We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, calm, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galenia Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galenia Estate
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, calm, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

The location of this hotel is amazing - the view is spectacular, and it is a place to come for relaxation, good food and quiet. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and well appointed. Each has a terrace with a magnificent view, and an outdoor (private) shower leading off the bathroom. The chef in the restaurant is French and produces excellent meals - the lamb dish I had was probably some of the best lamb I have had anywhere. The breakfasts are served on a terrace with a view of the rolling countryside, and there is a calm pool, again with its own lovely view.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
107
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Stayed for one night in Les Hauts de Montagu on our R62 roadtrip. What a find. Les Hauts is set in absolutely stunning grounds. Our suite was lovely - with a verandah overlooking lavender and olive groves and their 3 ostriches! The feel is definitely rustic but we loved it - four poster bed, heated tiled floor, outdoor shower, fire for the cool evenings - heaven. We arranged to have dinner the evening we arrived - the meal was fantastic and is a must if you're staying. Overall if planning a trip along the 62 and passing through Montagu I would highly recommend staying - we completely felt like we were getting away from it all in the most beautiful and tranquil of settings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuala_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I have travelled extensively and this has to be one of the top places I have ever been to.
Even though we were unable to eat there as the kitchen was closed the night we stayed (I understand the food is amazing) the place itself was incredible. Our room was wonderful - a part of a cottage overlooking the fields of olive trees and the scenery was one of the most beautiful we saw in all SA with plenty of local flora and fauna roaming the grounds.
The owners are very friendly and there is plenty of walking and relaxing to do whilst there.

Fabulous

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We spent the first night of our trip from Cape Town to Addo at Les Hauts de Montagu and liked it so much we decided to spend our last night on the return trip there as well. Words cannot really describe the peaceful setting, nor the exceptional cuisine.... you just have to go there and find that out for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChimoGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Set in the hillside overlooking the village, this is a lodgings of the very highest quality. The owner is a former Paris-based Michelin chef and i would not be overstating it to say the meal we enjoyed was quite possibly the finest we have ever had. Fellow guests who were frequent visitors are seriously worried that more and more people are finding out about this faultless hotel. I would return to this area just to stay here. It's that good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWalesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

We had been recommended to stay here by local friends in CT, and it exceeded our expectations. Idyllic views, lots of beautiful walks & local wineries to visit, comfortable rooms with bath/outside shower and fireplace for winter. Eric cooks fantastic evening meals - we had shrimps, and local quails which astounded our South African friends. And the area is so much less touristy than Franschoek. Wished we'd been able to stay much longer and explore the area further.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Reccomended by a friend we found this wonderful tranquil superbly run haven and stayed.... marvellous food, very comfortable rooms, meticulous service and remarkable value for money. Great walks and very friendly atmosphere... we will return !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
3.9 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
26.5 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
3.0 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
13.2 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 33 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
21.2 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#11 of 33 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galenia Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galenia Estate

Property: Galenia Estate
Address: 3 km Ater Montaqu On Route | 3 Km After Montagu On Route 62, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galenia Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest lodge offering 450 hectares of abundant, indigenous flora and situated on the beautiful slopes of the Langeberg Mountains. This is a space of natural tranquility, beauty and comfort; perfect for nature lovers, relaxing getaway or a romantic weekend. Rooms are separated into six spacious en-suites. Each have their own fireplace, a bathroom with heated floors, a Victorian bathtub as well as an outside shower. From the veranda, guests have a spectacular view of the Karro Koppies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Galenia Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing