We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
7 Church Street Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were met by mine host who directed us to our enormous ,gorgeous room for the night . The whole experience was a delight .The rooms are set in a really interesting large garden with a large pond full of bird life !!
It really is a deluxe place to stay and the location is ideal for a stopover or longer stay . \the B&B is close to restaurants and pubs plus some interesting curio shops . All in all it lived up to its deluxe billing , thakyou!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anony321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were delighted with our two night stay with very welcoming hosts May & Mike. Looks average size from the street, but the beautiful garden behind has amazing guest rooms with thatch roof and wooden beams. Very comfortable bed, huge bathroom & spacious bedroom. The garden has a pool also. May welcomed us with a glass of local sweet port while she filled us in on what to do and where to go. Her breakfasts were generous and tasty.
The bird sanctury in Montague is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannejward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed just one night here on our way from Kynsna to Franchhoek in March. Our accomadation was one of the three gardens suites which was tastefully decorated with expensive white bedding! Our host Mike who hailed from the UK was most engaging and booked our restaurant reservation and also suggested a onward scenic route via wine lodges to Franschhoek. An excellent breakfast cooked to order. Parking was available in the guest house grounds and a welcome beer provided by our host.

A guest house we would recommend and certainly visit again if in the locality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had stayed at Montagu Vines on our 2 previous stays in Montagu and had booked Montagu Vines again. However the new owners of Montagu Vines reneged on our room reservation made a year earlier so we looked for alternative accommodation at the last minute. We were very fortunate to find Seven Church Street and had a very enjoyable 3 day stay there.

May and Mike are wonderful hosts who are friendly and helpful, arranging restaurants making other bookings and giving good recommendations on what to do. We particularly enjoyed the Viljoensdrift picnic and Breede River trip they arranged for us. Our accommodation in the Garden Room was spacious, clean and well equipped with large comfortable beds, fridge with welcome bottle of wine, safe, very plush bathroom and both a veranda and sundeck with nice views towards the mountains. From what we could see all rooms looked attractive and well equipped.

The property is large, very secure with electronic controlled gates and close to the centre of the town. The garden is large and beautifully laid out, having a nice and decently sized swimming pool. Despite the rooms being spread out over such a large site the WiFi reception was the best we encountered in South Africa.

Breakfasts around the large table were wholesome and of excellent quality and sufficiency, setting us up for each day. We would not hesitate to make Seven Church Street our first and best choice when we next return to Montagu.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Upgraded to a very large family suite so can't complain! Well furnished room, obviously with a lot of thought put in to make it unique, landscaped grounds, good breakfast, and very warm welcome from the hosts.

Lots of information provided about the town and the area to help make for a fruitful visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We loved staying. May and Mike are so hospitable, helpful and friendly. The gardens are beautiful and the accommodations were spacious and very comfortable. Montagu is a charming town. Just wish we'd had more time to spend there.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Janet945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Good location. Very friendly and helpful owners. Beautiful gardens. Lovely room with at s-p-a-c-i-o-u-s bathroom. Fresh and tasty breakfast. Need I say more? go there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
2.6 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#6 of 35 in Montagu
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Church Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Church Street Guest House

Address: 7 Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: $93 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Church Street Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Church Street offers luxury accommodation superbly situated in stunning gardens in the heart of Montagu on the immensely popular Route 62 between Cape Town and The Garden Route / Port Elizabeth, this lovingly restored Victorian home dates back to the 1850’s and once boasted a thatched roof The front elevation understates the jewels set at the end of the bougainvillea edged driveway, including the elevated garden suite with its spacious lounge and sun deck complemented by Dial Cottage a Cape-Dutch thatched property which contains three more magnificent suites with panoramic views. Our suites are a welcome retreat to either just enjoy or to be a base for exploring the treasures of our area for 3 or 4 enchanting and memorable days. We look forward to welcoming you to a slice of our idyllic lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your 7 Church Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing