We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the Mimosa Lodge. It was adequate. We found the room clean and well equipped except for the fact that there was no air conditioning, only an extremely noisy fan which we had to turn off to get some sleep. This could have been a problem if the weather had been hotter. I also found the bright red bath a bit disturbing. Our room was in the garden with its own seating area, however the cushions on the benches had seen better times and were not clean. On the positive side the staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to remember your names and be helpful. The restaurant was excellent, the chef should be congratulated, one of the nicest meals during our stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    139
    43
    25
    6
See reviews for
49
253
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A lovely find in a small town of Montagu. After driving from Cape Town on the R62,
which i must say was a stunning drive.
Mimosa Lodge was very welcoming, we spent just the one night here, A clean and
comfortable room with a spacious bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant, which was top quality, with a good wine list !
The grouds were very well kept, wirh a pleasant pool. the pre dinner canapes were
a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We loved Montagu, and Mimosa definitely suits the town with its authentic charm and relaxed atmosphere.
Bernard was very welcoming helping us not just with settling in our room (that we've been upgraded to) but also serving complementary drinks and a very scrumptious dinner in the evening.
The place had a nice swimming pool, cooling you down after going for hiking. One can also relax in a garden in front of their suite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely old hotel located in the middle of the quiet town of Montague. We only stayed one night at this hotel but found it comfortable and charming with lots of character. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maloak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissonerga, Paphos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived and we were shown to our lovely room which was a lovely Garden Suite, which was very spacious with an enormous bathroom and an excellent seating area in the garden. We were welcomed before dinner with complimentary drinks in the garden to meet our hosts and other guests and then we went in for our superb evening meal. 4 courses of gourmet delights for an astonishingly good price, with excellent wines to compliment the food. The staff are charming and nothing was too much trouble. We took the hotels advice to take the walk around Montague which is certainly well worth doing and we purchased a bottle of the Muscat that we had tasted the previous evening from the local winery. I would thoroughly recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 786Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My heart sank when we were told there was a power cut when we arrived! Was this going to be a bad omen? It did in fact make for a memorable evening. Our room was lovely and had a very large bathroom. We settled in and then joined other guests in the garden for complementary drinks in the garden before dinner. This is a nice touch and makes for a very friendly atmosphere. The power was still off so dinner was by candlelight. Luckily they cooked with gas but they were working by candlelight in the kitchens as well! There was a set 4 course meal which proved to be absolutely delicious. We love our food and are happy not to have a choice as it makes you try things you may not have chosen yourself. This meal really was a triumph given the circumstances .The power eventually came on towards he end of the meal much to the relief of the staff. It had made the evening special for us. Breakfast the next morning was also delicious with everything freshly cooked to order. This place is a little gem. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelassieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Neither of us had been to South Africa before and we were anxious about what to expect.
We hired a car in Cape Town and drove to Montague where we'd booked a two night stay in Mimosa Lodge.

We were shown to one of the newly built Garden suites. It was just fantastic. It was decorated with local art and in an authentic African style without being too "Disney"! The bathroom was just beautiful and i took pictures, because it's exactly what i would choose, if i could create my dream home! The lack of TV immediately forced us in to a state of relaxation and after a quick exploratory walk around the village and a nap, we got ready for drinks in the garden before dinner.

Dinner - WOW! This was to prepare us for what was to come during our two week holiday. The food was awesome! A set menu and recommended wine was served and if you're fairly adventurous in your tastes, your won't be disappointed! If I remember rightly, we were served Springbok carpaccio for a starter and it was just delicious. Lets face it, if you're vegetarian, South Africa's probably not for you!

The owners were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. It was a shame we were only there for two nights, but we had to move on to our next stop, Plettenberg Bay..... Review to follow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJH190576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
28.0 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing