We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice springs - ok hotel”
Review of Avalon Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Springs
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Reviewed May 26, 2012

giving this a three since the springs themselves are so nice - water is approx 101 - 102 -large pools with an indoor one as well - soaked in them several times.
rooms are a bit outdated - but functional - they provide nice robes for the springs which is a plus, - downside was no wireless internet - they kept saying they didn't have any vouchers (whatever that means) but they had two wireless connections available. they had a dingy little computer to use instead - half of the place is under construction right now (may 2012) - getting it in shape for the high season I guess.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 389 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We read the reviews of Avalon Springs and were completely amused by others misfortune (unkind, I know). We decided to check it out regardless. Before checking in we snooped at the room and the hot springs and decided it was safe to stay a night. We stayed during the week and I imagine the horror stories already reported must happen when the resort is opened to day visitors. It would seem that there is no upper limit on outsiders using the facilities.
Although it calls itself "luxury" the price would indicate otherwise: R700 for a double room B&B is very reasonable and our room was perfectly adequate. I had to giggle at the scratched out 4th star on their entrace gate. Nothing had changed in the rooms since I was there as a child on a family getaway 20 years ago!
The room was clean. The water was hot. The breakfast was good. The staff were great. The fridge in the room was a little annoying because you couldn't turn it off and the compresser made a racket. The kareoke was attrocious, but isn't it always??
If you are looking for an exclusive getaway this is not it. If you are overnighting and pack your sense of humour, then it's a good place to frolic in the hot pools and smile at the ridiculous shell-shaped basin. But for goodness sake, don't go for more than a night or over the busy holidays!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindsayMML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We urge all those with their hard earned money NOT to visit this once lovely hotel.

Exhausted from a gruelling road trip to the Little Karoo, we thought we would leave our 'best for last', as we have visited the Avalon Springs for a number of years, enjoying our past experiences.

1. After two hours of waiting for towels, and pool robes, I had to go to the reception to collect them, as they didn't arrive in our room, as requested.

2. After discovering that our shower had no hot water, the maintenance people (who just walked into our room, without knocking!), explained that the water was connected the wrong way round (hot being blue, and the cold being red)!! they actually laughed at their handiwork!

3. in the restaurant, i ordered the lentil soup, and when the waitress arrived, it was tomato soup from from a packet! the waitress said that they ran out of lentil soup, and decided to bring me the 'tomato' soup instead! We left to find another restaurant in town.

4. the toilet was loose at the wall, and could be physically moved!!!! i fear for a person with a larger physique perched on this potty!!!

5. the mineral pools are so highly chlorinated, i wonder what's happening to the environment - will we have dassies the size of elephants soon?

6. the hotel allowed the day visitors into the hotel's pools:there were women with plastic shopping bags on their heads to keep their hair dry, there were babies with nappies in the pools. there were women changing their babies nappies next to us at the pool island. there were people eating their food in the pool. no wonder the chlorination!

7. the sauna, and steam room were not in operation. the top 'mineral pool' and jacuzzi were ice cold.

8. some tiles in the indoor pool had jagged edges, you could easily have cut yourself. this is surely a health hazard.

9.the day of checkout, i was fuming, and decided on a coffee in our room - switching on the kettle, a power failure occured in the hotel, i decided then and there, we were checking out!!

10. deciding on not waiting on a porter to fetch our bags (we would have probably waited another two hours!), we made our way in the dark, exiting the hotel - loading the car, the receptionist walked up to us. thinking that we were going to get an apology (as they knew of our dissatisfaction), he calmly reminded us that we still owed R28 tourism levy (our bill for two people for two days was R2800). Their indifference was anger-inducing!

We will never, never, ever again step into this hotel, as this experience has raised all the negative emotions known to man.

What a shame...please do not visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank baileydion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Its decor is tastless ... clorine containers used as rubbish bins.children's choo choo train penny arcade rides... bad loud music intermittently blared from the bar.... mould in the changing rooms -- crazy golf course next to the tepid and non functioning jakuzzi and screaming kids in dissapointed couples arms queing from the one warm spot ---- awful awful awful --- don't come here to relax --- oh did I mention the chlorine in the water cos so many kids must pee in it .... if your thinking about relaxing ... stay at home ---

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank travelworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We visited the hot springs spa last week (April 2012) for the second time as a family for a day-visit (so we didn't actually stay overnight just to be clear). We used the pools, slides and recreational facilities. Whilst this place offers the potential of a fun and enjoyable place to entertain our 11 & 9 year old, it fails to deliver in a couple of keys areas. Firstly, although we pitched at just before 14:00 hrs they was nothing other than a day rate of Rand 200 (GBP18, USD26) for the four of us - now that might be just about acceptable if it wasn't for the second area. The place is tired, its needs money spent to bring it up to a reasonable standard that justifies that kind of admission charge. It feels like a place that isn't getting the investment not only in money but also in care and attention that it should. Having said that, get there early, set your expectations right and you can have a good day with the kids in hot pools and the cold water slides (assuming they opened them - we had to ask).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OneZeroBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spend almost the whole Easter Weekend here. I say "almost" because we decided to check-out a day earlier due to the disappointing experience.This place has all the potential to be a fantastic resort but unfortunately, in my opinion, it lacks proper leadership.

1. The staff, although friendly, has clearly not beein trained in hospitality techniques.

2. Housekeeping was the worst I've ever encountered. On 2 occasions we were given dirty bedding. It appears they just move dirty bedding from room to room when they come do housekeeping.

3. The pool on the top deck was not properly cleaned. I had to request that they do it.

4. The cable TV in our room went on the blink and it took them 4 hours to repair.

5. On the Saturday a power failure occurred. The backup generator could not cope. It went up and down with staff running around clueless. So their Business Continuity Plan also does not work.

6. Day visitors really spoil the "Luxury Experience" They're roudy and use foul language late into the night. And get this...they actually have access to the most facilities. Huh? So why not just call this place a "Luxury Day Visitor Resort!"

The only thing that was good was the food at Cogman's Restuarant. Seriously, if you're an international tourist you don't want to go to this place. As a South African I'm disgusted and do not recommend Avalon Springs at all. Not even to fellow South Africans.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NazParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The space was a bit more touristy and crowded than I had expected. However, if you find a good space to put your stuff and to wade in the water, farther from the crowds (and kids...), it can be a quite relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank brytness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Sanctuary
Little Sanctuary
#9 of 27 in Montagu
70 reviews
2 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 35 in Montagu
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#7 of 27 in Montagu
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Springs

Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $83 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent resort, situated approx 200 Kms from Cape Town is nestled in the foothills of the surrounding Cogman's Kloof. The resort offers a range of self catering and hotel accommodation. The highlight of the resort are the natural, hot mineral pools, where water reaches the surface from an estimated depth of the source at about 3kms underground, at a temperature of 43 degrees. A kids playground, the "Boomslang" supertube and lots of fun for the whole family. A gorgeous relaxing weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Springs Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing