We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quiet getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Springs
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
CPT-South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband, i and 2kids spent the weekend at te hotsprings.It was awesome!i warm and friendly welcome from staff.Pools warm and clean.Since it was a winters tyoe of weekend, the hotsprings were perfect.Watched the rugby from the pool(yes).bar at the pool.Waiters walking up and down to serve.playarea for kids.braai area.We woudl definietly go again.There is a spar shop nearby(5min drive) to shop if you go self catering(which we did).But there are also shops and restaurants at the resort.

Room Tip: we chose a self catering room.had a microwave, stove, etc.but u are not allowed to braai on your bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABAAJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear ABAAjacobs

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. Hoping to welcome you back at the Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    88
    51
    33
    44
See reviews for
136
116
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I spent our third long weekend at Avalon Springs and it won't be our last. Our enjoyment literally started the moment we drove through the check point.

The hotel staff really know how to make you feel welcome. They are so friendly and helpful.

We stayed in one of the mountain chalets which are luxuriously fitted out. We could have stayed for much longer!

This time, we decided to sample some of the many restaurants which are found nearby. We were not disappointed.

In short, we highly recommend Avalon Springs especially the mountain chalets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyed888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Vicedi

I am absolutely delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and do trust that your next return will be for a much longer period of time so that you have more opportunity to experience what we and Montagu have to offer.

Have great week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay in one of the Avalon suites. The rooms were wonderful and even had under floor heating. We had a lovely balcony, but unfortunately it rained. Great time lazing in the warm baths, even in the rain. Would have been a perfect few days if it wasn't for the dreadful showers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mattie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mattie D

Thank you for letting me know about your recent stay with us. I am happy to inform that the winter season is coming to a close and with early morning birds chirping away already and lovely sunny days most of the times, you should definitely make a plan to come and visit again soon.

Have a great long weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the third time we have been to the Avalon Springs Hotel and have not been disappointed yet. The first time was in the hotel and the past two occasions have been in the mountain chalets. Check in was great because when we were being signed in at the gate were told that we had been booked in chalet 606 and during booking we asked for and were given 603. This was changed immediately and during check in we enjoyed a welcoming glass of muskadel (sweet wine) and there were fruit juices available as well. The mountain chalets are 5 star quality with everything one can need in self catering accommodation but you do not have to self cater as the restaurant is very nice. Staff are VERY friendly and always willing to assist with anything you need. The pool area is very nice with facilities like the Avacabanna bar, putt putt, super tube, pool tables, barbeque sites. We are already planning our next visit to Avalon.

Room Tip: If you are not fit and cannot walk uphill then ask for one of the chalets in the number range 601 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travell0cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear TravellOcal

Thank you very much for such heart warming words on such a chilly winters day. Hope to welcome you back to our little town and slice of paradise very soon.

Have a great weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the first time through The Holiday Club from 5th to 9th August 2013. I really don't know why some reviews are bad because all we can say that this resort should be 4-star and not 3-star!! The staff really make the place as everybody is so friendly from the maintenance crew to top management. At this point I would like to mention 2 people that really stood out for me: Elvin, the barman, who bent over backwards to accommodate us and Richard, the events co-ordinator who did the same. Your staff, especially these two, come highly recommended!! We stayed in apartment 101 and everything was top-class from the apartment, to the extremely nice hot water pools, to the jacuzzi, to the games, to the supertube, putt-putt and pool we played. Totally unexpected to us, was the awesome kareoki/bring n braai evening on Tuesday night. It was brilliant! Stuck in my memory is sitting at the poolside bar, sipping on a cocktail, listening to very appropriate music - we really felt like we were on a tropical island. Sadly, it all came to an end all too quickly and now have to patiently wait for hopefully next year to come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarakinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mrs Kinsky

Thank you very much for your kind words. When receiving such positive feedback it entices us all at Avalon Springs to put in even more dedication to make every guests experience here a truly worth while memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were a group of four and stayed in the Mountain Chalet (617). What a dream. Underfloor heating for those cold nights, a TV in every room (didn't get round to watching TV, big outdoor braai with the right amount of lighting and a private jacuzzi.

The staff was extremely friendly and were always ready to help. Especially the guys driving the "Dassie". We had a lot of things that we needed to get to our Chalet. They did not complain once.

Loved the hot pools as we spend ours in them and the cocktails were good too. We had so much fun that we will definitely come back to stay in a mountain chalet.

Room Tip: The Mountain Chalets are a must. Just be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. They are away from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Helgard

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Resort. Keep well and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family spend a couple of days at your hotel. We stayed in mountain cabins 603.. what a nice place. . Close anough to walk to everything. . But still far away from the noises underneath you.. the cabin is very well equipped. The staff are all excellent. This one guy.. Riaan really went the extra mile for us. Thank you for making our stay a relaxing one.. well definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinEtsebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Martin E

Thank you very much for the kind words. I will surely make mention of this to Riaan, great to receive such a positive response.

Have a great weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.3 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#7 of 33 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#6 of 33 in Montagu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Springs

Property: Avalon Springs
Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Springs Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing