We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! A hidden gem.”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fantastic! A hidden gem.”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We didn't really know what to expect as this was really just a stop over hotel for us, but we wish we had had longer here. The rooms were beautiful (we had an enormous drapped four-poster), with a fab bathroom, and very thoughful finishing touches such as a carafe of wine, and a kit of essentials.
The gardens are absolutely stunning, and we were sorry not to have more time to enjoy them and the pool area within them.
The staff were extremely helpful, providing us with advise on local vineyards etc, which we spent a fantastic afternoon visiting!
A wonderful seating area in the gardens was a lovely location for pre-dinner drinks, and the food was out of this world- one of the best of many fantastic meals we enjoyed in south Africa.
I would highly recommend this hotel- but make sure you have at least 2 nights (or more!) to properly make the most of it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieRuk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    142
    45
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
257
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We spent 1 night here on our tour of the garden route.. As it was basically just a stopover we didnt get a proper chance to evaluate things. However from what we saw it was a lovely spot. The rooms are gorgeous, very unusual, with stone fixtures and fittings.
We ate in the restaurant on the night of our stay and were impressed, the food here is top notch. Montagu itself is a quiet town with not allot going on. I would have no hesitation reccomending the Mimosa, but I wouldne be hanging around Montagu too long...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We first stayed at the Mimosa Lodge at end of 2008 for 3 nights which included New Years Eve which was amazing, one of the best ever. We have visited South Africa many times each time trying to visit at least one new place and always stay in guest houses. This time we stayed at Mimosa Lodge for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year - it did not dissappoint in any way. We stayed in one of the garden rooms - new build, very contemporary and stylish great bathrooms and such comfortable beds. The gardens are lovely - very natural and it has a lovely little pool that is designed to tone in with all the garden colours, and although the whole idea of the Mimosa is to relax, there is a TV room and honesty bar right next to it. Bernard and Fida the owners are wonderful hosts - and all the staff extremely helpful and kind. Bernard is also a fantastic chef - dinners at the Mimosa are very special. Yes there is a set menu each day - the same as in the current top rated restuarant in Paris - but Bernard has no probelm in changing a course if it does not suit - one of us only eats certain foods, and all the food is totally fresh and well sourced. The wines are superb, especially the Mimosa selection. We had a lovely time pottering about during the day, picnicing on the Breed River, mountain tractor rides, local museums and lots of lovely lounging by the pool and in the garden. We can't wait to go back.
Jenny and Ray, London

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Travelled with another couple on the garden route. Our accomodation was in private bungalows within the grounds of abundant flower beds/lawns/trees. Bedrooms were large including high ceilings with a comfortable large bed plus chairs and sofas. Bedrooms could be described as comfortable and characterful rather than luxurious. En-suite facility was excellent, with walk in shower area, separate bath etc. Plenty of nice soft towels. Clean throughout. Table and chairs outside each bungalow on patio and a pair of discreetly positioned adjacent sunbeds were nice touches. A small communal swimming pool surrounded by trees is provided.
The highlight of this Lodge was the food. The Lodge is run by a family which includes the chef who is both highly qualified and recognised by many awards, including this year's highest award. Evening meals are 4 course with a choice of recommended wines with each course or own wine selection. Food was nouveau cuisine and simply superb; all 4 in our group voted this the best meal we had in South Africa. Breakfasts were also very enjoyable with good choices of juices, cereals and fruit followed by a good standard of freshly cooked bacon/eggs/sausage/tomato/toast etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBThg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, Leics
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed at Mimosa Lodge for 2 nights on a tour, with a group of 8 people, this is a quaint old Dutch style building. The owner and staff were most welcoming and the food was excellent , as are most of the Cape restaurants.
There is a pleasant garden and pool at the back of the building, and a small bar. The small town of Montagu with shops etc is a 5 minute walk. The views are exceptional with vineyards nestling up the surrounding hillsides.
I was a single with a double room on the front with a balcony that streched along the length of the building. The room had been adapted to have a small shower and toilet. The wooden floors, being so old, creaked with every step but certainly this hotel is an experience.
If you are expecting a plush modern room forget it this is 1900's updated! I loved this little gem - try it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alzenau
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the mimosa lodge. Though it is a hotel and not a B&B it all feels very cosy and not huge as the rooms are in separate houses and there is a wonderful garden between them. There is a pool plenty of flowers and a place to play boule. All in all it is a place where you can relax very well. The pets of this hotel are ducks which are fenced in and we considered very funny at a place full of birds. From our room, to which we were upgraded we could see the mountains and everything felt very spacious and arranged just for a hearty welcome.
The staff was very friendly and did its best to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
There was also a map with the attractions in the neighbourhood.
It is possible to eat at the hotel and we heard that it would be very good but the price is really high and that was why we searched for something else in the neighbourhood and also got recommondations from the friendly staff.
The breakfast was the best in quality and choice we had in SA.
We got everything we wanted and it was so delicious!
Montagu itself was a very nice place to stay as we felt very safe and the buildings and the landscape was magnificient.
We were very sad to leave after just two days and would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dassie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

When we checked in here we wondered what on earth we had done. It was like Hicksville after the Grande Roche - BUT don't judge the hotel on the reception room (which was tiny and being painted) or by the staff that receive you. The rooms were lovely. Again separate buildings in very pleasant grounds with swimming pool and gardens, but we only found the pool as we were leaving! In the Karoo the people are very different and much less sophisticated. When you accept that, you can move on and enjoy the lovely accommodation and the excellent food. Dinner was a set meal but my non-meat-eating was accommodated by ordering in advance and the food was first class. Diners are entertained by the hostess in the bar and given complimentary Muscadel wine before dinner (there was also some in the room each day). Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieDRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing