We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
7 Church Street Guest House
Ranked #5 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed here for one night and wish it could have been longer. Mike and May are so friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to eat. The breakfast really good and freshley cooked.
The room that we stayed in was in the beautiful garden, so peaceful. The room itself was well decorated with lovely high ceiling.
Didn't have much time to visit the area as we were on our way to Hermanus but it looked lovely - mountains amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipperDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    39
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
181
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

I would imagine that May and Mike get a lot of one night stands as people travel east or west along the Cape. For that purpose both Montagu and 7 Church Street provide an excellent solution. Service is pleasant and friendly, the room (we had one of their newer cottage rooms) was spacious, reasonably furnished with an okay bathroom. Breakfast was unpretentious. All in all a decent 4 star b&b.

To raise it into a 5 star review, and trying to be constructive in criticism, we would have liked a bigger bed, given the spaciousness of the room, a slightly more plush bathroom with toiletries and towelling to match, and finally Mike you could have washed our car when doing your own (after all May does everything else !)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastTaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

My mother and I had a very enjoyable stay in this pretty guest house with pleasant, helpful hosts. The garden is clearly a labour of love and we enjoyed staying in a room that looked out on it. Montagu is very pretty, situated in the mountains with spectacular views. Our room was spacious, attractively decorated and had comfortable beds. The bathroom was also roomy. I'm not sure why one would get het up about having a tv (see below) in a place that has so much to look at outside. Mike and May were extremely helpful and gave us some super advice during our short time with them. We walked to see all the birds roost at the end of the day then enjoyed a lovely meal that May both recommended and booked for us. We were also given very good advice about a drive around the Robertson wine region, with tips about the best place for lunch (a deli picnic at a vineyard by the river) and the best wineries (spent the rest of our trip drinking our way through a half case of lovely white from Springfield). Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We only stayed one night on our way from Cape Town to Oudsthoorn. When we arrived we received a very warm welcome from May and sat in the sun on the patio. The gardens are beautful and the views great. The room (in the garden suites with a mezzanine floor with second double bed) was comfortable, albeit a bit "1980s M&S" - think floral sofa, frilly cover for tissue box, etc. The bathroom was large with a good bath and two showers. Breakfast was tasty. We visited Avalon Springs - bit tired looking and lots of white plastic furniture, but in winter the 40 degree pool was very welcome and the only time we swam in our stay.
Would stay here again. On the way to Oudsthoorn would recommend the Red Coffee Pot in Calizdorp for good and cheap pancakes for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurascudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very peaceful. May and Mike are great hosts, very helpful and knowledgeable. They booked us on a lovely boatrip with lunch afterwards. They recommended vineyards to visit and sites to see. Our suite was beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaChatelaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Having driven for 2 and a half hours on the wonderful scenic Route 62 we arrived in Montagu a very quiet, eerily quiet village. 7 Church Street lived up to reviews and hosts mike and may gave good friendly advice and helped with dinner reservations. We did have a problem with the toilet not working which we did feel should have been sorted out immediately but it still didnt work on leaving. Apart from that had a great stay and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguMandM, owner at 7 Church Street Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
This is our only room with an antique pull chain toilet which does need to be handled with some TLC
When the guests went out for dinner we tried the toilet and it was and still is working fine
However we have put up written instructions and on arrival will ensure the guests are familiar with its workings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Fail to agree with the previous reviews for this guesthouse I'm afraid, we found this place a big disappointment.
After a long drive from Stellenbosch and a rubbish lunch in Robertson, we were looking forward to some luxury and relaxation but this guesthouse didn't provide that at all. There was no TV in the room or comunal lounge with a TV, it was the only one out of our 10 accommodations during our stay to not have an honesty bar, the rooms were poorly, cheaply decorated (very old fashioned), the pool area was tiny, the plug in our shower was full of long hairs from a previous guest.

Overpriced, overrated, and not a patch on anywhere else during our stay. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank M0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguMandM, owner at 7 Church Street Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
We are sorry that your long drive (2 hrs) from Stellenbosch was unpleasant
We are also sorry that your lunch in Robertson was not up to your standards
It is a pity on your reservation that you did not select a room with TV, however had you mentioned at check in, we could have offered you one of 2 suites which do have TV
We do have a guest lounge next door to the breakfast room with leather couches, fire place and Sony 42 “flat screen TV with DSTV and DVD player
We do not advertise we offer a hospitality bar as we do not have a liquor licence but we have fridges in the rooms
Our swimming pool is 6mx8m
The rooms are decorated with Cape Dutch furniture in a style that suits the property and we are sorry they did not meet with the guest’s personal taste
It is unfortunate that you did not bring any of your requirements to our attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Church Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Church Street Guest House

Property: 7 Church Street Guest House
Address: 7 Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Church Street Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Church Street offers luxury accommodation superbly situated in stunning gardens in the heart of Montagu on the immensely popular Route 62 between Cape Town and The Garden Route / Port Elizabeth, this lovingly restored Victorian home dates back to the 1850’s and once boasted a thatched roof The front elevation understates the jewels set at the end of the bougainvillea edged driveway, including the elevated garden suite with its spacious lounge and sun deck complemented by Dial Cottage a Cape-Dutch thatched property which contains three more magnificent suites with panoramic views. Our suites are a welcome retreat to either just enjoy or to be a base for exploring the treasures of our area for 3 or 4 enchanting and memorable days. We look forward to welcoming you to a slice of our idyllic lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 7 Church Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing