We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mimosa Lodge Robertson Western Cape South Africa”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mimosa Lodge Robertson Western Cape South Africa”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a magical place! Our third time to stay there and consistently wonderful. The food is amazing, the staff are wonderful, and the rooms are all comfortable. I would highly recommend it, especially as a stop over on Route 66 and golf is nearby at Silver Springs , a 30 minute drive down the road

Room Tip: Wide variety of rooms, so check them out first, some have only a shower within a bath, others have f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaHeffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    149
    45
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
261
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a stop over along the Garden Route and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was spacious and clean and the view of the scenery from our patio was breathtaking. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

After pleasant stays in other resorts my wife and I found this very disappointing, the pool and garden areas were very untidy and in need of renovation ,stayed in a garden suite which was not up to a supposed 4 star standard , we also had a disturbed nights sleep due to the horrendous noise made by the plumbing system in the garden suites.The hotel only seemed to be interested in selling the dining and wine experience and not in staying guests.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Mimosa was a nice place to stay for just one night. We had been pretty spoilt on honeymoon with the incredible welcomes we had received from our other hotels which this didn't quite match. But it broke the journey and the room itself was nice. Apparently it is the place to dine... though we decided to eat out in the evening. I am sure it was good. But the breakfast however was somewhat disappointing and didn't feel me with much confidence. The meats and cheeses on the buffet were dried out and covered in flies. And I wouldn't say much for the man who served the breakfast, it was like he wanted to be somewhere else. The room itself was fine though if you are going for a stop over.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertieSJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Really had a great time and people very friendly. Dinner and breakfast was really good Just thought it rather strange that we were charged for the welcoming drink. Would have thought if was part of the meal cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin & Mariann... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very disappointing pool and sunbathing areas. The gardens looked in need of some tlc . We had a superb room but again our plunge pool was not inviting.
Had a superb meal and were welcomed by the owner who is passionate about his wines.
A lovely town to visit with some attractive looking restaurants which we had no time to sample as we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pinkwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The restaurant deserves its reputation! We enjoyed an excellent meal for a reasonable price accompanied by excellent wines suggested by the staff.

The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and very well maintained.
The bath is large too and contains a double sink, a bathtub and a separate shower.
We appreciated the complementary drink before dinner during which we were told some interesting information about the village, the hotel and its Swiss owner.

We for sure will stay there again on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing