We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
7 Church Street Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My mother and I had a very enjoyable stay in this pretty guest house with pleasant, helpful hosts. The garden is clearly a labour of love and we enjoyed staying in a room that looked out on it. Montagu is very pretty, situated in the mountains with spectacular views. Our room was spacious, attractively decorated and had comfortable beds. The bathroom was also roomy. I'm not sure why one would get het up about having a tv (see below) in a place that has so much to look at outside. Mike and May were extremely helpful and gave us some super advice during our short time with them. We walked to see all the birds roost at the end of the day then enjoyed a lovely meal that May both recommended and booked for us. We were also given very good advice about a drive around the Robertson wine region, with tips about the best place for lunch (a deli picnic at a vineyard by the river) and the best wineries (spent the rest of our trip drinking our way through a half case of lovely white from Springfield). Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 261 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

We only stayed one night on our way from Cape Town to Oudsthoorn. When we arrived we received a very warm welcome from May and sat in the sun on the patio. The gardens are beautful and the views great. The room (in the garden suites with a mezzanine floor with second double bed) was comfortable, albeit a bit "1980s M&S" - think floral sofa, frilly cover for tissue box, etc. The bathroom was large with a good bath and two showers. Breakfast was tasty. We visited Avalon Springs - bit tired looking and lots of white plastic furniture, but in winter the 40 degree pool was very welcome and the only time we swam in our stay.
Would stay here again. On the way to Oudsthoorn would recommend the Red Coffee Pot in Calizdorp for good and cheap pancakes for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurascudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very peaceful. May and Mike are great hosts, very helpful and knowledgeable. They booked us on a lovely boatrip with lunch afterwards. They recommended vineyards to visit and sites to see. Our suite was beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaChatelaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Having driven for 2 and a half hours on the wonderful scenic Route 62 we arrived in Montagu a very quiet, eerily quiet village. 7 Church Street lived up to reviews and hosts mike and may gave good friendly advice and helped with dinner reservations. We did have a problem with the toilet not working which we did feel should have been sorted out immediately but it still didnt work on leaving. Apart from that had a great stay and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguMandM, owner at 7 Church Street Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2009

This is our only room with an antique pull chain toilet which does need to be handled with some TLC
When the guests went out for dinner we tried the toilet and it was and still is working fine
However we have put up written instructions and on arrival will ensure the guests are familiar with its workings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Fail to agree with the previous reviews for this guesthouse I'm afraid, we found this place a big disappointment.
After a long drive from Stellenbosch and a rubbish lunch in Robertson, we were looking forward to some luxury and relaxation but this guesthouse didn't provide that at all. There was no TV in the room or comunal lounge with a TV, it was the only one out of our 10 accommodations during our stay to not have an honesty bar, the rooms were poorly, cheaply decorated (very old fashioned), the pool area was tiny, the plug in our shower was full of long hairs from a previous guest.

Overpriced, overrated, and not a patch on anywhere else during our stay. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank M0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguMandM, owner at 7 Church Street Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

We are sorry that your long drive (2 hrs) from Stellenbosch was unpleasant
We are also sorry that your lunch in Robertson was not up to your standards
It is a pity on your reservation that you did not select a room with TV, however had you mentioned at check in, we could have offered you one of 2 suites which do have TV
We do have a guest lounge next door to the breakfast room with leather couches, fire place and Sony 42 “flat screen TV with DSTV and DVD player
We do not advertise we offer a hospitality bar as we do not have a liquor licence but we have fridges in the rooms
Our swimming pool is 6mx8m
The rooms are decorated with Cape Dutch furniture in a style that suits the property and we are sorry they did not meet with the guest’s personal taste
It is unfortunate that you did not bring any of your requirements to our attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Fabulous B & B. Large room in a separate block of three. High vaulted ceiling with the thatch uncovered.

Beautiful gardens and a pool one could actually swim in. Lovely breakfast. May, & Mike our wonderful hosts booked us in for dinner at Jessica's which was super.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ogwen789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Spent a night in Montagu while touring the Western Cape.
Lovely town, great pub & restaurant (the same place), and some interesting features - don't miss the roosting birds near the picturesque church.
7 Church Street was one of the best B&Bs I've experienced, ideal location, fantastic scenery, and great accommodation. Stayed in the fairly new but totally rustic & apparently traditional room in the garden, which itself was an experience with the black swans, pond, and pool.
Food and service also faultless.
Mike is a great host, with an extensive knowledge of the area which he shared willingly, providing directions and information on accommodation in our next destination and pointed out the places to stop on the way - especially Ronnies Bar - don't drive past it.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#6 of 27 in Montagu
332 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#6 of 35 in Montagu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Church Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Church Street Guest House

Address: 7 Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: $103 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Church Street Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Church Street offers luxury accommodation superbly situated in stunning gardens in the heart of Montagu on the immensely popular Route 62 between Cape Town and The Garden Route / Port Elizabeth, this lovingly restored Victorian home dates back to the 1850’s and once boasted a thatched roof The front elevation understates the jewels set at the end of the bougainvillea edged driveway, including the elevated garden suite with its spacious lounge and sun deck complemented by Dial Cottage a Cape-Dutch thatched property which contains three more magnificent suites with panoramic views. Our suites are a welcome retreat to either just enjoy or to be a base for exploring the treasures of our area for 3 or 4 enchanting and memorable days. We look forward to welcoming you to a slice of our idyllic lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 7 Church Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing