We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Springs
Nearby Hotels
$94
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
156
125
63
40
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
125
63
40
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain chalethot poolsprivate jacuzzihotel roomfront facingmid week breakunderfloor heatinggreat holidayhotel guestswarm waterputt puttself cateringschool holidayslate at nightfamily holidaybeautiful surroundingshome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 436 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the third time we have been to the Avalon Springs Hotel and have not been disappointed yet. The first time was in the hotel and the past two occasions have been in the mountain chalets. Check in was great because when we were being signed in at the gate were told that we had been booked in chalet 606 and during booking we asked for and were given 603. This was changed immediately and during check in we enjoyed a welcoming glass of muskadel (sweet wine) and there were fruit juices available as well. The mountain chalets are 5 star quality with everything one can need in self catering accommodation but you do not have to self cater as the restaurant is very nice. Staff are VERY friendly and always willing to assist with anything you need. The pool area is very nice with facilities like the Avacabanna bar, putt putt, super tube, pool tables, barbeque sites. We are already planning our next visit to Avalon.

Room Tip: If you are not fit and cannot walk uphill then ask for one of the chalets in the number range 601 to 606 because after a certain time the "transport" from the hotel to the chalets stop.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear TravellOcal

Thank you very much for such heart warming words on such a chilly winters day. Hope to welcome you back to our little town and slice of paradise very soon.

Have a great weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the first time through The Holiday Club from 5th to 9th August 2013. I really don't know why some reviews are bad because all we can say that this resort should be 4-star and not 3-star!! The staff really make the place as everybody is so friendly from the maintenance crew to top management. At this point I would like to mention 2 people that really stood out for me: Elvin, the barman, who bent over backwards to accommodate us and Richard, the events co-ordinator who did the same. Your staff, especially these two, come highly recommended!! We stayed in apartment 101 and everything was top-class from the apartment, to the extremely nice hot water pools, to the jacuzzi, to the games, to the supertube, putt-putt and pool we played. Totally unexpected to us, was the awesome kareoki/bring n braai evening on Tuesday night. It was brilliant! Stuck in my memory is sitting at the poolside bar, sipping on a cocktail, listening to very appropriate music - we really felt like we were on a tropical island. Sadly, it all came to an end all too quickly and now have to patiently wait for hopefully next year to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbarakinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Mrs Kinsky

Thank you very much for your kind words. When receiving such positive feedback it entices us all at Avalon Springs to put in even more dedication to make every guests experience here a truly worth while memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were a group of four and stayed in the Mountain Chalet (617). What a dream. Underfloor heating for those cold nights, a TV in every room (didn't get round to watching TV, big outdoor braai with the right amount of lighting and a private jacuzzi.

The staff was extremely friendly and were always ready to help. Especially the guys driving the "Dassie". We had a lot of things that we needed to get to our Chalet. They did not complain once.

Loved the hot pools as we spend ours in them and the cocktails were good too. We had so much fun that we will definitely come back to stay in a mountain chalet.

Room Tip: The Mountain Chalets are a must. Just be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. They are away from the noise and are big and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Helgard

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Resort. Keep well and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family spend a couple of days at your hotel. We stayed in mountain cabins 603.. what a nice place. . Close anough to walk to everything. . But still far away from the noises underneath you.. the cabin is very well equipped. The staff are all excellent. This one guy.. Riaan really went the extra mile for us. Thank you for making our stay a relaxing one.. well definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinEtsebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Martin E

Thank you very much for the kind words. I will surely make mention of this to Riaan, great to receive such a positive response.

Have a great weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We tried the hot springs as day visitors as we stayed on a lodge in the town. Only positive aspect of this resort is the hot pool, as for service, staff attitude and toilets its a great let down. Wont come back soon to visit the resort. Not worth the high entry fee per person on a day visit.Will not recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJansen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear LJansen108

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent visit to the Resort and for pointing out these issues. I will see to it that these are addressed and kept to the standards they should be at all times. We would be honoured to welcome you back for a complimentary entry to our facilities.

Have a great weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews