We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with excellent food.”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel with excellent food.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Mimosa Lodge is an excellent stopover on the Garden Route. We were upgraded to a garden room which was spacious, clean and furnished in African style. It was also very quiet. The outstanding aspect of our stay was the wonderful dinner we enjoyed that evening. One of the best meals we had in South Africa. Montagu is a quiet pretty little town with some interesting historical buildings.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    145
    45
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
259
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cawdor
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay to explore the area and vineyards along the garden route. The rooms in the garden are quite something and perfecrly peaceful with a pleasant outlook. Staff are very nice and make you feel welcome. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and it is very safe. Plenty of history attached to the Mimosa as well so you wil enjoy the reading.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredtheTread538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the Mimosa Lodge. It was adequate. We found the room clean and well equipped except for the fact that there was no air conditioning, only an extremely noisy fan which we had to turn off to get some sleep. This could have been a problem if the weather had been hotter. I also found the bright red bath a bit disturbing. Our room was in the garden with its own seating area, however the cushions on the benches had seen better times and were not clean. On the positive side the staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to remember your names and be helpful. The restaurant was excellent, the chef should be congratulated, one of the nicest meals during our stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A lovely find in a small town of Montagu. After driving from Cape Town on the R62,
which i must say was a stunning drive.
Mimosa Lodge was very welcoming, we spent just the one night here, A clean and
comfortable room with a spacious bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant, which was top quality, with a good wine list !
The grouds were very well kept, wirh a pleasant pool. the pre dinner canapes were
a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We loved Montagu, and Mimosa definitely suits the town with its authentic charm and relaxed atmosphere.
Bernard was very welcoming helping us not just with settling in our room (that we've been upgraded to) but also serving complementary drinks and a very scrumptious dinner in the evening.
The place had a nice swimming pool, cooling you down after going for hiking. One can also relax in a garden in front of their suite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely old hotel located in the middle of the quiet town of Montague. We only stayed one night at this hotel but found it comfortable and charming with lots of character. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maloak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissonerga, Paphos
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived and we were shown to our lovely room which was a lovely Garden Suite, which was very spacious with an enormous bathroom and an excellent seating area in the garden. We were welcomed before dinner with complimentary drinks in the garden to meet our hosts and other guests and then we went in for our superb evening meal. 4 courses of gourmet delights for an astonishingly good price, with excellent wines to compliment the food. The staff are charming and nothing was too much trouble. We took the hotels advice to take the walk around Montague which is certainly well worth doing and we purchased a bottle of the Muscat that we had tasted the previous evening from the local winery. I would thoroughly recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 786Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
556 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
28.0 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing