We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did NOT want to leave!!”
Review of Avalon Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Springs
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the first time through The Holiday Club from 5th to 9th August 2013. I really don't know why some reviews are bad because all we can say that this resort should be 4-star and not 3-star!! The staff really make the place as everybody is so friendly from the maintenance crew to top management. At this point I would like to mention 2 people that really stood out for me: Elvin, the barman, who bent over backwards to accommodate us and Richard, the events co-ordinator who did the same. Your staff, especially these two, come highly recommended!! We stayed in apartment 101 and everything was top-class from the apartment, to the extremely nice hot water pools, to the jacuzzi, to the games, to the supertube, putt-putt and pool we played. Totally unexpected to us, was the awesome kareoki/bring n braai evening on Tuesday night. It was brilliant! Stuck in my memory is sitting at the poolside bar, sipping on a cocktail, listening to very appropriate music - we really felt like we were on a tropical island. Sadly, it all came to an end all too quickly and now have to patiently wait for hopefully next year to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbarakinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Mrs Kinsky

Thank you very much for your kind words. When receiving such positive feedback it entices us all at Avalon Springs to put in even more dedication to make every guests experience here a truly worth while memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were a group of four and stayed in the Mountain Chalet (617). What a dream. Underfloor heating for those cold nights, a TV in every room (didn't get round to watching TV, big outdoor braai with the right amount of lighting and a private jacuzzi.

The staff was extremely friendly and were always ready to help. Especially the guys driving the "Dassie". We had a lot of things that we needed to get to our Chalet. They did not complain once.

Loved the hot pools as we spend ours in them and the cocktails were good too. We had so much fun that we will definitely come back to stay in a mountain chalet.

Room Tip: The Mountain Chalets are a must. Just be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. They are away from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Helgard

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Resort. Keep well and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family spend a couple of days at your hotel. We stayed in mountain cabins 603.. what a nice place. . Close anough to walk to everything. . But still far away from the noises underneath you.. the cabin is very well equipped. The staff are all excellent. This one guy.. Riaan really went the extra mile for us. Thank you for making our stay a relaxing one.. well definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinEtsebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Martin E

Thank you very much for the kind words. I will surely make mention of this to Riaan, great to receive such a positive response.

Have a great weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We tried the hot springs as day visitors as we stayed on a lodge in the town. Only positive aspect of this resort is the hot pool, as for service, staff attitude and toilets its a great let down. Wont come back soon to visit the resort. Not worth the high entry fee per person on a day visit.Will not recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJansen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear LJansen108

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent visit to the Resort and for pointing out these issues. I will see to it that these are addressed and kept to the standards they should be at all times. We would be honoured to welcome you back for a complimentary entry to our facilities.

Have a great weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is the best, although a bit cramped if it's more than 2 adults. Soothing to run in the early mornings in the coutryside. Shops are close by as the restuarant and the shop is a bit pricey. The Spa is a must! The 24hr pool's has the best location compared to all the other pools. Drinks lots of water and the heat and warm springs makes you dehydrated.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ateekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Ateekah G

Thank you kindly for letting us know about your visit. We have various accommodation types available, perhaps you could log into our web site www.avalonsprings.co.za for a preview of our 2 - 6 sleeper rooms and Self Catering available.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

stay in Mountain Cabins, well equipped like a home form home. fantastic view awesome private Jacuzzi. hot pools and pool bar great. we really had an awesome week at the springs. Restaurant food was great good value. all the staff are friendly. great place for kids and adults alike. super relaxing

Room Tip: if you can get the chalets fantastic but must be fairly fit a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear dwmelec

Great to hear you had such a lovely stay and hoping to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Have a great weekend
(Montagu is freezing cold by the way BUT we do have the Hot Springs :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been to Avalon Springs 2 or 3 years ago and always had fond memories of our staying in this luxury hotel. My wife surprised me and booked us back there for Father's Day. What a surprise we got! It started on our arrival 16h00 in the afternoon - just to find our allocated parking was not available. On enquiry we were told the previous occupants have not checked out. Our room however was available. Opening the windows we found we could touch the building on the other side, the room was still dark, dreary and only the bathroom had a feeling of cleanliness to it.
In our despair we decided to go by the pool and spend some time relaxing in the warm water. Just as well we didn't change and went down in our gowns! The pool was overfull, the condition of the water looked less then inviting and to top it all there were two crowds of drunken men which were making racial remarks of some women in the pool.
We decided to have a drink at the bar as we wanted to review this shock... what a mistake! They made us wait for 10mins (only 1 x barman because the other went around the corner to chat to his friends). I asked for 2 glasses of port. they could only scrape together one, then said they were out of port. The bar and area was in a filthy condition with no one trying to keep the area clean although there were masses of people (it seemed the day visitors joined in at the Hotel Residents Private Pool). I could write a book - but think twice before you book at the resort.!
Needless to say, we packed our luggage and left for Worcester accommodation around 19h00 that evening. The Manager on duty could not be bothered and just shrugged her shoulders.

For a so called luxury hotel with luxury prices we were appalled!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAvalon, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Nic L

Thank you for letting me know about your recent stay at the Resort. I will take some time to investigate the room in which you stayed to perhaps make it feel a bit more welcome. Your other points will be discussed with the various departments as we pride ourselves in service, no matter what time of day. My apologies for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Sanctuary
Little Sanctuary
#9 of 27 in Montagu
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#6 of 27 in Montagu
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Springs

Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $71 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent resort, situated approx 200 Kms from Cape Town is nestled in the foothills of the surrounding Cogman's Kloof. The resort offers a range of self catering and hotel accommodation. The highlight of the resort are the natural, hot mineral pools, where water reaches the surface from an estimated depth of the source at about 3kms underground, at a temperature of 43 degrees. A kids playground, the "Boomslang" supertube and lots of fun for the whole family. A gorgeous relaxing weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Springs Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing