightly away from the pool and therefore more private. A clever feature of the garden rooms is the angled divider behind the bed which both serves as a headboard and creates a corridor to the dressing area and bathroom. The bathroom is spacious with a double sink, walk in shower and good sized bath, but it's echoey and a little institutional. There's an old tube-type TV in each room with satellite stations but no DVD or music system. The minibar in the room has realistically priced soft drinks and wines but the fridge is a little noisy.

Complimentary Montagu Muscadel is available in a small lounge area inside the main house where there's also a folder with restaurant menus. There's wifi access throughout the guesthouse, but as is usual in South Africa, this has to be purchased: 175 R buys one 1 Gb of data which is enough for a few days.

Excellent breakfasts are served by Micky between 8 and 9 on a delightful terrace under the canopy of some very old vines. Breakfast includes freshly-squeezed orange juice, a plate of fruit, yoghurt with granola or muesli, a plate of cheeses and meats plus toast and preserves. A cooked option is also offered.

All in all, a very nice guesthouse with a pleasantly relaxing ambience and ideal for a stay in Montagu.

Room Tip: Both deluxe garden rooms are excellent but the first has more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

The place is as we remember it from previous visit: very comfortable, a relaxed ambiance,perfect for a rest. Micky and Joop provide many thoughtful touches, the aircon works superbly ( at 30 degrees it is a great bonus), the breakfast in the garden served by Micky a joy to look at and to eat. The fridge in the room full of drinks at supermarket price and the pool was the nicest we had in all the places we stayed. Perfect? Almost, I missed the wifi, which apparently one can purchase with credit card but I did not understand it so we either walked to 1, Long Street , Farm Padstal or Olive House b&b for free wifi (we bought drinks or lunch once we were there).On holiday we need only a few minutes to read e-mails and the places I mentioned are useful for that.

Room Tip: garden rooms are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schorndorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We've been to Malherbe for several times now - and it's always good to came back. A beautiful room with a very nice bathroom, a beautiful garden, very friendly hosts and a fantastic breakfast are some good reasons for a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Behind the guest house there is a small tropical garden with a swimming pool. It's the perfect little hidaway!
The hosts were friendly and the rooms very nice!
I would definitely recommend this small paradise!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnabrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.3 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#10 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malherbe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malherbe Guesthouse

Property: Malherbe Guesthouse
Address: 17 Lang Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malherbe Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malherbe guesthouse is a National Monument and was built in 1859. The house has been lovingly restored and offers 4 en-suite garden rooms, private entrance and patio or verandah. Rooms have air conditioning (cooling & heating,a bar-fridge, electronic safe, hospitality tray, hairdryer, free WI-FI andsatellite TV/DSTV. The guesthouse also has a spacious guest lounge where you can enjoy a complementary glass Montagu Muscadel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Malherbe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing