We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You stole our heart!”
Review of Galenia Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galenia Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was a one night stopover on our way to Oudtshoorn and we regretted not having booked for 3 nights. Although only a short distance from Montagu there was a remoteness about the property. We particularly enjoyed sitting on our verandah looking at the magnificent mountains in the distance, watching a few ostrich amble through the olive trees and breathing in the lavendar scent. So tranquil and peaceful. The accommodation was excellent with a very comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. The breakfasts were out of this world and so nicely presented. Myriam and Eric were perfect hosts and the staff were first class. There were many walking and jogging trails on the farm, all well signposted. We had an excellent meal at Jessica's, well worth a visit. So much to see and do, you simply did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just spent one night at this property and wish we had planned to stay longer!

It is located amongst the picturesque mountains and a short drive from Montagu town centre if you need essentials, restaurants (though there appears to be a restaurant on site - we didn't eat here though)

You could spend a couple of days just at Les Hauts, sitting at their pool taking in the views or on one of their many walking trails across the farmland, amongst the vines and to say hello to the resident donkey!

Our francophone hosts were extremely welcoming and the breakfast was exquisite with the widest range of fresh fruits from our trip to SA

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Situated only 3 km outside of the quaint little town of Montagu, it is really worth a stay at Les Hauts de Montagu, rather than in the town itself. The surroundings are beautiful tranquil Olive Groves and lovely walking trails. Situated at the base of the mountains with a view of the region. Especially adapted for Nature lovers or anyone in search of some tranquility and fresh air. The owners are very welcoming, the service is personalised. There are many walking/jogging or mountain biking trails on their property and a one night stay just isn't enough! 2 nights would be an absolute minimum for this lovely region. Really worth a stay, you will not be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of a stay at Les Hautes de Montagu and it was worth the wait. Located just out side of the town, the hotel has a rural farm like environment and features many beautiful buildings which create a wonderful 'farmstead' feel.

The rooms are large, well furnished with all the luxuries which one could expect. The bathooms are stunning, in fact the nicest which I have ever experienced on my travlels. We loved the outside shower and views accross the valley. My only regret was that qwe did not have enough time to go on a walk though the farm grounds and up into the mountain. The rivene looked so tempting, and we will definalty be back for more

Breakfast was treat, when food meets art.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaysonClarkTulbaghZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! Magical cottage style bungalow with a view. So cosy with log fire and chairs around for when it is cold. Luxury bathroom including an outdoor shower. We only stayed the one night which was a shame. The hotel has its own nature trails, mountain views and the scenery with a view to Montague . Garden and pool area was very inviting. Surprise little chapel wedding venue with beautiful modern wall paintings depicting The Last Supper and The Nativity Journey.
Breakfast on the terrace was amazing!
We went into Montague for dinner, Jessica was recommended and booked us. French style and delicious.
If driving on Route 62, don't miss Les Hauts for a stay! If you are looking for something different this is it.

Room Tip: All seem to be the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Do not let the words B&B put you off... This place is as luxurious as a 5 star hotel. On arrival the property was clean, well decorated and the owners were very warm and welcoming. Our room was perfect. Huge bath, outdoor shower, high ceilings, mini bar and a fabulous view of the scenery.
Breakfast was great quality and plentiful, with another fabulous view.
As others have mentioned, not much goes on in Montagu so you will need a reason to be visiting, however if you need to stay there, Les Hauts is the place you should stay at. It is the most beautiful, relaxing and romantic place you could hope for.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajohnson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here just one night and it wasn't enough. Situated just outside the lovely town of Montagu this is a gem of a hotel. The grounds are filled with wildlife (an ostrich ran ahead of us all the way up the long drive), olive groves and lavender.

Our room was spacious and decorated with a real eye for luxurious detail. There was an outdoor shower and a great big roll top bath. The secluded terrace looked across to the mountains and scrubland which changes beautifully with the light. As the night was cold we fell asleep to a roaring log fire.

The breakfast was superb; several courses of delicious food served in the beautifully converted farmhouse.

We also visited the hot springs in town. Whilst we wished it was run by the Hauts de Montagu team it was a fun if tacky experience. We had a good meal at the Mystic Tin in town - which is worth a visit for it's chilled out friendly approach.

If you visit Montagu make sure you stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKLondontraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
22.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
628 reviews
22 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Klein Nektar Wine & Olive Estate
2.5 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 28 in Montagu
476 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galenia Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galenia Estate

Address: 3 km Ater Montaqu On Route | 3 Km After Montagu On Route 62, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $182 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galenia Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest lodge offering 450 hectares of abundant, indigenous flora and situated on the beautiful slopes of the Langeberg Mountains. This is a space of natural tranquility, beauty and comfort; perfect for nature lovers, relaxing getaway or a romantic weekend. Rooms are separated into six spacious en-suites. Each have their own fireplace, a bathroom with heated floors, a Victorian bathtub as well as an outside shower. From the veranda, guests have a spectacular view of the Karro Koppies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Galenia Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing