We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant”
Review of Galenia Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galenia Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The owners of this Guest Lodge are Myriam and Eric.
After reading on this web site that the N62 drive back to Cape town from George on the garden route was really worth while for the scenery, i absolutely have to agree. It is a stunning drive, to break up the long journey we decided to stop at the Les Hauts de Montagu. Onour trip this time to Africa we had stayed in many of the best hotels and as this was just for one night did not expect too much.
It blew us away and was the best and cheapest accomadation of our holiday. It is at the end a of a very long drive and the views are spectacular as was the Service and accomadation. We shall definately return but to stay longer next time.
I didn't say Eric and Myriam's surname. It is ...Brilliant.
as is their farm that they have painstakingly restored.

Room Tip: Stay for breakfast you will never forget it.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank percy1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Galenia Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

We found this wonderful place on the internet before leaving for our recent journey along the Garden route from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth This is a wonderful place which has been rebuilt to the very highest standards by the owners Eric and Myriam . They spent 2 years after buying the derelict in 200, thereafter rebuilding the Cape barn and the lodges. Their end result is magnificent. We spent 2 nights there last month and it was an absolute paradise.. There is a small chapel which would suffice a small Wedding. Absolutely stunning.... The hospitality Eric and Myriam afford is exceptional. We will return. Situated outside Montagu 3 Km on the Barrydale R62 garden route. Easy to find... Watch out on the drive to the guest lodge... the signs say ... beware of tortoises, antelope and ostrich... they are there!!!! Thank you Eric and Myriam

Room Tip: Montagu's relaxing paradise out of town...
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

When we arrived we were taken to our accommodation and was surprised how beautiful it was inside as well as outside. Had a outside shower which was surprisingly lovely when taken. Had everything in the room with a log fire which was welcoming as the evening were cool. Definitely will stay here again and the rates were good I thought. Breakfast was extensive and cooked deliciously. We stayed there one night and are glad we did. Views from rooms were panoramic. It was clean and luxurious, definitely more than a 4 four star!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We also stayed one night in Montagu while driving along the Garden Route. Les Hauts de Montagu was a very nice place that we enjoyed. We arrived a bit late and Miriam was nice enough to recommend a place for dinner (Jessica's in town) since they do not serve dinner there on Mondays. We made use of our fireplace in our room to keep it nice and toasty with some wine...the perfect way to end the evening. Even though it was a bit chilly, we did make use of the outdoor shower, which had a beautiful view. My only complaint is that the towels were a little hard...for such a nice place, I would have expected them to be a little softer and fluffier. Breakfast was tasty and we also hiked around some of the trails on the property. Would definitely recommend Les Hauts de Montagu!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Les Hauts de Montagu for one night as we were driving along the Garden Route and I can safely say it was our favorite place to stay on our entire trip to South Africa. It is right outside of the town of Montagu, set far back from the main road right at the foot of mountains. The property is absolutely beautiful - each cottage looks over rows and rows of olive trees (and the occasional wild ostrich). We stayed in the Lavender Suite, which was at the end of the row of cottages. The room was immaculately clean, decorated in a lovely French rustic style with a canopy queen sized bed and a fireplace. The bathroom was very spacious, with a tub, an outdoor shower (very nice on a warm day) and heated floors. Very luxurious accommodations. Breakfast was fantastic. We started off with some homemade muesli, followed by a beautiful fruit plate, then a hot breakfast of eggs/bacon/sausage/etc. YUM - this was definitely one of the better breakfasts we had on our trip. We were sad that we only stayed for one night - but there is really not much to see in the town of Montagu. One day/night is really all you need.

We truly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesslin114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The location of this hotel is amazing - the view is spectacular, and it is a place to come for relaxation, good food and quiet. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and well appointed. Each has a terrace with a magnificent view, and an outdoor (private) shower leading off the bathroom. The chef in the restaurant is French and produces excellent meals - the lamb dish I had was probably some of the best lamb I have had anywhere. The breakfasts are served on a terrace with a view of the rolling countryside, and there is a calm pool, again with its own lovely view.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Stayed for one night in Les Hauts de Montagu on our R62 roadtrip. What a find. Les Hauts is set in absolutely stunning grounds. Our suite was lovely - with a verandah overlooking lavender and olive groves and their 3 ostriches! The feel is definitely rustic but we loved it - four poster bed, heated tiled floor, outdoor shower, fire for the cool evenings - heaven. We arranged to have dinner the evening we arrived - the meal was fantastic and is a must if you're staying. Overall if planning a trip along the 62 and passing through Montagu I would highly recommend staying - we completely felt like we were getting away from it all in the most beautiful and tranquil of settings.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
2.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
567 reviews
26.5 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
3.0 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
444 reviews
2.8 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
2.7 mi away
Malherbe Guesthouse
Malherbe Guesthouse
#6 of 27 in Montagu
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galenia Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galenia Estate

Address: 3 km Ater Montaqu On Route | 3 Km After Montagu On Route 62, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $166 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galenia Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest lodge offering 450 hectares of abundant, indigenous flora and situated on the beautiful slopes of the Langeberg Mountains. This is a space of natural tranquility, beauty and comfort; perfect for nature lovers, relaxing getaway or a romantic weekend. Rooms are separated into six spacious en-suites. Each have their own fireplace, a bathroom with heated floors, a Victorian bathtub as well as an outside shower. From the veranda, guests have a spectacular view of the Karro Koppies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Galenia Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing