We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise II”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Montagu Guest House
Ranked #26 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Durban
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise II”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

During our trip from Durban to Capetown, our stay in John Montagu guest house was very good. The establishment is undoubtedly one of the best price vs. performance places we have stayed. Besides the pleasant overall physical atmosphere the hospitality also helped a lot to make our stay a better one. And the breakfast was also very good.

Now we are back at Durban and asing ourselves why didn't we spend one more night there.

Ruchan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rziya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wehr
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Place seemed to be in need of a complete overhaul! Victorian Atmosphere and does´t seemed to have changed much. The bathroom light switch was on on the other side of the room to the bathroom. Took I will to comprehend as to how I could turn the light on. None of the doors seems to close properly. No phone available and the swimming pool is not much bigger that the bath. No real buffet breakfast although the "English Breakfast" was well cooked even though minute.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

After our somewhat disappointing stay for the previous couple of nights in Outdshoorn, our expectations were set pretty low. Arriving at John Montagu was like a breath of fresh air. We had a one night stay in the John Montagu, and I only wish it could have been longer. The house is quaint but beautiful and very clean. The manager, Cathy was extremely helpful. She offered us the honeymoon suite as it was empty that night, and it was spacious and decorated very nicely. She also made dinner reservations for us at a local restaurant called Jessica's which is a must for anyone staying in Montagu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cillianmaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We booked a standard room and Cathy upgraded us to a larger room because it was empty so I certainly have nothing to complain about! I don't know what our original room looked like but the one we stayed in was beautiful. The house is wonderful, very charming, great breakfast, very friendly host. What else is there to say? Great stay!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ironman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAUTENG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Guesthouse was welcoming and cool after our hot road journey. We loved the decor. Staff were friendly and helpful. We needed to leave a little later the following day and we were able to keep the room with no additional charge. It is conveniently located near all the local eateries and shops. We were travelling the Route 62, so our reservation at this guesthouse was made at the very last minute. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed every minute of our stay there.

Room Tip: We chose the room which had adjacent access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicadorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington U.K
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I chose this guesthouse after reading reviews on tripasvisor and was really disppointed. My husband and I had a 2 night stay at John Montagu and we both felt that there was not enough attention paid to the guests - it did not have that personal touch that we came across at other guesthouses. We never saw the owner as it was managed by Cathy who lives next door. I must admit that Cathy gave us her mobile number to contact her if needed and she gave us maps etc. and made a reservation at a local restaurant. However the atmosphere was cold and the house soulless especially on our second night when we were the only people in the whole house.

Our room was small and there was nowhere to sit. There was no television in the room and poorly lit at night making it rather gloomy. On the upside we did have a spa bath in the bathroom, but, no shower. The breakfast was average - I had scrambled egg which had been cooked in the microwave oven and was raw on the inside - could not eat it.

There is such competition in Montagu as nearly every other home is a guest house that if the JM wants to succeed it will have change. Regretfully I would not recommend the JM guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilat20, Owner at John Montagu Guest House, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We are really disillusioned to notice the review you have given us on Trip Advisor, especially in light of the favourable review you left in our guestbook.

However being in the hospitality industry for a while now, we have come to realize you cannot please all.

What some perceive as a ‘soulless’ guesthouse others regard as a haven of peace and tranquillity, and consequently is used by a group of Yoga enthusiasts for their weekend retreats.

While some perceive their scrambled egg as being raw, others perceive the perfect scrambled egg as being soft and just a little bit moist.

All our guests are treated with the utmost courtesy, respect and hospitality.

The room you chose to stay in does have seating in the form of two beautiful antique chairs. The lighting (apart from overhead lighting) is provided by two charming bed side lamps in keeping with the overall decorative theme of the room.

In essence, the whole Guesthouse was available to you, the lounge, outside pool area and gardens. You were not restricted to your room.

Management who reside in the garden cottage less than 10 meters away from the main guesthouse , are also always available, 24/7 to guests, either by phone or in person, should guests require any further assistance. We do, however, believe in being unobtrusive when assisting guests to ensure their privacy and create a relaxed atmosphere.

If at any time during your stay at our Guesthouse you had expressed any dissatisfaction we would have done our utmost to alleviate the problem.

Thank you nevertheless for your review and a special thank you to our regular and loyal guests who choose to stay with us whenever visiting Montagu!

Oh and by the way, the restaurant you visited in Montagu was equally disappointed by the review you gave them as I am sure were some of the other guesthouses you rated so critically whilst on your recent trip to S.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I have always been sceptical of choosing a place to stay from the web, as we have had some bad experiences in the past. Well all I can sayis that we took a chance on the John Montagu Guest House, and boy were we in for surprise. Our stay live up to the website in all aspects. The rooms, service, food and hospitality was first-class, I would recommend The John Montague guesthouseto anybody who wants to have a break from the hustle and bustle of city life. As somebody famous once said, I'll be back. Thank you to the management and staff for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnardnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#14 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#10 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.2 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Montagu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Montagu Guest House

Property: John Montagu Guest House
Address: 30 Joubert Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — John Montagu Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay a while in this magnificent guest house where you are offered bed and breakfast accommodation of a superior quality. Experience tranquil Victorian living with all modern facilities, only two hours drive from Cape Town or Oudtshoorn. Surrounded by the majestic Langeberg Mountains and in the fruit bowl of the Breede River Valley, Western Cape. An ideal retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Within easy walking distance of restaurants and the historic village centre of Montagu. Facilities: Breakfast is served in the sunny dining room overlooking the pool. Guests enjoy a breakfast of fresh fruit, homemade breads, scones and muffins, or a full English breakfast. Relax in the comfortable lounge where the guest may make use of the many books on display. On sunny days and warm evenings guests may splash in the beautiful beach pool or enjoy a drink at the pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing