We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“great stay!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

beautiful garden and nice big room! we had a wine and dine at the lodge and it was great!! Excellent service and great food! unfortunately we only stayed one night!, we would have loved to stay longer!



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kschnellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    142
    45
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
257
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staff very helpful and accommodating. We had two toddlers with us. Our car broke down on arrival and we were exceptionally well helped in getting the car started with the help of a local mechanic. The staff, garden, pool all helped us to cope with the stress!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 733Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had another great stay at the lodge in September for a wedding. Despite the weather being freezing the the Garden Suite room we had was warm and cozy and he wedding was well arranged and food was exceptional. Definetely a place for a wedding in a garden setting.

Room Tip: GArden Suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Mimosa Lodge is calm and a tranquil perfect for relaxation.
Our hosts were welcoming and our evening Pre dinner drinks were entertaining - British , Swiss, Italian, Dutch and South Africans - quite a mix!
Our accommodation was perfect in the gardens with a stone ware bathroom and complimentary muscatel in the suite -a lovely touch.
Wine and dine for dinner with a perfect match with the four courses- Bernie certainly knows his stuff and we had a lovely chat in the bar afterwards .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zebedee4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely big rooms. Characterful service although dinner not quite as special as they think it is. Good atmosphere in a pretty and small town. Overall a very nice place to stay. Try some of the other joints in town for a drink or dinner too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
539 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a most disappointing stay. We were booked into the "Orchard Suite", which probably is delightful in summer. But in August it proved to be cold and unwelcoming. Despite added fan heaters we had a shivering night. Seeing daylight through the high ceiling (roof) was not very encouraging. The room is quirky and spacious. The bathroom is well equipped. The main lounge/bar facilities are small and Wifi only works in those rooms. The upholstery is sad and our breakfast was overcooked. The off-road parking is not secure and requires guests to double park. We were assured that security here is not an issue and this is probably true. Montagu is delightful and interesting. The room booked for us should not be used in such cold weather unless the heating issue is properly addressed. The staff are willing and want to help. They were disappointed that we left early. But a refund was paid without question.

Room Tip: Only choose the Orchard Suite in good weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We made a short stopover and enjoyed a delicious meal and a quiet night in that wonderful place. Also bought nice ostrich egg candles there. The breakfast- and diner room was a little bit uncomfy. All in all we enjoyed our Montagu stay, it is a neat little town.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stonzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing